View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:41 am 
Preamble: I just joined the forum today. I'm not a linux beginner (about 4 years experience, now running Ubuntu Lucid on my laptop and windoze-free) and I built the desktop PC I'm typing this on six years ago. However, this is my first HTPC build and my first KnoppMyth install.

This was an attempt at a fresh KnoppMyth 5.5 install on a virgin hard disk. Hardware details:
MB: GIGABYTE|GA-880GMA-UD2H R
CPU: AMD|PH II X4 925 AM3 RT
RAM: 2Gx2|GSKILL F3-10666CL7D-4GBRH
HD: 1T|WD 7K 64M SATAIII WD1002FAEX - OEM
CD: BLU-RAY BURNER LG | WH10LS30 OEM - OEM
TUNER: pcHDTV HD-5500 HDTV PCI CARD
CASE: HTPC ANTEC|M FUSIONREMOTE 350
DISPLAY: Sharp Aquos LC-32D62U LCD TV

During the build, I did not notice any jumpers on my SATA HD or Optical drive.

I followed the installation instructions here: http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php? ... ythInstall
starting at "Manual Install" due to my SATA drive. My optical drive booted from the KM on the first try.

I made partitions / (10G), /swap (12G), /cache (18G), and /myth (remainder of 1T). I wrote the partitions, set up swap, and followed the fstype suggestions. I changed Load Config to /KNOPPIX/knoppmyth-sata and input all information. The installation (to /dev/sda1) appeared to complete normally. I removed the CD before reboot.

Upon reboot, the system goes through usual POST and boots from Linux.
However, I do not get the expected Xterm popup, and my screen does not look like that I see on the example YouTube video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=It-Pqcucgsc&fmt=18

Possibly unrelated nasty looking (red) language in the startup dialogue:
"*Cannot check root filesystem because it is mounted read-only."
"Mounting local filesystems...failed."
(at this point, the screen blinks on and off several times, and then stays on with the line below)