View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I have change the network on my BE a couple of times and I am finding in my Firewall Logs that the BE is still trying to talk to my NAS on an old IP address.

What also confuses me about this is it is trying to access the web port for my NAS 8080, so that makes it even more weird.

Can anyone offer up somehow I find out what it is doing and stop it?

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 9:22 am 
Online
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:08 pm
Posts: 124
Just a thought...can you go into setup and check if you have any storage directories defined that point to the old IP address of the NAS?

_________________
DH87MC i7-4770 16GB ram Xonar Essence ST geforce 710 LinHes 8.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
welner wrote:
can you go into setup and check if you have any storage directories defined that point to the old IP address of the NAS?


Sorry I did check that before I posted but never put it in the post, all of my storage directories go to a mount point. So not the issue.

Cheers for chiming in though.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 11:07 am 
Online
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:08 pm
Posts: 124
without going into detail on specific commands, "lsof" or "netstat" might be helpful to track down the pid of the process doing the communications. also the application "Wireshark" could reveal gobs of information.

but, my first guess would be that the communication is coming from the "/usr/bin/mythbackend" process, which gets you back to trying to find the configuration setting telling mythtv to make the connection

you may wish to increase the log level of the mythtvbackend process and check logs.

do you have any references to the defunct front IP address in /etc/fstab ? perhaps a 'grep -r" in /etc would be helpful.

_________________
DH87MC i7-4770 16GB ram Xonar Essence ST geforce 710 LinHes 8.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I don't have anything in the fstab and I did grep the /etc and this didn't find anything.

Many different iterations of netstat commands could not find the connection being established, doing a packet capture on my firewall that is showing the connections and this is what I see:

Code:
13:57:38.169531 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 43402, offset 0, flags [DF], proto TCP (6), length 52)
    192.168.72.200.35308 > 192.168.254.13.8080: Flags [S], cksum 0x2bab (correct), seq 2853549468, win 29200, options [mss 1460,nop,nop,sackOK,nop,wscale 7], length 0
13:57:38.169690 IP (tos 0x10, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [DF], proto TCP (6), length 40)
    192.168.254.13.8080 > 192.168.72.200.35308: Flags [R.], cksum 0xde79 (correct), seq 0, ack 2853549469, win 0, length 0
13:57:45.413871 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 19216, offset 0, flags [DF], proto TCP (6), length 52)
    192.168.72.200.35318 > 192.168.254.13.8080: Flags [S], cksum 0xf471 (correct), seq 1088902650, win 29200, options [mss 1460,nop,nop,sackOK,nop,wscale 7], length 0
13:57:45.414073 IP (tos 0x10, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [DF], proto TCP (6), length 40)
    192.168.254.13.8080 > 192.168.72.200.35318: Flags [R.], cksum 0xa740 (correct), seq 0, ack 1088902651, win 0, length 0
13:57:50.601417 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 39880, offset 0, flags [DF], proto TCP (6), length 52)
    192.168.72.200.35320 > 192.168.254.13.8080: Flags [S], cksum 0xac07 (correct), seq 605076281, win 29200, options [mss 1460,nop,nop,sackOK,nop,wscale 7], length 0
13:57:50.601583 IP (tos 0x10, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [DF], proto TCP (6), length 40)
    192.168.254.13.8080 > 192.168.72.200.35320: Flags [R.], cksum 0x5ed6 (correct), seq 0, ack 605076282, win 0, length 0


Whilst the initiating port is changing the destination of 8080 is constant but netstat never shows anything with that port. Tried as I might with lsof that didn't help me track it down either.

How do I change the log level of the BE?

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 6:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
It looks like you can change the loglevel without needing to restart the service like so:
Quote:
mythbackend --setloglevel debug

https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Logging

Alternatively, if it is something that happens frequently enough, you could try stopping the backend and verify whether the traffic stops. I notice that the IP scopes of the two devices are not quite the same. Is your subnet mask 255.255.0.0?

This might be a long shot and I will admit that I am not very familiar with UPnP but could mythtv be trying to seek out your NAS?
https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/UPnP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 7:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I didn't think about UPnP until you mentioned it and it could be something along those lines.

Thanks for the help, whilst I did narrow it down to exactly what is causing it, I am happy with the way it is at the moment and content that there is nothing nefarious happening.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu