View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:05 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 am
Posts: 389
Finally something upcoming from Hauppauge to capture HD from component input:

http://www.tvsquad.com/2008/01/10/haupp ... hout-cabl/
http://www.businesswire.com/portal/site ... ewsLang=en

Also, HAVA is reporting a new device to be released later this year which will do the same:

http://www.reuters.com/article/pressRel ... RN20080107
http://www.myhava.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 2&start=15


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
the silver bullet? hopefully that price point will drop though...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:39 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:22 am
Posts: 777
Location: spencerport, ny (USA)
Interesting! OTOH, cable companies may react by dropping the component outputs. Any HDTV built within the last 5 years has either an HDMI or DVI port. Of course, they would have to start handing out $6 HDMI cables with the boxes instead of $1 component cables.
(When I picked up a SA 8300HDC for my folks, I asked for an HDMI cable, and was told that they're "too expensive").

But anyway, that's probably just a remote possibility. This could be very good news for MythTV. It could also be good news for Cable. Right now, I don't subscribe to cable because I like to record everything, on my own terms. Right now, that means OTA. If I could record onto MythTV, I may consider cable. Oh wait, Soprano's ended. Fuggedaboutit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
That's great news!

Thornsoft: rather than dropping component outputs altogether (although that's a possibility too), they could instead just downrez the signal via component to something less than HD resolution, as was threatened with HD-DVD and Blu-Ray component outputs. Although the HD disc people have agreed not to do that right now, they have left the option open for the future.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
They can't do it with HDMI because that "format" is really just a contract agreement to not allow copying. It's just DVI with content protection for the studios. Anyone who uses the HDMI interconnect must sign a contract which prohibits them from allowing copying of the signal.

Pure evil. :evil: :evil: :evil:

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
Liv2Cod wrote:
They can't do it with HDMI because that "format" is really just a contract agreement to not allow copying. It's just DVI with content protection for the studios. Anyone who uses the HDMI interconnect must sign a contract which prohibits them from allowing copying of the signal.

Pure evil. :evil: :evil: :evil:


That's not entirely correct: lots of HD camcorders have HDMI outputs that work with capture cards like the Blackmagic Intensity. You can definitely record (copy) an HDMI signal with this card as long as the box sending the signal says it's OK.

So HDMI doesn't always prohibit copying, but it does provide for the possibility of prohibiting copying, and I'm pretty sure the means by which copying is prohibited is the infamous HDCP DRM system, which yes, is annoying and evil.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
OK, I should amend my statement to read, "you can't copy anything you care about using HDMI." As in, any cable broadcast which would normally be encrypted on your firewire output, or any satellite show you care about.

Color me hopeful at this new development, but also a bit skeptical. I think this could force the hand of the content providers and make them shut off the component outputs, at least as far as HD. Then I'll really be screwed because my TV has no HDMI or DVI. It would become a large expensive paperweight, or (more likely) I would be condemned to viewing only OTA sources for HD.

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 am
Posts: 389
Liv2Cod wrote:
Color me hopeful at this new development, but also a bit skeptical. I think this could force the hand of the content providers and make them shut off the component outputs, at least as far as HD. Then I'll really be screwed because my TV has no HDMI or DVI. It would become a large expensive paperweight, or (more likely) I would be condemned to viewing only OTA sources for HD.

My 2 cents here:

I don't think this will happen. Let's say DirecTV kills the component output on all their HD boxes (assuming that this is even possible with their hardware design). Then tons of (non-geeky) customers are extremely unhappy and basically without service. This will not happen. The only viable option would be for DirecTV to supply new hardware to all effected customers. This will not happen either. So, I think you can rest easy for at least a few years yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 3:52 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:28 am
Posts: 698
Location: Germany
Liv2Cod wrote:
They can't do it with HDMI because that "format" is really just a contract agreement to not allow copying. It's just DVI with content protection for the studios. Anyone who uses the HDMI interconnect must sign a contract which prohibits them from allowing copying of the signal.

Pure evil. :evil: :evil: :evil:

http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8497

Apparently, this device has valid HDCP license keys and a signed contract because it "screws directly onto the device".

I get the feeling that now there are other methods available, "real" pirates aren't interested in the analog signal protected by HDCP. This may be why the studios are allowing devices such as this.

_________________
ASUS AT3N7A-I (Atom 330)
TBS 8922 PCI (DVB-S2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Quite a milestone
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:24 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
I'd been waiting for such a card for a couple of years now. A vendor we work with had been planning one, but it never got off the ground for various reasons. It's sad that Hauppauge beat them to it, but at least the community will soon have a component video capture solution.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 30
Does anyone have anymore news about this card?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:31 pm
Posts: 39
therntier wrote:
Does anyone have anymore news about this card?


I'be been searching but haven't found anything new.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:08 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:56 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Bensalem, PA (Outside Philly)
In a fit of curiosity, I decided to call Hauppauge directly and ask if anything was going on with the production of the HD PVR. I spoke with a salesman and she said that it would be shipping at the end of May. Initially it would have XP/Vista support with MCE following close there after. Unsurprisingly, she didn't have any information on Linux driver support. After poking at Google, I also found a some further features info at the Snapstream Blog site. I think that's the extent of any new info for the time being.

-Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:33 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 am
Posts: 389
Thanks for the link Tim. It looks like the GBPVR developer(s) have one.

http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php? ... ght=HD-PVR
http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php? ... ght=HD-PVR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 149
Pics:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32027


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu