View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: Downgrade R6 to R5.5
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 3:36 pm 
I haven't tried it yet and I thought I would ask here before I really get things messed up. Is it possible to downgrade R6 to R5.5 using a backup created in R6? I have been using R6 now for about 2 months or and I am regretting my upgrade. Is their any going back or are too many of the paths different now? I am a little bit hung up on trying to get things working in Arch and would rather go back to R5.5. I am just WAY more comfortable working in a Debian based distro than Arch. I must be getting old or something because I am feeling a little too set in my ways to make the switch now. (Said while shaking my rake in frustration at you)

Hauppage PVR 500 MCE
Soundblaster Live
ATI Remote Wonder II

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:41 pm 
I don't think you can go back, but someone correct me if I'm wrong. I would say just tough it out; the future of LinHES is Arch, you're going to have to learn it at some point :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:21 pm 
graysky is correct. You can not restore a R5.5 setup from a R6 backup.

These upgrades are the point of no return, unless you have an older R5.5 backup to get to. Remember that KM's backups keep previous backups, and just add numbers to the versions. Check your backup directory and see if there's an older version that you remember creating with R5.5.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 8:25 pm 
You might be in luck, unless you deleted the backup you used to do the R6 upgrade, a copy should still exist in you backups directory.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 1:10 am 
tscholl wrote:
You might be in luck, unless you deleted the backup you used to do the R6 upgrade, a copy should still exist in you backups directory.

I did exactly this. In R5.5 did a backup.