View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I use a Harmony 700 emulating a streamzap remote controller for my myth box and it works well based on the default streamzap configuration in both LinHES and Kodi. In older versions of LinHES I created customised files in /etc/lircrc so I can reassign the colour keys to different functions. I have recently been trying to get these customisations update-proof.

For the new system I followed the wiki creating ~/remotes and subdirectories for each remote but found that the remote did not work inside Kodi. I found the problem was that it was also necessary to copy the Lircmap.xml file to the user area. The wiki states
Quote:
The easiest way to avoid losing your modifications is to make your own custom remote template in ~/remotes/YourRemoteName/ and copy in the custom lircrc, lircd.conf, remote picture and remote.run files.]
Note the streamzap does not have a remote.run. I would suggest that the wiki should be reworded to
Quote:
The easiest way to avoid losing your modifications is to make your own custom remote template in ~/remotes/YourRemoteName/ and copy the contents of the template directory /usr/MythVantage/templates/remotes/YourRemoteClass/YourRemoteName.
I don't know if there are any unforeseen consequences of this for other remotes so I will just put it out there.

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.4.3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Lexington, Ky
Kodi uses it's own remote configuration file.
Code:
Lircmap.xml   

You need to modify that file to get your remote working in Kodi.

This thread should give you some help.
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=24165&hilit=+kodi


Last edited by tscholl on Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 985
Location: SC
I have edited the the wiki http://linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/ ... -Templates:
Quote:
The easiest way to avoid losing your modifications is to make your own custom remote template in ~/remotes/YourRemoteName/ and copy in the custom lircrc, lircd.conf, remote picture, remote.run (if needed), Lircmap.xml and wol-lircrc files. If your remote is close to one of the system templates you can start by copying /usr/MythVantage/templates/remotes/YourRemoteClass/YourRemoteName to ~/remotes/YourRemoteName and modify the files as needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Melbourne, Australia
brfransen, that edit looks fine, thanks for that.

tscoll, I have never had any trouble with the remote in kodi when using templates, it just worked out of the box. It was only a problem when I tried to create a permanent customisation in the new format (~/remotes/RemoteName) that I ran into problems. The edited wiki now covers my situation.

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.4.3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Lexington, Ky
You were one of the lucky ones. Glad yours worked.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu