View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Wireless setup???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 43
I am a linux newbie, but have managed to setup a backend and frontend sucessfully. My last task is the get my frontend networked wireless. I have intstalled a DWL-G520 card in the frontend, but I have no idea where to go from here(how to connect to my network). I have searched the forums for a wifi guide but have not found anything usefull. Is there a tutorial somewhere out there? Network utility? ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 10:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Posts: 353
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi,

I think that card uses a Ralink chipset, specifically a Rt61. Drivers are here.

http://www.ralinktech.com/ralink/Home/Support/Linux.html

I hope this gets you started.

Bigb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:47 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2659
Location: Whittier, Ca
Thanks for the reminder. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 43
Thanks bigB. Unfortunately I think I will require a little more direction than that. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 10:44 am
Posts: 137
Location: Austin, TX
First off, you probably want to look here:
http://madwifi.org/wiki/Compatibility/D-Link
Check which hardware revision you have - as long as it's not A3, the madwifi driver should work.
If it is A3, you'll need to use ndiswrapper instead (AFAIK both madwifi and ndiswrapper should already be installed for R5F1, so it's just a matter of configuring things correctly).

If the madwifi driver works, you should just need to edit your /etc/network/interfaces file and change eth0 to ath0. You can find more info here:
http://madwifi.org/wiki/UserDocs/FirstTimeHowTo

If you end up needing to use ndiswrapper, this may help:
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joom ... tallation/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 43
thanks psicard that worked perfectly, I am now connected via wifi using madwifi. Now to connect to the AP I need to issue 4 commands

Code:
iwconfig ath0 essid "eddie"
iwpriv ath0 authmode 1
iwconfig ath0 key <s:ASCII string of key>
dhclient ath0


How can I have these commands sent automatically during startup?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 43
I have answered my own question. Here is what I did:

I created a startup script at /etc/init.d/wifi-boot where wifi-boot is a file name that I have made up


Code:
#! /bin/sh
### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides commands for madwifi to connect to wifi network         
# created by boots 08-30-2007
# Description:### END INIT INFO

iwconfig ath0 essid "networkname"
iwpriv ath0 authmode 1
iwconfig ath0 key 123456abcd
dhclient ath0


then make it executable

Code:
chmod 755 /etc/init.d/wifi-boot


and ensure it runs at startup by

Code:
update-rc.d wifi-boot defaults



But... small PROBLEM
This works as it should but my boot process is now very long. I assume that the system is getting stuck beacuse it cannot connect to the backend until my new script is run whenever that is. I cannot see any errors that might be present because I have enabled that splash screen at boot and have not yet figure out how to disable it.
Does anyone know how to get my script to run before the frontend attempts to connect to the backend? Or have any ideas on what else may be causing this LONG boot time?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2659
Location: Whittier, Ca
The frontend doesn't attempt to connect to the backend until X and fluxbox start.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 5:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 43
ok, any idea why the boot process is taking so long after chaging network settings?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,

If you press the ESC key it should open a window so you can see what is occurring.

Time is relative, 1 minute, 2, 3, 10?
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 10:44 am
Posts: 137
Location: Austin, TX
You might be better off adding your wireless config info to your /etc/network/interfaces file instead of the script you wrote. The ath0 stanza should look something like
Code:
iface ath0 inet dhcp
    wireless-essid  NETWORKNAME
    wireless-channel auto
    wireless-key MYSECRETKEY
    pre-up /sbin/iwpriv ath0 authmode 1


I'm not sure if it'll speed things up or not, but your wireless connection may start up sooner in the boot process....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 1:29 am
Posts: 157
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I have found that having a wireless link, even 54mbps, inbetween your backend and frontend will result in dissapointing lag.

I have run 100mbit cabling to my frontends for this reason. Its more work, but the increase in speed when you hit play and when seeking is well worth it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 43
I agree with you 100% soundoff, if I could stayed wired I would but its just not an option in this case.

I discovered the cause of the slow boot by watching the boot sequence, it was printing DHCPDISCOVER over and over, entually fail and move on. I did what psicard suggested and it fixed this problem and I am still connected. Everything seems stable now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:07 pm
Posts: 821
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Have you considered two 108Mbit routers?

Then you'd just connect the myth box via ethernet. This is how I'd do it, since it means zero configuration and no extra drivers on the linux box.

Cheers

Mike

_________________
*********************
LinHES 7.4
Australian Dragon
*********************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 7:35 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 309
Location: Toronto
I run a wireless dlink in my backend. Here is my /etc/network/interfaces
Code:
auto lo ath0

iface lo inet loopback

iface ath0 inet dhcp
wpa-driver madwifi
wpa-ssid myssid
# plaintext passphrase
wpa-psk mypassphrase
But as you can see I use wpa

My old one for WEP was
Code:
auto lo ath0 eth1

iface lo inet loopback

iface ath0 inet dhcp
pre-up iwpriv ath0 mode 3
pre-up iwconfig ath0 essid "myssid" mode managed rate 54Mb key mykeyinhex

_________________
KnoppMyth Folding@home
How to setup F@H
F@H Stats Page


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu