View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 9:15 am 
Hi there.

I'll post here until I get everything working as advertised. In otherwords, until I have TV recording features, games, dvd playback and ripping, music archives, weather, etc. functioning properly, I will not consider the installation as working, so I consider it Tier 3.

Some background is in order.

This is precisely my second experience with Linux. My first was 5 months ago when I ran Slax LiveCD on a laptop for four hours. I have plenty of Unix experience however (IRIX, SCO) but very little admin experience. They wouldn't give me the root password in college no matter how often I stamped my feet and bawled "But I really want it!". Go figure.

This means that if you say "You have to set the permissions right on the file," I will know what to do. But if you say "Just update the drivers," I will look at you like you are slightly crazy.

I am very impressed with MythTv and the Knoppmyth in particular, and cesman or cecil should be proud of themselves.

Here is my present status:
TV Recording: under R5A10, the screen went black when I pressed "Watch TV". Under R5A12, I got static, but no tv stations. I set tuner type=39 in the appropriate file, and got reception (it's a crappy antenna, but that's not myth's fault. Or is it? You! Buy me new antenna!) REcording, pausing, etc. all work. Also, I set HorizSync to 30-50 and VertRefresh to 60 in /etc/X11/XF86Config-4.