View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 11:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 10:12 pm
Posts: 128
Location: Chicago, IL
hmmm, mplayer doesn't find an mpeg2 decoder :

Opening /dev/dvb/adapter0/video0+audio0
DVB VIDEO DEVICE: : No such device
Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (vo) device.

And the developer of the driver for the air2pc also has stated that there is no mpeg decoder on board of it.

Amy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:38 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
aovermy wrote:
hmmm, mplayer doesn't find an mpeg2 decoder :

Opening /dev/dvb/adapter0/video0+audio0
DVB VIDEO DEVICE: : No such device
Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (vo) device.

And the developer of the driver for the air2pc also has stated that there is no mpeg decoder on board of it.

Amy


I was assured by our distributor that the card had an MPEG-2 decoder on board. When I saw posts from the community that said otherwise, I asked them to explain. Today I received email from them in which they claim that they never said it had an MPEG-2 decoder, even though I have it in email that they did.

In any case, I apologize if people were misled into buying this card over the HD-3000 because they believed it had an onboard MPEG-2 decoder, as I believed. I have updated the description on our product page, and I will contact each customer who has orders pending for the card and offer them a full refund.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:05 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
I can back up your claim that the manufacturer said it had an MPEG2 decoder. I thought that advertising claim on your site was incorrect, so I went to the site of the manufacturer and it DID say there was an MPEG2 decoder on board, so I didn't pursue it further.

FWIW I've heard that other DVB cards have MPEG2 decoding on board (but without a graphics port). The data are decoded on the DVB card and sent across the PCI/AGB bus to the video card for display. For HDTV this concept won't work because the amount of data to be shipped across the bus will overwhelm it. It works fine if you're only decoding normal TV resolutions.

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu