View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Minnesota- Brrrrr!
I tried to follow the procedure here:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Samba#Configuration

The samba installation seemed succesful:
Code:
[root@mythtv ~]# pacman -S samba
warning: samba-3.4.5-3 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): samba-3.4.5-3

Total Download Size:    0.00 MB
Total Installed Size:   67.92 MB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
checking package integrity...
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                   [#####################] 100%
(1/1) upgrading samba                               [#####################] 100%


Not so successful with gamin:
Code:
[root@mythtv ~]# pacman -S gamin
gamin package not found, searching for group...
error: 'gamin': not found in sync db

Not sure why or the consquences or if it really matters. Any insight is appreciated.

Copied and configured samba.conf:

Code:
cp /etc/samba/smb.conf.default /etc/samba/smb.conf


Code:
 [myth]
   comment = Be Careful when deleting
   path = /myth
   guest ok = yes
   writable = yes
   share modes = no


Tried to start samba but failed:
Code:
[root@mythtv ~]# sudo /etc/rc.d/samba start
:: Starting Samba Server                           [FAIL]


Any suggestions as to where I went astray would be highly appreciated.

_________________
R7.3: 0.22.20091023-1, Hauppauge PVR-500 (Philips FQ1236A MK4), Gigabyte Gigabyte EG45M-UD2H, E5200 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 256MB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
I think the problem is you are using init commands instead of runit.

Instead of /etc/rc.d/samba/start I think it sv samba start or something like that. Not at my box so can't check for sure.

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 9:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1194
Location: SC
Code:
sudo sv start smbd
should start samba on LinHES.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 7:38 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:18 am
Posts: 6
I followed the same set of instructions that gatorback did. (on a fresh install of R6.02)
gamin didn't work for me either.

I've got it configured enough that I can start samba manually, with this:
Code:
sudo /etc/rc.d/samba start


However, it won't start at boot when it's added to the DAEMONS line in rc.conf.

Running
Code:
sudo sv start smbd

gives me:
Code:
fail: smbd: unable to change to service directory: file does not exist


Looks as if the LinHES way of making samba run on boot involves
Code:
sudo add_service.sh smbd


Edit: Of course, only afterwards do I see there's a simple menu option for all of this.
Service Menu > LinHES Configuration > Advanced Settings.
Then tick the Windows Sharing tickbox.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 4:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Portland, OR
Start to finish of my SAMBA install. Removed the responses. I'm not sure I need to stop and restart, but figured it couldn't hurt. I had to rebuild the machine a few times today so figured I would post what I had saved in a file for everyone to use. :)

Code:

tigelane:~ tigelane$ ssh root@tvbox1
root@tvbox1's password:

[root@Tvbox1 ~]# pacman -S samba

[root@Tvbox1 ~]# cd /etc
[root@Tvbox1 etc]# cd samba
[root@Tvbox1 samba]# cp smb.conf.default smb.conf
[root@Tvbox1 samba]# vi smb.conf

Add the following:
[myth]
   path = /myth
   guest ok = yes
   writable = yes
   share modes = no

[root@Tvbox1 samba]# sudo add_service.sh smbd
[root@Tvbox1 samba]# sudo sv start smbd

[root@Tvbox1 samba]# smbpasswd -a mythtv
New SMB password:
Retype new SMB password:
[root@Tvbox1 samba]# sudo sv stop smbd

[root@Tvbox1 samba]# sudo sv start smbd



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I am just curious, why did you need to install Samba on a new installation of R6, my understanding is that it is included and you only need to go into the Service Menu to turn it on.

The only reason I could think of why you would want to install Samba is if you are doing an upgrade. Could you please clarify why your installation Samba when it is included in the base system?

Thanks

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Portland, OR
I had thought it was included too, but when I was doing the install I looked for the /etc/samba directory and it was not there, so I installed it. Maybe it's in a different directory with the R6 install, but when it's not where I was expecting, I assumed it was not installed and did it myself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I just looked at my R6.03 install and that directory is there. You may find that the directory is not there until you turn it on in the Service Menu.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Portland, OR
Girkers wrote:
I just looked at my R6.03 install and that directory is there. You may find that the directory is not there until you turn it on in the Service Menu.


That sounds very plausible. I have another machine to install in a few weeks. I'll check it better next time and update the thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 9:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Minnesota- Brrrrr!
UPDATE: LinHES 7.2:
Quote:
Service Menu: LinHES Configuration => Advanced Settings => enable "windows sharing"


Nice. Samba is installed by default.

I am revisiting this topic because I needed to add an additional share (/data/srv/httpd/htdocs): so that I could distribute files through the webserver. This involves restarting the Samba.

These service commands work for Restarting SAMBA in Linhes 6.02:

Code:
[root@mythtv samba]# sv restart smbd
ok: run: smbd: (pid 7711) 0s
[root@mythtv samba]# sv status smbd
run: smbd: (pid 7711) 11s


Below is some of the other commands I looked up and tried (unsuccesfully).

I was able stop samba with this command:
Code:
[root@mythtv samba]# /etc/rc.d/samba stop
:: Stopping Samba Server                                                 [DONE]


Starting was not successful:
Code:
[root@mythtv samba]# /etc/rc.d/samba start
:: Starting Samba Server                                                 [FAIL]
[root@mythtv samba]# /etc/rc.d/fam start
:: Starting Portmap                                                      [FAIL]
:: Starting File Alteration Monitor                                      [FAIL]
ERROR: PORTMAP is not running
[root@mythtv samba]# ps -e | grep samba

I tried the suggestions above:
Code:
[root@mythtv samba]# sv start smbd
ok: run: smbd: (pid 29449) 300s
[root@mythtv samba]# ps -e | grep samba
[root@mythtv samba]#


I wonder if I am running two version of Samba concurrently.

_________________
R7.3: 0.22.20091023-1, Hauppauge PVR-500 (Philips FQ1236A MK4), Gigabyte Gigabyte EG45M-UD2H, E5200 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 256MB


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 162 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu