View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: Logitech Harmony remotes
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:11 am 
I have a harmony 520 that i've been using for a few years and im thinking of upgrading to an 880. Does anyone here have a 880 and can tell me if its worth buying?

I use the 520 so much that a few buttons are starting to wear out. On the 520 I find some of the buttons are way too small and each click has a snap to it. I like the larger rubberized buttons like on the generic remotes. When changing channels my hauppauge is very quick but the 520 has a longer delay between presses. I dropped the timing delay as low as it will go but its still not as quick as the hauppauge remote.
Any comments would be great before I buy one.

miker
________
MERCEDES-BENZ S-CLASS HYBRID

Last edited by miker on Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:10 am 
I have an 880 on the way and have played with one that my friend owns. Great remote, works great with everything he set up. Was even able to learn the controls for his brand new to the market hdmi switch.

Haven't seen it used with MythTV so can't help you there. I will try to keep you posted on my 880 experience with MythTV, setting up the LIRC config file and all (have to check if R5E50 has preset config files for the Harmony Remotes).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:46 am 
spideyk21 wrote:
setting up the LIRC config file and all (have to check if R5E50 has preset config files for the Harmony Remotes).

Don't look too hard - it won't be there.
The Harmony doesn't work that way. It doesn't expect any device to know about IT. The Harmony mimics other remotes. So it just wants to know what you're talking to, and it'll handle the rest.