View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 241 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Sorry it took me so long to try this.

I get to the same place....
updated backend and run config_diskless_frontend.bash script I notice an error about the nfs module.

I forge ahead.

I end up stuck at can't find /dev/nfs
Try to create it cant find /bin/mknod
When I look in the image on the backend mknod is present.

Delete and try again
Still no go

any suggestions?

Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
That was the error I was getting before I submitted a new kernel config that compiled my network card into the kernal (rather than a module). What network device does your frnotend use?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Tried on 2 machines one has a tulip
Code:
lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  260212  12
usbhid                 36896  0
hid                    40704  1 usbhid
snd_seq_oss            31872  0
snd_seq_midi_event      8192  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                49968  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          8332  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            40320  0
snd_mixer_oss          16512  1 snd_pcm_oss
nvidia               7231068  36
analog                 12192  0
ppp_generic            25244  0
slhc                    7680  1 ppp_generic
gameport               12300  1 analog
serio_raw               7172  0
pcspkr                  4352  0
tulip                  51616  0
sg                     26804  0
snd_intel8x0           30876  0
snd_ac97_codec        102436  1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus                3584  1 snd_ac97_codec
ohci_hcd               25360  0
forcedeth              56720  0
shpchp                 34068  0
pci_hotplug            28064  1 shpchp
snd_pcm                70020  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              21384  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
ehci_hcd               36876  0
snd                    50852  9 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               8160  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         10120  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
usbcore               136976  4 usbhid,ohci_hcd,ehci_hcd
i2c_nforce2             8580  0
i2c_core               22804  2 nvidia,i2c_nforce2
nvidia_agp              8348  1
agpgart                31572  2 nvidia,nvidia_agp
evdev                  11296  5
thermal                17180  0
processor              41388  1 thermal
fan                     6276  0
button                  7824  0
battery                12036  0
ac                      6020  0
rtc_cmos               12332  0
rtc_core               17564  1 rtc_cmos
rtc_lib                 4480  1 rtc_core
ext3                  126984  2
jbd                    46996  1 ext3
mbcache                 8708  1 ext3
sd_mod                 26904  4
sr_mod                 16708  0
cdrom                  35360  1 sr_mod
pata_acpi               6016  0
pata_amd               12292  3
libata                158240  2 pata_acpi,pata_amd
scsi_mod              102036  4 sg,sd_mod,sr_mod,libata


The other

uses an sis900 module

Is this any help

Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 6:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
If either of them use a module, then that is your problem. For nfsroot, the network module must be built into the kernel.

Are you running the latest R6 (pacman -Syu)? I dont understand why it is showing tulip as a module because for the latest kernel, that is built in. My network device does not show up in lsmod:
Code:
[gfrost@devnew net]$ dmesg | grep -i ether
r8169 Gigabit Ethernet driver 2.3LK-NAPI loaded
[gfrost@devnew net]$ lsmod | grep r81
[gfrost@devnew net]$

What does this give you:
Code:
sudo updatedb
locate tulip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Okay it appears it is the nforce driver



forcedeth: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.61
Code:
[root@trev ~]# dmesg | grep -i ether
forcedeth: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.61.
[root@trev ~]# locate tulip
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/de2104x.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/de4x5.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/dmfe.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/tulip.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/uli526x.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/winbond-840.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/xircom_cb.ko
/sys/bus/pci/drivers/tulip
/sys/bus/pci/drivers/tulip/0000:01:07.0
/sys/bus/pci/drivers/tulip/bind
/sys/bus/pci/drivers/tulip/module
/sys/bus/pci/drivers/tulip/new_id
/sys/bus/pci/drivers/tulip/uevent
/sys/bus/pci/drivers/tulip/unbind
/sys/module/tulip
/sys/module/tulip/drivers
/sys/module/tulip/holders
/sys/module/tulip/initstate
/sys/module/tulip/notes
/sys/module/tulip/refcnt
/sys/module/tulip/sections
/sys/module/tulip/srcversion
/sys/module/tulip/version
/sys/module/tulip/drivers/pci:tulip
/sys/module/tulip/notes/.note.gnu.build-id
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.altinstr_replacement
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.altinstructions
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.bss
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.data
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.devexit.text
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.devinit.data
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.devinit.text
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.exit.text
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.gnu.linkonce.this_module
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.init.text
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.note.gnu.build-id
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.parainstructions
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.rodata
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.rodata.str1.1
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.rodata.str1.4
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.smp_locks
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.strtab
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.symtab
/sys/module/tulip/sections/.text
/sys/module/tulip/sections/__bug_table
/sys/module/tulip/sections/__param
/usr/src/linux-2.6.28-LinHES/drivers/net/tulip
/usr/src/linux-2.6.28-LinHES/drivers/net/tulip/Kconfig
/usr/src/linux-2.6.28-LinHES/include/config/tulip.h
/usr/src/linux-2.6.28-LinHES/include/config/net/tulip.h


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Have you tried removing /ftpboot to allow the script to re-create it? If you created it when the old pre-upgraded kernel was installed, it will have a kernel image from the old kernel (without the ethernet modules built in).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:43 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Started from scratch after deleting nfsroot and tftp, still no go the only thing I see while it is building is

error nfs module not found

Code:
IPRANGE=192.168.0.40 192.168.0.50
tftpd is already present
ok: run: tftpd: (pid 2125) 0s
ALLNAMESERVERS= 127.0.0.1, 192.168.0.254
dhcpd is already present
ok: run: dhcpd: (pid 2167) 0s
ok: down: mythbackend: 1s, normally up
Already commented out skip-networking.
Setting backend IP in mythtv's mysql settings
ok: run: mythbackend: (pid 2222) 0s
Already added line for /myth in /etc/exports
Already added line for /data/var/cache/pacman in /etc/exports
Creating /tftpboot directories
`/usr/lib/syslinux/pxelinux.0' -> `/tftpboot/pxelinux.0'
`/boot/vmlinuz26' -> `/tftpboot/vmlinuz26'
Building kernel miniroot
:: Begin build
ERROR: module 'nfs' not found
:: Parsing hook [base]
:: Parsing hook [udev]
:: Parsing hook [autodetect]
:: Parsing hook [pata]
:: Parsing hook [scsi]
:: Parsing hook [sata]
:: Parsing hook [filesystems]
:: Parsing hook [fbsplash]
:: Parsing hook [net]
:: Generating module dependencies


Could that be the issue?

Thanks
Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
That nfs error is a result of the change to build nfs into the kernel. It is not of concern. When I get the chance I'll test again on my system from a fresh install and see if I get any clues.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Just how far is it getting?

Mine gets to this point and seems to stop:
Code:
Root device '/dev/nfs' doesn't exist, attempting to create it
/bin/mknod "/dev/nfs" b 0 255
::Initramfs Completed - control passing to kinit
IP-Config: eth0 hardware address 00:06:nn:nn:nn:nn mtu 1500 DHCP RARP

If I ping the frontend address from the backend when it is stalled like this, it springs to life, completes the boot sequence booting into the frontend.

Are you seeing the same behaviour?

If I just leave it it also appears to boot into the frontend if I wait long enough.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 1:39 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Mine ends just after that with a line that says

unable to find create root device /dev/nfs
cannot fine /bin/mknod

So yours makes the node but mine doesn't. If I echo the bin from the root shell mknod is not there, If I look on the nfsroot folder in the backend it is present.

Then the usual messages about dropping to a root shell

I left it but it never started the frontend.

Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
any ideas on this Greg?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:57 am
Posts: 106
I'm playing with R6 and I find that one of my clients will get stuck at that position if I do a "reboot". But it will NOT be stuck if I shutdown and power off the client, then power up.

Probably not helpful but something that I noticed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:57 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 2:25 pm
Posts: 39
Can anyone help me with getting this to work with R5.5 and the Via Rhine chip found on their mini-boards? I am getting kernel panic "no init found" when attempting a boot, but looking at the config I see that this driver is already compiled into the kernel. I try init=/bin/bash, that cannot be executed. Any ideas where I should take it next? (I can't immediately install to hard disk, not enough power cables!)

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 2:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Thought I would play with this again.

I run the config_diskless_frontend.bash script

It makes all the files etc, tells me to boot the frontend.

I boot the front end it pulls an ip from the range specified when I ran the script.

I rerun the script, get the error unable to automatically determine the mac address etc.

I look in the daemon.log

Code:
Nov  7 12:30:43 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0
Nov  7 12:30:43 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.0.45 to 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0
Nov  7 12:30:45 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.0.45 (192.168.0.22) from 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0
Nov  7 12:30:45 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.0.45 to 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0
Nov  7 12:30:50 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0
Nov  7 12:30:50 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.0.45 to 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0
Nov  7 12:30:50 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.0.45 (192.168.0.22) from 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0
Nov  7 12:30:50 hdbe dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.0.45 to 00:22:68:69:b9:88 via eth0


It appears to have record of the mac address ip combo.

Any idea what I can do to get this running?


Thanks
Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 2:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
The bit about running the script again is only necessary if you want to setup 2 frontends. It allows the system to determine which nfsroot to serve to which mac address. If you only have one frontend, everything should work without the need to run it again.

I see you just posted this. Join me in #linhes for a more detailed discussion if you are available.

Out of interest, how long has your backend been up? The script works by checking /var/log/daemon.log and I just booted one of my frontends and found that the mount logs went to /var/log/daemon.log.1
So it looks like the logs have been rotated, but its still writing to the old log. If this is the case with your system, rebooting the backend may solve your problem (because the logs will go to /var/log/daemon.log again).


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 241 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu