View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 3:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Western Prairies
I've been trying to install a GEFORCE 8600 GTS with KnoppMyth not been successful... Can anybody point me in the right direction please I am using latest Drivers from Nvidia.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 3:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Can you provide details about what isn't working? What did you try, and what were the results? You mention that you're using the latest nVidia drivers, but R5F27 doesn't install the latest drivers, so did you download a script from nvidia.com and run it as root, for example?

Did the 8600GTS not work with the drivers that R5F27 installed?

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 63
i've had the same problem - even when I use the latest drivers or the beta drivers that are supposed to work with the 8600GT.

I've tried several times to no avail and it doesnt not work on default install with any version of Knoppmyth.

JT!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
If nobody posts the steps they tried, it's hard to help find out where it all went wrong :(

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Western Prairies
Sorry Human... I did not get back to you earlier but I forgot my root password and had to go and find my way to reset it. delaying my response
Anyways this is what I did for installation of the Graphic driver:

1- Downloaded and burned in a DVD the driver from NVIDIA
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-100.14.19-pkg2.run

2- boot KnoppMyth RSF27 until monitor started blinking

3- Whe it stopped blinking Typed:
Box login: root
Then typed my password

4- Then mounted my dvd drive
mount /dev/cdrom
cd /mnt/cdrom

5- At mnt/cdrom I typed:
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-169.09-pkg2.run

But I get: “No such file or directory”

Your help is appreciated


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
ferchito wrote:
5- At mnt/cdrom I typed:
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-169.09-pkg2.run

But I get: “No such file or directory”

Your help is appreciated

Try this:
Code:
/bin/cp /mnt/cdrom/NVIDIA* /tmp
sh /tmp/NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-169.09-pkg2.run

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 9:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Western Prairies
Thanks for your prompt answer.

After typing root password I typed:

/bin/cp /mnt/cdrom/NVIDIA* /tmp

and get the following:

/bin/cp: Cannot stat /mnt/cdrom/NVIDIA* /tmp: not such file or directory

_________________
Asus M2N4-SLI
AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+, 4GB Ram
eVGA e-Gforce 8600 GTS 512 MB
Genpix Skywalker 1
Samsung 51" DLP
T90 WaveFrontier
Dual Boot Linux/Win2k


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:40 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Do you still have the CD mounted? Do this as root:
Code:
mount

If you don't see the CD listed you need to remount it. This stuff isn't magic but it isn't that hard either, however, you do need to think about what you're doing and make sure things are working rather than blindly following directions. The general outline goes like this:

0) You need to do all of this as root.

1) Mount the CD as described above
-> you may need to create a directory to be used as the mount point
-> don't assume it worked, check. If you don't see it mounted and can't list the files under the mount point you need to get this right before moving on to step 2.

2) Copy the files off the CD as Human described
-> do an ls -al on your mount point first to make sure the names match your expectations. If you created the CD on MS-Windows it may have made it all one case and in Unix/Linux case matters.
-> if the name is squished either rename it when you copy it or adjust the other directions below to take that into account.

3) Once you have the file on your HD proceed as normal.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Western Prairies
Please be a bit patient with me... I am new to Linux and I am learning.
I would appreciate it:

here is what I did...
Code:
root@mythv:# mount
/dev/sda1 on /type ext3 (rw, errors=remote-ro
/dev/sda3 on /mytv type ufat (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,dev mod=0666)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type (rw)
/dev/hda on /cdrom type iso 9660 (ro, noexec,no vld, no dev)


Code:
root@mythv:# ls -al
total12
drwrv-xv x 2root root 4096 nov 9 23:46
drwrv-xv x 23root root 4096 nov 9 08:41
rw------- 1rootr root 997 feb 24 00:13 .bash-history



Code:
cd /mnt/cdrom
mnt/cdrom: ls -al
total 8
drwrv-xv x 2root root 4096 nov 9 23:46
drwrv-xv x 23root root 4096 nov 9 08:41


still tried copying files but getting same answer.

Code:
bin/cp: Cannot stat /mnt/cdrom/NVIDIA* /tmp: not such file or directory

_________________
Asus M2N4-SLI
AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+, 4GB Ram
eVGA e-Gforce 8600 GTS 512 MB
Genpix Skywalker 1
Samsung 51" DLP
T90 WaveFrontier
Dual Boot Linux/Win2k


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:45 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
You do realize that you downloaded the 64 bit version right? Does network work on the system? If so, why not just
Code:
/usr/local/bin/install-nvidia-debian.sh 169.06 -force
Would you like to test the latest beta?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
ferchito wrote:
Code:
/dev/hda on /cdrom type iso 9660 (ro, noexec,no vld, no dev)

[...]
Code:
cd /mnt/cdrom
mnt/cdrom: ls -al
total 8
drwrv-xv x 2root root 4096 nov 9 23:46
drwrv-xv x 23root root 4096 nov 9 08:41

Since you're learning, I'll help you learn :) Do you see any discrepancy between the 'mount' output and your later 'cd' command?

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Western Prairies
Hi Human, Will it be?...
Code:
cd /dev/hda


Where can I find all instructions to study tx.

Cecil,
I do not have a network connected yet so I will install 32bit instead is it what I should do or i am ok with the 64bit?

_________________
Asus M2N4-SLI
AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+, 4GB Ram
eVGA e-Gforce 8600 GTS 512 MB
Genpix Skywalker 1
Samsung 51" DLP
T90 WaveFrontier
Dual Boot Linux/Win2k


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
You cannot use the 64 bit version of the driver. KnoppMyth is fully 32 bit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
ferchito wrote:
Hi Human, Will it be?...
Code:
cd /dev/hda

No. What Human was trying to point out is that you mounted the drive on /cdrom and then tried to go to /mnt/cdrom which are two different locations. ;-)

OBTW - My earlier response was terse and emphatic because I was trying to answer quickly and stress the key points, not because was being nasty. Nasty is reserved for special occasions when someone is doing something anti-social and nothing else seems to be getting through.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Western Prairies
Thanks everyone I got the file to run...Now I learned how to do it...very simple but when you do not know how to do it everything seems to be difficult...

However while installing I found one more obstacle... I do not have the kernel interface and system could not compile it either. program tried downloading it but no go for any reason...

Could you please explain or point me in the right direction as to how to accomplish it. Installing and compiling it from any other sources than downloading from FTP

Actually I found a new version:

Linux Display Driver - x86
Version: 169.12
Operating System: Linux x86
Release Date: February 26, 2008

Thanks

_________________
Asus M2N4-SLI
AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+, 4GB Ram
eVGA e-Gforce 8600 GTS 512 MB
Genpix Skywalker 1
Samsung 51" DLP
T90 WaveFrontier
Dual Boot Linux/Win2k


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu