View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
In my attempts to set up a new R6 install I tried changing the display settings to "user defined" and copied over my old xorg.conf from my working R5.5 installation to /home/mythtv/templates/xorg.user. Now the frontend won't startup and I am left with the splash screen. Is there a way to revert to the original display settings from a console?

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I have since found another post which probably solves this for me. It seems there is a /etc/X11/xorg.conf.install there just for this purpose. I will try it tonight.

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:03 am
Posts: 210
Location: Roseville, MI
The best thing to do is check the /var/log/Xorg.0.log file for errors (EE). This will tell you the problem 99% of the time. Had this issue many of times. At one point I know the xorg.conf template (default) had the word "Copy..." at the top. This stops the whole file.

Take a look at the log and post the errors. Shouldn't be hard to fix the problem(s).

_________________
-Roseville, Michigan USA
LinHES R8: FE/BE, FE (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
The /etc/X11/xorg.conf file only contained the "Copy...." line.

Copying /etc/X11/xorg.conf.install to /etc/X11/xorg.conf solved the problem.

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:03 am
Posts: 210
Location: Roseville, MI
Good to hear. Now you can "tweak" the default to get the results you want/need.

_________________
-Roseville, Michigan USA
LinHES R8: FE/BE, FE (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Well I am trying to tweak but am not having much luck.
Firstly my TV (Fujitsu 42PHHA) should be capable of both 720p and 1080i. The manual quotes horizontal frequencies for both modes at 50 and 60 Hz refresh rates. I generated modelines for 720p and 1080i at both rates and inserted into xorg.conf. All my requested modes are rejected because either the pixel clock exceeds value from EDID or the horizSync is outside range. Since the manual says it should work I tried including
Code:
Option   "UseEdidFreqs" "false"

after putting in HorizSync and VertRefresh limits. The modes are still rejected because either they exceed the pixel clock or exceed the native resolution which it has determined to be 1024x764.
If I try
Code:
Option "UseEdid" "false"

The modes are all rejected because they exceed the native resolution which it now believes to be 640x480.

Am I doing something wrong? I have updated to the latest nVidia driver. Screen has 1024x1024 pixels.

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:03 am
Posts: 210
Location: Roseville, MI
When you get a chance, post the contents of your Xorg.log (in /var/log), and xorg.conf (/etc/X11). That should give all the answers. If the log is a "long" file, try using http://pastebin.com/ or something similar.

Also, how are you connecting to the TV? VGA, DVI, HDMI, etc.

_________________
-Roseville, Michigan USA
LinHES R8: FE/BE, FE (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Thanks for looking at this.

I have posted the xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log at Pastebin as you suggested. BTW that's a great facility I did not know about.

I am connected to the TV using DVI-D.

I also had another look at the TV manual (scanned and posted here-sorry about the quality) and I notice it is different to the on-line version I have been referring to. The hard copy version indicates that 1024x768 is the best I can manage using DVI-D. The 1080i and 720p were for component, and HDMI.

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:40 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:03 am
Posts: 210
Location: Roseville, MI
It does appear that your DVI port on the TV is very restrictive.

Question #1: Did you have this system previously connected via DVI?

In your xorg.conf file uncomment (remove #) the DFP line.
Code:
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"

and comment the following,
Code:
Option  "UseEdidFreqs" "false"

For my system I did not include a mode line as xorg found all available resolutions.

Other then that, I think I might be at the limit of my knowledge. My system just works (with a few tweaks).

_________________
-Roseville, Michigan USA
LinHES R8: FE/BE, FE (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 8:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Just for information purposes you may want to re-enable EDID and capture a logfile that contains that information...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Thanks for advice spideyk, you confirmed what I thought.

Yes for my R5.5 setup I do normally have it connected via DVI and it works fine on 1024x768 because the TV scales the image to fill the screen and everything is in correct proportion. The only problem I have is I do get some horizontal artifacts when the camera pans quickly. I was just using my experimentation with R6 to see if I could get a better resolution going. R6 works fine if I put in a similar 1024x768 modeline.

I will try the DFP option. I now I used that in my R5.5 version.

I already had the UseEdidFreqs option in there but it would not ignore the pixel clock or the native resolution.

I might try another 1024x768 modeline at 50 Hz since that matches our transmission frequency. Again I will have to tell it to ignore EdidFreqs because it limits it to 59-61.

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 7:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
On R5.5 I'm running HD resolutions up to 1080i from an older FX5200 Nvidia card over a DVI cable. Even with the max pixel clock artificially capped at 135 Mhz (rather than 165).

Some of it has to do with the version of the X driver, with newer versions generally providing better support for HD. One of the problems I had with earlier versions of R6 had to do with it falling back to an older series of drivers for the card which didn't support the HD modes well.

The reason I was asking about the EDID data was to see what modes the driver was validating for your TV.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Sorry tjc, our messages must have crossed. I will rerun it when I get some research time but from memory the EDID data is

Pixel clock 70 MHz
VertSync 59-61 kHz
Horiz can't remember

I will confirm.

I also noticed that the nvidia drivers were old so I updated (I think, not at machine now).

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:46 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:24 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Here is the complete EDID section of the /var/log/Xorg.0.log file
Code:
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): --- EDID for FGL (DFP-0) ---
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): EDID Version                 : 1.2
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Manufacturer                 : FGL
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Monitor Name                 : FGL
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Product ID                   : 281
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): 32-bit Serial Number         : 16843009
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Serial Number String         :
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Manufacture Date             : 2003, week 0
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): DPMS Capabilities            :
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Prefer first detailed timing : Yes
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Supports GTF                 : No
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Maximum Image Size           : 920mm x 520mm
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Valid HSync Range            : 30.0 kHz - 50.0 kHz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Valid VRefresh Range         : 59 Hz - 61 Hz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock     : 70.0 MHz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Established Timings:
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   640  x 480  @ 60 Hz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   800  x 600  @ 60 Hz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Standard Timings:
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   848  x 477  @ 60 Hz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   1024 x 768  @ 60 Hz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):     Pixel Clock      : 65.00 MHz
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):     HRes, HSyncStart : 1024, 1048
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):     HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1184, 1344
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):     VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 771
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):     VSyncEnd, VTotal : 777, 806
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):     H/V Polarity     : -/-
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): Raw EDID bytes:
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00  18 ec 19 01 01 01 01 01
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   00 0d 01 02 80 5c 34 78  0a 61 87 a4 58 3b b3 29
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   1d 4a 4c a1 08 00 4b c0  01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   01 01 01 01 01 01 64 19  00 40 41 00 26 30 18 88
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   36 00 98 08 32 00 00 18  00 00 00 fe 00 0a 20 20
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20  20 20 00 00 00 fd 00 3b
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   3d 1e 32 07 00 0a 20 20  20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fe
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):   00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20  20 20 20 20 20 20 00 18
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Jun 26 10:02:47 NVIDIA(0): --- End of EDID for FGL (DFP-0) ---

The nvidia driver I am now using is 190.53

_________________
Intel DG965WH, Dvico DVB-T Lite x2, HDHR, Gigabyte GT220, KingstonSSD, WD20EARS R8.5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Wow, that's sparse. No wonder it doesn't want to do HD with that. The Samsung TV goes on for pages; 3 "established" timings, 1 "standard" timing, 4 "detailed" timings, and 6 "CEA-861B" timings.

Your best bet might be to look up something like one of the standard CEA-861B timings (DVI standard). This web page has some suggestions:

Quote:
The idea is to ignore the EDID rates; and use the EIA/CEA-861B standard modelines. This is done with the X option:

Code:
   Option      "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
   Option      "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"


See this wiki page for more http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/User_Manual:JudderFree


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu