View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Encoder failure
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2021 5:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 419
Location: Charlotte, NC
My system seems to have lost an encoder (HD-5500) recently. I am remote (and will be for awhile). As a result recording errors are occurring whenever there are 3 or more simultaneous events. Does anybody know a way to remove the encoder remotely (thru the web interface or SSH)? There are 6 encoders on this system so removing one is harmless... Thanks.

_________________
Backend server - 4.0 TB 3.0ghz dual core 6 gig RAM, nVidia 9400, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 MB, 2 HD-5500, 2 HD Homerun dual tuners, 3 frontend machines - LinHES 8.6.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Encoder failure
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2021 8:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
[Edit]: See my next post for details on what worked when actually testing this.
I think you can forward myth to a different X display... For mythfrontend it is something like:
Code:
mythfrontend -display :0.0
substituting the appropriate display for :0.0

I used https://kb.iu.edu/d/bdnt which has some explanations for setting up the underlying ssh connection. I'm not 100% sure, but I think you can use the same -display option for mythtv-setup.

In case I am muddling things, there is a thread on the mythtv mailing list with some information that might get you started down the rabbit hole, too...

http://lists.mythtv.org/pipermail/mytht ... 14422.html


Last edited by knappster on Sat Jun 12, 2021 4:50 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Encoder failure
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2021 4:31 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 580
Maybe you've already resolved this, but I have a headless backend right now and I am documenting how I forward the display to my windows laptop (on the same local network):

Open XLaunch from Xming. I leave the defaults and keep clicking next untitl it launches.
Launch PuTTy
expand the SSH tree in PuTTy and select X11. Check the box for "Enable X11 forwarding"
go back to Session in PuTTy and enter IP address of backend and connect
once logged in, I didn't actually need to use the display option. I just launched mythfrontend and it automagically launched a window on my windows machine.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu