View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 9:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
I just got a new ARRIS cable box that is connected to my HD-PVR. After some period of time, and the box tuned to the same channel TWC sends a message "press any button to continue watching this channel" Then it starts up a screen saver

So the next time the you tune a channel on the HD-PVR the first digit sent by the channel change script wakes up the cable box, then it tunes to what ever the remaining digits are.

If a human makes the change, you can re-enter the channel number an all is cool.

That is until you really want to record something on an HD-PVR channel in the middle of the night end up on some strange channel or you record the screen saver for 2 hours Have used other cable boxes but have never ran into this problem.

Any suggestion on how to deal with this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2016 9:38 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
hitting the info button every hour would probably keep it from falling asleep. I'm assuming you have gone through the menus and looked for anything that says power saving or data saving something like that?

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:37 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
Yes I've looked through all the menus and the sleep & auto power off, all at the off setting.

I did like the idea of the info button, Maybe just send an OK before the channel information. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll let you know.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
I found this maybe it might help.
http://www.audioadvice.com/2014/12/13/t ... -save-fix/

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
Yea, have already been to that setting. It is set to off.

I think you have the right idea with sending a some kind of "code" to the box before sending the channel numbers will do the trick.

I think that sending a KEY_ENTER will answer the stupid "Do you want to continue watching the current channel?" question if it's there, and if not should do anything.

So my plan is to modify the channel change script to send an 'KEY_ENTER' then '"sleep 2" then send the channel code.

Just haven't had time to play with it yet but will let you know how I make out.

Thanks again for the excellent suggestion!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
Update:

I made the changes to the channel_change.sh and so far so good.

On the first channel change of the day to the HD-PVR it worked. (In the past this always failed). So am hope full this will be a good solution. The real test will be with a recording so will be testing that next.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 8:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
What was the change exactly?
I am thinking of adding a pre_channel change process to the script and will use your change as an example.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
Here's my current channel change script.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
###################
# channel_change.sh
###################

REMOTE_NAME=blaster
DEVICE=/var/run/lirc/lircd1
SLEEP_TIME="0.2"
STB=0_85

send () {
irsend --device=${DEVICE} SEND_ONCE ${REMOTE_NAME} ${STB}_${1}
sleep ${SLEEP_TIME}
}

send KEY_ENTER
sleep 2

for DIGIT in $(echo ${1} | sed -e 's/./& /g'); do
send KEY_${DIGIT}
done

send KEY_ENTER

#
# If your cable box is slow to change channels, sleep so that Mythtv doesn't
# move forward until after the resolution has changed
#
sleep 3
exit

I added the
Code:
send KEY_ENTER
sleep 2

to my existing script.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 199
My solution is similar, though I am using a Scientific Atlanta box. I send 0 (zero) then send ENTER. This has the effect of doing nothing if the box is tuned to a channel. If the box is "sleeping" then it wakes it up again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
I hadn't thought of that combination but will have to check it out . Sounds like a good idea as well.

.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
For some reason KEY_ENTER is throwing an error in my _lircd-0.9.2a.log file.
Code:
Oct 20 16:35:23 mythtv2 lircd-0.9.2a[2537]: Error: error processing command: SEND_ONCE blaster 0_85_KEY_ENTER
Oct 20 16:35:23 mythtv2 lircd-0.9.2a[2537]: Error: unknown command: "0_85_KEY_ENTER"


The question is what can I send that works?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
For some reason KEY_ENTER is throwing an error in my _lircd-0.9.2a.log file.
Code:
Oct 20 16:35:23 mythtv2 lircd-0.9.2a[2537]: Error: error processing command: SEND_ONCE blaster 0_85_KEY_ENTER
Oct 20 16:35:23 mythtv2 lircd-0.9.2a[2537]: Error: unknown command: "0_85_KEY_ENTER"


I've only noticed this since the R8.4 upgrade but may have been doing this longer.

The question is what can I send that will do the same thing and work?


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu