View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Is is possible to upgrade X to a newer version than came in R5.5?

There is a known memory leak in R5.5 (some combination of X and nvidia drivers).
Upgrading the nvidia drivers to version 180.51 has not helped the memory leak problem.
Now, I'd like to see if upgrading to a newer version of X will stop the memory leak.

Is it as easy as...
Code:
# apt-get install xserver-xorg
??

This page implies it is that easy! Is it correct?

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:07 pm
Posts: 821
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Why don't you try it? Performing a backup first of /etc would be a good idea, and making sure you have the .debs to undo any changes would be ideal.
Can't really see that upgrading xorg would cause instability, though.

Mike

_________________
*********************
LinHES 7.4
Australian Dragon
*********************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: will try it
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I am not brave enough to try it on my "production" box, but I do have a test machine I could load up with R5.5 and try the X upgrade. If it blows up, it won't be a big deal.

I was hoping to see if any of the seasoned experts have tried such things and could tell me if this is THE way to do this or if there is a better way. (I presume that Cecil has to upgrade X with each release, so he must know the best way to do it.)

Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: tried it - BOOM
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Wow. Doing that breaks things pretty good!

I didn't change the default R5.5 sources.list file at all so apt-get was pointing at unstable repositories.

There was an error towards the end of the process and so I shut down the machine and called it a day.
Today when I booted up, I got the INT: Id "c7" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes, over and over.
I can't SSH in and I can't even get to a command line from the keyboard. ALT-F1, etc. doesn't give you a new virtual shell. :shock:

For now, I'm not sure how to get any sort control of the system.
*IF* I can get back into the system, should I change the sources.list file to point to stable repos, and try again?

Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:53 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
See the disaster recovery pages on the wiki for how to boot the system using the install CD and then switch over to the HD with a console prompt.

Say this one: http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=InstallDiskAsRescueCD
Or maybe just this one: http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=BootToSingleUserMode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: try again
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Thanks for the tips TJC. I ended up taking the easy way out - reinstalling. Since this is a test machine I just went forward and reinstalled - nothing lost.

So, I just changed the sources.list file to point to stable sources and tried the "apt-get install xserver-xorg" command as root.
It downloaded a few files, asked me if I wanted to keep my current version or if I wanted to download the maintainers current version.
I said get the maintainers current versoin.
It bombed out with some errors.
I rebooted.
Knoppmyth booted up and I have a Mythtv menu as normal.
I just checked to see what version of X is in there now.... It's the same old 2007 version of X Server. Nothing changed, it appears.

So, how do you update X to a newer version?

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu