LinHES Forums
http://forum.linhes.org/

DNS: Resolving local machine names to IP addresses [Solved]
http://forum.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=20868
Page 1 of 1

Author:  gatorback [ Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:54 am ]
Post subject:  DNS: Resolving local machine names to IP addresses [Solved]

Background: Two windows XP laptops (names=IBM & Toshiba) are on the network along with a KM box named mythtv. When attempting to ping the KM box from IBM, it receives a reply from the KM box. On the other hand this is not the case from the Toshiba box. The IBM box gets its IP LAN address from the DHCP server, whereas the Toshiba and KM box are issued an IP LAN address as a static lease pool of IP addresses.

For some reason the ISP FQDN is appended to the machine name: replies are in the format of:

Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping IBM
Pinging IBM.hsd1.XX.comcast.net [192.168.1.154] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.154: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.154: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.154: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.154: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128


Question: I did not have these difficulties with LAN DNS resolution until the ISP FQDN was appended to the machine name. I tried to google and search this forum (this is probably a MS issues), but was unsuccessful. Any constructive guidance is appreciated. Thanks

Author:  alien [ Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:00 am ]
Post subject: 

A DNS server needs a FQDN. For whatever reason, your DNS server appears to be using the domain hsd1.XX.comcast.net (not unusual). I suspect the problem is that because the Toshiba and KM box are using static IPs, they are not registering themselves with the DNS server.

The easy answer is to bypass the DNS server. If the KM box is a static IP, you can just add this IP into C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts on the Toshiba:
Code:
192.168.1.??? MythBoxName


In my network, I prefer static IPs and hostnames in the hosts file because I have very little control over the DHCP/DNS server in my DSL box and it doesn't always do what I expect. I had it working once, but the default in linux is typically to hide the hostname and I got tired of fixing it every upgrade.

Author:  gatorback [ Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Simple solution

It turns out that if you put a '.' after the hostname, the IP address will be resolved:

Code:
C:\>ping mythv

Pinging mythv.JAGUAR [208.68.139.38] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 208.68.139.38:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\>ping mythtv.

Pinging mythtv [192.168.1.106] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.106: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.106: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.106: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.106: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.106:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/