View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 79
I'm really not sure what's going on with fluxbox. Here is my apps file:

[startup] {xset -dpms s off}
#[startup] {xscreensaver}
[startup] {gnome-volume-manager}
[startup] {xvattr -a XV_COLORKEY -v 0}
[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}
[startup] {KnoppMyth-run}
#Uncomment the below if you want to use a Wiimote
#[startup] {$HOME/wmd/mythtv_wiimote.sh}
[startup] {launch_irx.sh}
#Uncomment the below if you want to use VNC
[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}
[app] (SDL_App)
[Layer] {2}
[Deco] {NONE}
[end]

I don't see any evidence that vnc is being run (log is not created). I enabled the log for Fluxbox and it just shows a bunch of variables that it can't read. How can I debug this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:42 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Might try commenting out the 2nd occurrence of the vnc line... I dunno if launching it twice is detrimental or not.

Here is my .fluxbox/apps for reference:
Code:
[startup] {xscreensaver}
[startup] {xset -dpms s off}
[startup] {gnome-volume-manager}
[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}
[startup] {xvattr -a XV_COLORKEY -v 0}

# start delay mythwelcome for 5 sec for xscreensaver to initialize
[startup] {/usr/bin/delay_mythwelcome.sh}

[app] (SDL_App)
  [Layer]   {2}
  [Deco]   {NONE}
[end]

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Did you ever get it to work? This JUST NOW started happening to my box! It's maddening! No VNC and no log gets written. I can't see x11vnc running if I do a
Code:
# ps aux | grep x11vnc


Ideas anyone?

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: Farmington, MI USA
What does your /home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps file contain? Did you change the password for your mythtv user?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Contents of /home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps:

Code:
[startup] {xset -dpms s off}
[startup] {xscreensaver}
[startup] {mythfrontend}
[startup] {launch_irx.sh}
[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}
[app] (SDL_App)
  [Layer]       {2}
  [Deco]        {NONE}
[end]


Is it possible that x11vnc or some file it depends upon is corrupt?

Remember that it just doesn't run:

Code:
$ ps aux | grep vnc
mythtv    4534  0.0  0.1   1776   548 ttyp0    S+   18:41


Can I uninstall it and reinstall it? Is it safe to:
Code:
# apt-get remove x11vnc


Or is it a dpkg task? If I apt-get install it again, will it roach my system? Do I need to point /etc/source.list to the stable repository if I try this?

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: Farmington, MI USA
graysky wrote:
Contents of /home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps:

Code:
[startup] {xset -dpms s off}
[startup] {xscreensaver}
[startup] {mythfrontend}
[startup] {launch_irx.sh}
[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}
[app] (SDL_App)
  [Layer]       {2}
  [Deco]        {NONE}
[end]
Looks fine...

graysky wrote:
Is it possible that x11vnc or some file it depends upon is corrupt?
Possible, yes. Have you installed anything recently (via apt-get or otherwise)?

graysky wrote:
Remember that it just doesn't run:

Code:
$ ps aux | grep vnc
mythtv    4534  0.0  0.1   1776   548 ttyp0    S+   18:41


Can I uninstall it and reinstall it? Is it safe to:
Code:
# apt-get remove x11vnc


Or is it a dpkg task? If I apt-get install it again, will it roach my system? Do I need to point /etc/source.list to the stable repository if I try this?
What happens if you run the same command found in your apps file from a VC as the mythtv user? As root? Do any errors spew forth to give a clue? Is there anything in /var/log/x11vnc.log?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
@slow - nothing via apt-get recently. If I run the command as mythtv I get "permission denied." If I run it as root, nothing happens, I'm simply presented with a new # prompt.

Anyone know a safe way to remove x11vnc? dpkg or apt? Then should I point /etc/sources.list to the stable to unstable repository when I replace it with apt?

Thanks!

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: Farmington, MI USA
graysky wrote:
@slow - nothing via apt-get recently. If I run the command as mythtv I get "permission denied." If I run it as root, nothing happens, I'm simply presented with a new # prompt.
"Permission denied"? Only things I can think of off the top of my head:
* Either you can't run x11vnc as mythtv (ls -l /usr/bin/x11vnc)
or
* startx was run as root, thereby not allowing you access to display :0 (run ps -ef | grep -i x)

graysky wrote:
Anyone know a safe way to remove x11vnc? dpkg or apt? Then should I point /etc/sources.list to the stable to unstable repository when I replace it with apt?

Thanks!
I don't know that re-installing will help, depends on the culprit (and seems like using a sledge hammer to install a push-pin :D )

EDIT: I take it from your earlier post that this was working at some point? /EDIT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Yeah it was working last night..

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 3:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: Farmington, MI USA
And the output of the commands I suggested? Any hints there?
Another possibility would be the x11vnc.log file is not writable by the mythtv user (ls -l /var/log/x11vnc.log).

If you do go the remove/reinstall route, be sure to use apt-get -s install before reinstalling. This will show you what will be installed/upgraded and give you a chance to back out before hosing your system...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 5:17 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Thanks for the tips, man. I got fed up with it and just auto upgraded. Now all is well. Wish I understood what happened to break it.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu