View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:49 am
Posts: 4
I kept getting errors when I tried to transcode

I checked /etc/var/mythtv/mythbackend.log and found this error message:
Parser not found for Codec Id: 94210 !

a few times, along with

2006-07-19 08:21:21.114 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2006-07-19 08:21:22.428 Unknown video codec:
2006-07-19 08:21:23.746 Transcoding /myth/tv/1003_20060719000000.mpg failed
2006-07-19 08:21:25.234 Unknown socket closing
2006-07-19 08:21:26.693 Transcode Errored for Doctor Who "World War Three":

Doing a quick search of the forum found this posting
http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... nown+codec
suggesting I update via svn and update ffmpeg so I did the following from the posts:
Code:
svn co http://svn.mythtv.org/svn/branches/release-0-19-fixes/mythtv
wget ftp://ftp.knoppmyth.net/R5/diffs/knoppmyth_tv_0.19.0-4_i586.diff
cd mythtv
patch -p1 < ../knoppmyth_tv_0.19.0-4_i586.diff
chmod +x debian/rules
fakeroot dpkg-buildpackage -us -uc -b
su -
dpkg -i ../*.deb
exit

and

cd /usr/src/
cvs -z9 -d:pserver:anonymous@mplayerhq.hu:/cvsroot/ffmpeg co ffmpeg
cd ffmpeg
./configure --prefix=/usr
make
make install

But to no avail. Still errored out.

Checking the code in http://www.cuymedia.net/doxygen-dev-docs/html I found the jobqueue explained well:

http://www.cuymedia.net/doxygen-dev-doc ... ue_8h.html

Select * from jobqueue; confirmed that the jobs were erroring, which I already knew of course.

I ran jobqueue in a terminal, and in mysql entered

update jobqueue where type=1 and status=304 limit 1;

Note: The h file of course lists values in hex. Mysql displays the value in decimal. Therefore I needed to convert 0x0130 to 304 for my query.

In the jobqueue output I saw unknown video codec:

The : with nothing after it got me wondering, so I did a
Code:
select * from recordingprofiles;

+----+--------------+------------+------------+--------------+
| id | name         | videocodec | audiocodec | profilegroup |
+----+--------------+------------+------------+--------------+
|  1 | Default      | NULL       | NULL       |            1 |
|  2 | Live TV      | NULL       | NULL       |            1 |
|  3 | High-Quality | NULL       | NULL       |            1 |
|  4 | Low-Quality  | NULL       | NULL       |            1 |
|  5 | Default      | NULL       | NULL       |            2 |
|  6 | Live TV      | NULL       | NULL       |            2 |
|  7 | High-Quality | NULL       | NULL       |            2 |
|  8 | Low-Quality  | NULL       | NULL       |            2 |
|  9 | Default      | NULL       | NULL       |            3 |
| 10 | Live TV      | NULL       | NULL       |            3 |
| 11 | High-Quality | NULL       | NULL       |            3 |
| 12 | Low-Quality  | NULL       | NULL       |            3 |
| 13 | RTjpeg/MPEG4 | NULL       | NULL       |            4 |
| 14 | MPEG2        | NULL       | NULL       |            4 |
+----+--------------+------------+------------+--------------+

Checking some old notes, I found that I had added the following in the past to create a custom profile.

insert into recordingprofiles (name,videocodec,audiocodec,profilegroup) values ('480i Resize','MPEG-4','Uncompressed','6');

So, I did the following
[code]
cd /myth/backup
mysqldump mythconverg > backup_before_I_updated_recordingprofiles.sql
#make a backup, always make a backup
mysql -umythtv -pmythtv mythconverg
update recordingprofiles set videocodec='MPEG-4',audiocodec='Uncompressed';
#above changes the table to have values in those fields
update jobqueue set status=1 where type=1 and status=304;
#above takes all the transcoding jobs (type=1) that have errored (Status=304) in the database
[c/ode]
And voila, suddenly the machine is transcoding again!

The transcoders section in setup, TV, Recording Profiles is supposed to take care of this and add the values when you set up the transcoders, but something must have gone wrong when I did a reinstall.

AFter this I went in and resetup the transcoders, and this time all is fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 3:42 pm
Posts: 39
If anyone is having trouble, this worked flawlessly for me. Thanks for the help! If been added to my notes now.

-Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: R5C7 Transcoding Problem
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 7:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
After a new install, I had the same issue. Used the steps outlined by dwallace

[code]
cd /myth/backup
mysqldump mythconverg > backup_before_I_updated_recordingprofiles.sql
#make a backup, always make a backup
mysql -umythtv -pmythtv mythconverg
update recordingprofiles set videocodec='MPEG-4',audiocodec='Uncompressed';
#above changes the table to have values in those fields
update jobqueue set status=1 where type=1 and status=304;
#above takes all the transcoding jobs (type=1) that have errored (Status=304) in the database
[code/]

Worked like a charm!

Thanks for the post


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Still works
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 11:02 am
Posts: 11
Three years later, this still worked for me on my rather un-updated MythTV box. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu