View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:11 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1268
Location: Orlando FL
My MythTV goes HDMI from the PC to an Amplifier to the TV. When the TV and Amp are on Xorg configures correctly. If the power goes out or my toddler pushes the green glowing power button the PC boots back up but receives no EDID data from the TV or amp because it's off. I have found lots of tutorials on how to do this with an Nvidia Card and the Nvidia tools but not how to do it with Intel.
To fix my overscan issues I have already installed intel-gpu-tools from the Arch repository. Do you think there is enough demand to add intel-gpu-tools to the LinHES rep? There was a complication when it was looking for a Python3 dependency and LinHES is still on Python2.
How do I configure the Xorg file based on current settings and save it out to survive a reboot?

Thanks,
MattBatt

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 484
I'm not sure how you export the configuration you need, but it appears that the configuration need to be stored in:
/etc/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/

Maybe this post can help shed some light?
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=24676&p=141631&hilit=xorg.conf#p141652


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 195
I am using NVidia hardware, but the procedure appears to be the same for Intel. As the previous poster mentioned, you'll want to capture the EDID data and have Xorg use that instead of trying to probe.

Here's an excerpt from the man page (Debian 9 / Intel driver 2.99.917):
Code:
       Option "CustomEDID" "string"
              Override  the  probed  EDID on particular outputs. Sometimes the
              manufacturer supplied EDID is corrupt or lacking  a  few  usable
              modes and supplying a corrected EDID may be easier than specify‚Äź
              ing every modeline. This option allows to pass the path to  load
              an  EDID from per output. The format is a comma separated string
              of             output:path              pairs,              e.g.
              DP1:/path/to/dp1.edid,DP2:/path/to/dp2.edid

              Default: No override, use manufacturer supplied EDIDs.


Reply if you need more guidance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:11 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1268
Location: Orlando FL
Ok so I started working on it today and I've made some progress. I'm trying to keep detailed notes to share here just in case I need to do it ever again.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu