View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:03 pm 
Hi all,

Just did a fresh-from-scratch install of R6 to my three year old knoppmyth box which was acting up with freezes and other glitches. Everything seems cool now, thanks to all who worked on this!

Before you read on, I am a total noob, and only know what I'm able to piece together from searching. Outside of my knoppmyth / mythtv / LinHES experience I have very little linux knowledge, so please take this into account if I mention something that doesn't sound right.

Ok, so I have two Pinnacle PCTV HD cards and they work just fine, but I just read that there's a new firmware out which SIGNIFICANTLY cuts down on the tuning time for channel flipping. Right now it takes about 5 seconds between changes, supposedly the new driver cuts it down to like half a second or something crazy cool like that. (Also, I'm secretly hoping that I can pick up audio on the NTSC tuner, since we have a local low-power analog station which won't be going digital and we'd love to get, currently I get picture but no sound)

I downloaded the new firmware, which is dvb-fe-xc5000-1.6.11, and just dumped it in /lib/firmware, and moved the old dvb-fe-xc5000-1.1 file out of there. Shut down, waited an hour, booted up... cards were now unable to tune anything in myth-setup, much less in "watch tv" of course.

dmesg shows the old firmware being looked for and being unsuccessful, no mention of the new. Also, if I just let the box sit at the main menu a few minutes, it would freeze up hard with no apparent provoaction, requiring a cold reboot (i.e. power button for 10 seconds). It did this with backend running and without. I think it even did it once from the mythwelcome screen. But I digress...