View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: White Screen
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:46 pm 
Hello,
I orginally fell victim to ZaptoIt labs and was forced to find a new source for TV listings. Thiis led me into upgrading Knoppmyth. Which led me into reinstalling Knoppmyth. I have been using Knoppmyth for a couple of years now and absolutely love it. My current problem is after the install completes and the system reboots I get a partially white screen and nothing else. After a few moments the screen goes blank and then comes back white. There is an error: "Id “c7″ respawning too fast: disabled for five minutes". It also appears as though onboard NIC is not being activated. The system seems to lock up and I am unable to log onto another console. This is the exact same system that has been working for a long time now. Any suggestiions are appreciated. I have no clue where to go with this. The hardware specs are listed below.

Hardware:
Shuttle PC SN85G4 FN85 mainboard NFORCE3 chipset
AMD ATHLON 64 2800+
SEAGATE 250GB SATA
512 MB ram
LITEON DVD/RW
HAUPPAUGE WinTV PVR 350
AOPEN MX4000 video card

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:49 pm 
Site Admin
Check your /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:31 pm 
I am not sure I that I see anything wrong in xorg.conf, but I'm not sure I know what to look for. Do you mind if I post the file?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:57 pm 
Site Admin
No. Is the nvidia module loaded?
Code:
lsmod | grep nvidia

Post subject: Re: White Screen
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 5:01 am 
balge454 wrote:
Hello,