View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 11:25 am 
Hi Guys,

I have been running KnoppMyth happily for many years now, but having recently bought a nice LCD TV, I have decided to upgrade my setup for HD!

My plan is to convert my current combined BE/FE into just the backend, and setup a new frontend machine which will be capable of displaying HD content.

Being based in the UK, this will initially be BBC HD and (hopefully) ITV HD via satellite, which I believe is H264 encoded.

I am hoping to network boot the new frontend, so my current shopping list is:

What I am not sure of is what motherboard to get, so any suggestions would be appreciated.
It needs to have coax spdif output as well as onboard video. I have seen a few that mention hardware H264 decoding, but am I right in thinking that this is not supported in linux?
Also is there any benefit to using DVI/HDMI output over VGA for 1080p HD signals?
My TV accepts 1080p via VGA so I am thinking of getting something like the less well specced MSI K9N6SGM-V (http://www.ebuyer.com/product/126138) as this has nvidia graphics which I am assuming will work fine! (This also has the benefit of a serial port so I can get a cheap IR receiver from http://www.irblaster.info/receiver.html)

Many thanks for any suggestions or comments. I am also not 100% certain this CPU will be fast enough for HD playback, so if someone could confirm this that would be great :)

Regards,
Gerard

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 12:29 pm 
I haven't looked at AMD motherboards in a while, but I can confirm that your processor choice will work fine for HDTV.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 3:16 pm 
Thanks for the confirmation.

Given that the CPU will be fine for HD playback, I think I'll skip on the graphics hardware for HD decoding, as I have a feeling it will just cause more issues! :)