View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 196
I needed to remove a drive from my system, so I backed up my existing R06.03 system, did a fresh install, then did a restore. Almost everything is back the way it was, except my audio.

I have my system connected to the TV via a VGA connector and a mini-stereo audio cable. However, I am not getting any audio. The interesting part is that if I connect a digital coaxial cable from my mythtv system to my surround sound receiver it works fine.

I've gone into the LinHes "audio" set-up and changed the audio set-up from "analog" to "digital", but I did not get any audio at all after that. I changed the set-up back to "analog" and now my digital coaxial works again.

I've gone into the mythfrontend settings for audio and experimented with 2 channel and 6 channel audio. None of these things have helped. I also ran "alsamixer" in a terminal window while a show was playing to see if I could get the audio work, but no luck.

I still have the old hard drive I used before, is there a file or something I can get from that system and put on the new system?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:51 am
Posts: 31
Location: Turin - Italy
I suppose the reason is Mythtv 0.23 which brings new audio (rewritten).
I also experienced odds with LinHES 6.03 most due to 0.23 (young) release. Unfortunately my wife forced me to revert back to LinHES 6.02 which was more stable (Mythtv 0.22) so I cannot continue testing 6.03.
Now I'm trying to build a system just for testing purposes.

_________________
MBE - ASUS M2NPLUS PRO | RAM 4GB | HD 1TB | 4xHVR-1300 | LinHES 6.03
FE -D945GLF2 | RAM 2GB | HD 250GB | LinHES 6.03


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:07 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I have a similar issue. The upgrade to 6.03 was ok, but I did a 'pacman -Syu' today and ended up losing sound.

If I do a 'aplay /usr/shared/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' the sound works well, but if I try to play anything in MythTV there is no sound.

Going to setup, the audio is set to 'ALSA:default' and 'stereo'. I have changed to not using internal controls and still no sound.

Thanks for any help

PS Trying to run 'alsamixer', I get 'alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device or directory'. The 'mythtv' user is set for 'audio' in '/etc/groups'.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:36 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:07 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Some further info, when trying to watch TV. Video came up ok. Ignore the date/time stamp:

Quote:
2010-03-26 20:40:23.280 AO: Using resampler. From 48000 to 44100
2010-03-26 20:40:23.279 Opening audio device 'default'. ch 2(2) sr 44100 (reenc 0)
2010-03-26 20:40:23.280 AudioOutput Error: AudioOutputALSA::SetIECStatus: snd_ctl_open(default): Invalid argument
2010-03-26 20:40:23.280 Opening ALSA audio device 'default'.
2010-03-26 20:40:23.287 NVP(0): Disabling Audio, reason is: AudioOutputALSA::SetIECStatus: snd_ctl_open(default): Invalid argument
2010-03-26 20:40:23.288 AudioOutput Error: AudioOutputALSA::SetIECStatus: snd_ctl_open(default): Invalid argument
2010-03-26 20:40:26.011 TV: Attempting to change from WatchingLiveTV to None
2010-03-26 20:40:26.419 TV: Changing from WatchingLiveTV to None
2010-03-26 20:40:29.306 Deleting UPnP client...
Error in my_thread_global_end(): 2 threads didn't exit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 2:07 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:07 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Even more info.
When running 'alsamixer' [with no parameters], I get:
Quote:
alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device

But if I specify the card, ie. 'alsamixer -c 0', it start up.
It seems the default is not correctly set, even though 'aplay' works ok. I thought card 0 was the default anyway.

Here is my 'asound.conf':
Code:
pcm.!default {
   type plug
   slave {
      pcm "hw:0,0"   # line out
      # pcm "hw:0,3"   # hdmi
      format S16_LE
      channels 2
      rate 44100   # line out
      # rate 48000   # hdmi
   }
}

ctl.!default {
   type hw           
   card 0
   device 0   # line out
   # device 3   # hdmi
}

My 'aplay -l':
Quote:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC1200 Analog [ALC1200 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC1200 Digital [ALC1200 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 2:39 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:07 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Adelaide, Australia
SOLVED ???
OK, I think I found the solution.
I had to edit 'asound.conf' to have the 'ctl' section as follows [remove the 'device' line]:
Code:
ctl.!default {
   type hw           
   card 0
   # device 0   # line out
   # device 3   # hdmi
}

Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 11:18 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1294
Location: Orlando FL
Me too, well sort of. I did an upgrade from the gui and I have lost sound on my pinnacle pctv HD and LinHES recognizes my PVR 150 but it won't work.
I'm trying to figure out how to roll back.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu