View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:11 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
I recently made a big upgrade to my mythtv system. After taking the same hardware all the way from R5F27 to 7.4 (6 years?) I finally decided to retire the old hardware due to instability issues and bulging capacitors on the motherboard. So I built a new system with all new hardware and decided to perform the upgrade to R8 simultaneously since it was a pretty substantial change as well. Outside of a couple issues that are documented:
Ethernet Adapter: http://forum.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=23877
Mythwelcome: http://forum.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=23786

everything else went surprisingly smoothly. Not trying to poo-poo the developers by calling it surprising. They have clearly spent a tremendous amount of effort over the years with everything and have made every update as smooth as possible. I just thought with all of my changes as well as the significant changes with LinHES that there would be some sort of major issues. The only major issue was an unexpected one documented above as the Ethernet adapter.

The other minor issues I have seen are:
1) The (HDHomerun) prime tuners were not working. Pretty straightforward drop-all, re-add all resolved it. When watching live tv it was sometimes exiting to the menu with an error for video buffering dropping too many frames. I just had to go back into the setup and turn the quick-tune on for livetv.

2) Retrieval of metadata was failing. After reviewing the logs and searching online, I just added a symlink because the expected file had a different name.
Code:
sudo ln -s /usr/share/mythtv/metadata/Movie/tmdb3.py /usr/share/mythtv/metadata/Movie/tmdb.py
resolved the issue.

3) apcupsd is not in the repos. I found the package in the standard arch repos and installed it with pacman.
Code:
add_service.sh apcupsd
showed that /etc/sv/apcupsd did not exist. Again since I had upgraded, I had the folder in the restore from the earlier system. All I had to do was copy it to the new system and add a symlink from /usr/bin/apcupsd to /sbin/apcupsd, then ran
Code:
add_service.sh apcupsd
again and everything is fine and dandy.

There are 3 things I have not gotten to yet that I will plan to update when/if I do.

4) x11vnc only remains running for the first remote connection. I have not yet found the configuration file to make this persist for connecting/disconnecting multiple times.

5) xymon does not appear to have any temperature graphs. I would like to be able to monitor the cpu/motherboard temps since it is a new system and it's tucked away in a cabinet.

6) Commercial flagging (even in 7.4) has not been extremely reliable on certain programs. It used to be very reliable on HD channels and I suspect that the broadcasters are making it harder to detect. I will need to tinker with the options to try to find one which will work best. The issue I typically have is that the commercial is detected a minute or two early (not always, just often enough to make it a pain) and less often the end of the commercial is detected less than a minute too late. I have turned on strict commercial detection, but that did not solve it. The detection methods option was set to all available, so I am going to try logo detection next. Any tips are appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1194
Location: SC
Thanks for the writeup.

While the symlink for metadata works it may cause problems in the future. I would suggest removing the symlink and in the MythTV config go to Artwork Sources and select the tmdb v3 grabber. That should set the db to look at the right script.

Please open a ticket to have apcupsd added back to the repos.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 252
Location: GA, USA
knappster wrote:
x11vnc only remains running for the first remote connection. I have not yet found the configuration file to make this persist for connecting/disconnecting multiple times.


Have you figured this out yet? I can connect and reconnect to the setup VNC (:1), but :2 stops as soon as I disconnect. I haven't found where the new config is stored either.

Thanks.

_________________
LinHES R8.6 BE/FE GIGABYTE GA-X48-DS5 / EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ / 4GB DDR2 RAM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
created a ticket for x11vnc, will look at it shortly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
brfransen wrote:
Thanks for the writeup.

While the symlink for metadata works it may cause problems in the future. I would suggest removing the symlink and in the MythTV config go to Artwork Sources and select the tmdb v3 grabber. That should set the db to look at the right script.

Please open a ticket to have apcupsd added back to the repos.


Thanks for the tip. Things have been extremely hectic lately. I will try to change the tmdb settings and open the ticket this weekend.
DoomedTX wrote:
knappster wrote:
x11vnc only remains running for the first remote connection. I have not yet found the configuration file to make this persist for connecting/disconnecting multiple times.


Have you figured this out yet? I can connect and reconnect to the setup VNC (:1), but :2 stops as soon as I disconnect. I haven't found where the new config is stored either.

Thanks.

Unfortunately I have not had time. It looks like they have opened a ticket, though.

I also forgot to mention earlier that in order to get audio to work in google chrome, I had to create the following /etc/asound.conf file (which worked with hdmi audio out on my gt 210)
Code:
pcm.!default {
type plug
        slave {
                pcm "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1"
        }
}


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 11:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
Well not for sure what happened to the rest of my post, but regarding x11vnc
See the vnc section here.
http://www.linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/Settings


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
jams wrote:
Well not for sure what happened to the rest of my post, but regarding x11vnc
See the vnc section here.
http://www.linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/Settings


Thanks for the info jams, however, when I create that file and add that line, x11nvc no longer runs on startup. I don't know if there is an error log somewhere that may shed some light?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
try looking in /var/log/$date/frontend.0.log

you could also try running x11vnc with your options in an xterm, just to make sure they are correct.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
The log actually shows X11VNC starting as display :0.

Code:
2013-12-04T06:44:12.074261-06:00 linhes frontend: First configure: Running mythwelcome-config.py
2013-12-04T06:44:12.078309-06:00 linhes frontend: ls: cannot access /etc/X11/autostart/*: No such file or directory
2013-12-04T06:44:12.084281-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 x11vnc version: 0.9.13 lastmod: 2011-08-10  pid: 2367
2013-12-04T06:44:12.089575-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 Using X display :0
2013-12-04T06:44:12.089611-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 rootwin: 0x26a reswin: 0xa00001 dpy: 0x1b83b10
2013-12-04T06:44:12.089805-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12
2013-12-04T06:44:12.089891-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 ------------------ USEFUL INFORMATION ------------------
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103564-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 X DAMAGE available on display, using it for polling hints.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103599-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   To disable this behavior use: '-noxdamage'
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103607-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103614-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   Most compositing window managers like 'compiz' or 'beryl'
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103623-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   cause X DAMAGE to fail, and so you may not see any screen
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103631-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   updates via VNC.  Either disable 'compiz' (recommended) or
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103639-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   supply the x11vnc '-noxdamage' command line option.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103647-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103654-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 Wireframing: -wireframe mode is in effect for window moves.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103663-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   If this yields undesired behavior (poor response, painting
2013-12-04T06:44:12.103671-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   errors, etc) it may be disabled:
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104195-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12    - use '-nowf' to disable wireframing completely.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104217-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12    - use '-nowcr' to disable the Copy Rectangle after the
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104225-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12      moved window is released in the new position.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104234-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   Also see the -help entry for tuning parameters.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104241-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   You can press 3 Alt_L's (Left "Alt" key) in a row to
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104250-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   repaint the screen, also see the -fixscreen option for
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104258-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   periodic repaints.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104265-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104272-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 XFIXES available on display, resetting cursor mode
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104279-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   to: '-cursor most'.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104286-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   to disable this behavior use: '-cursor arrow'
2013-12-04T06:44:12.104631-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12   or '-noxfixes'.

....

2013-12-04T06:44:12.283664-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 WARNING: You are running x11vnc WITHOUT a password.  See
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283666-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12 WARNING: the warning message printed above for more info.
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283755-06:00 linhes frontend: 04/12/2013 06:44:12
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283765-06:00 linhes frontend:
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283767-06:00 linhes frontend: The VNC desktop is:      linhes:0
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283769-06:00 linhes frontend: PORT=5900
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283771-06:00 linhes frontend:
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283772-06:00 linhes frontend: ******************************************************************************
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283775-06:00 linhes frontend: Have you tried the x11vnc '-ncache' VNC client-side pixel caching feature yet?
2013-12-04T06:44:12.283777-06:00 linhes frontend:


I tried connecting to vnc as linhes:0 and it did connect fine without a password. However, as before, once I exit, it does not allow a reconnect.

The /etc/x11vnc.cfg file is as follows:
Code:
#
# Parameters to be passed to x11vnc
#

X11VNC_ARGS=" -forever -rfbport 5902 --passwd mythtv"


If I manually enter the command:
Code:
x11vnc -forever -rfbport 5902 --passwd mythtv
it runs as expected, linhes:2, password protected and it persisted after shutting down the vnc viewer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
Nevermind, I am an idiot. I had copied the file from another location thinking that everything was the same format. There were two issues:
1) It had an extra underscore in the options name.
2) It is case sensitive (X11VNC_OPTIONS is not the same as x11vnc_options).

x11vnc is now working as I wanted with the following /etc/x11vnc.cfg file:
Code:
#
# Parameters to be passed to x11vnc
#

x11vnc_options=" -forever -rfbport 5902 --passwd mythtv"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 12:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
DOH!!! I hate it when that crap trips me up.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
Between the following two links I was able to get my CPU Temperature graphs in Xymon:
http://finninday.net/wiki/index.php/Xym ... h_a_script
http://www.xymon.com/xymon/help/howtograph.html

I have an AMD AM3 motherboard with an nvidia GT 210 video card so the scripts, etc. may need to be tweaked if you have otherwise.

1) Create /home/xymon/client/ext/cputemp with permissions 755
Code:
#!/bin/sh

#/usr/bin/sensors -f | grep "CPU Temp" | awk '{print $1 $2 $3}' |
#       awk {'sub("\+", ""); sub("°F", ""); print }' > /tmp/cputemp.txt
#/usr/bin/sensors -f | grep -i temp | grep -v k8temp|
# awk '{ sub("°F", ""); sub("\+", ""); sub("/", ""); sub(" +", ""); sub("\(.*$", ""); print}'
# > /tmp/cputemp.txt
export DISPLAY=:0
FGPUTEMP=`nvidia-settings -q gpucoretemp | grep linhes | sed 's/.*://' | sed 's/\.//g' | sed -e 's/^[ \t]*//'`
#FGPUTEMP=$((${RAWTEMP:-0}*9/5+32))
echo "GPUTemperature: $FGPUTEMP" > /tmp/cputemp.txt

/usr/bin/sensors | grep Temp | grep -v k8temp | sed 's/\..*//' | sed -e 's/^[ \t]*//' | awk '{sub(".F.*$",
""); sub(" +",""); sub("+",""); print}' >> /tmp/cputemp.txt

RESULT=`grep "CPUTemperature" /tmp/cputemp.txt | awk '{ FS=":"; print int($2) }' `;
COLOR=green
if test "$RESULT" -gt 50
then
        COLOR=red
fi
if test "$RESULT" -lt 20
then
        COLOR=red
fi

$BB $BBDISP "status $MACHINE.cputemp $COLOR `date`

`cat /tmp/cputemp.txt`
"

exit 0

Hint: If you run this script as mythtv user, you will want to delete /tmp/cputemp.txt or change the owner so that xymon can modify it (mine is owned by nobody:nobody)

2) Create /home/xymon/server/etc/tasks.d/cputemp with permissions 755
Code:
[cputemp]
        ENVFILE /home/xymon/client/etc/xymonclient.cfg
        CMD /home/xymon/client/ext/cputemp
        INTERVAL 5m


3) At the end of /home/xymon/client/etc/clientlaunch.cfg add:
Code:
[cputemp]
        ENVFILE /home/xymon/client/etc/xymonclient.cfg
        CMD /home/xymon/client/ext/cputemp
        LOGFILE /home/xymon/client/logs/cputemp.log
        INTERVAL 5m


4) Open /home/xymon/server/etc/xymonserver.cfg and after the line:
NCV_memmfe="*:GAUGE"
add
Code:
NCV_cputemp="*:GAUGE"


And at the end of the declaration of TEST2RRD, change:
memmfe=ncv"
to:
Code:
memmfe=ncv,cputemp=ncv"


5) Reboot the machine (or restart xymon if you know how)

6) Open /home/xymon/server/etc/graphs.cfg and add the following to the end:
Code:
[cputemp]
        TITLE CPU Temperatures
        YAXIS Degrees C
        DEF:GPUTemperature=cputemp.rrd:GPUTemperature:AVERAGE
        DEF:CPUTemperature=cputemp.rrd:CPUTemperature:AVERAGE
        DEF:MBTemperature=cputemp.rrd:MBTemperature:AVERAGE
        LINE2:GPUTemperature#@COLOR@:GPUTemperature
        LINE2:CPUTemperature#@COLOR@:CPUTemperature
        LINE2:MBTemperature#@COLOR@:MBTemperature\n


Let me know if you have any questions or need help tweaking anything. This should show the nvidia GPU, CPU, and Motherboard temperatures on one graph.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 5:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
Well done, as you can see extending xymon is a fairly straight forward task and it can check just about anything you feel like scripting.


Just a word of warning to keep copies of the files changed. At the moment the only things saved during package upgrades is the hosts file.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu