View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 4:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
I have a relative with an old but good Sony CRT (KV-HX32) who until now has been using Mediaportal. Because of ongoing problems with MP, I tried to replace MP by a clean install of LH 7.2 today. The installation began normally with the splash screen and command line text showing the startup sequence, but once the gui started up for choices to be made, the CRT lost sync and it could not be regained. I therefore could not install LH. There is no difficulty in installing Mediaportal, or Windows 7, so I assume there is something in the xorg setup for Linhes that is causing the sync problem. The CRT does not have any digital inputs, but does have RGBVH so there is a VGA to RGBVH cable that so far has worked without a problem.

I have retrieved the htpc (an Asus S1-AT5NM10E) so I can install 7.2 over hdmi with an LCD TV but I don't know how to deal with reconnecting the htpc to the CRT if it won't sync. I am also surprised that Windows 7 and Mediaportal can install without a hiccup but not a recent linux distro.

If I am in for a world of pain then I will probably recommend that my relative buys a new LCD and throws away the Sony (ouch), but I don't want to do that if there is a reasonable chance of getting Linhes to work.

According to the Sony manual it will accept the following resolutions:

Total Scanning line ---- Effective scanning Line ---- fv(Hz)
1125i --------------------------1080i--------------------------- 50/60
750p -------------------------- 720pi--------------------------- 50/60
625p -------------------------- 576pi--------------------------- 50
625i -------------------------- 576i----------------------------- 50
525p -------------------------- 480p----------------------------- 60
525i -------------------------- 480i ------------------------------ 60

Are there any CRT users out there who can help?

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:45 pm
Posts: 402
Location: Fargo, ND, USA
I had the same problem. I had to switch to a HDMI TV to install. I run the install on two completely different machines with the same results. After the install and rebooted the old analog monitor would work again.
TVBox

_________________
TVBox
LinHES R8.6.1


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
TVBox wrote:
I had the same problem. I had to switch to a HDMI TV to install. I run the install on two completely different machines with the same results. After the install and rebooted the old analog monitor would work again.
TVBox


Many thanks for the reply. I will press ahead with the HDMI install.

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Wow, you're lucky! My Pioneer PRO-510HD will only accept 1080i and 480i/p as inputs. It's VERY finicky about scan rates.

I set up LinHES 7.2 on a different monitor and then transferred it to my projection TV. Remember to enable SSH and make sure it works before you change it over to the TV set. That will allow you to sneak in the back door and change X.org configs to make it all work at the last.

There is one problem that has been ongoing -- LinHES has some sort of auto-configuration that keep running and blowing away my Xorg configuration. I keep a copy of my config file and I've had to replace it a few times in the last six months. I've been meaning to dig in and figure out how to turn off the re-configuration forever but it hasn't happened in awhile. Maybe I managed to drive a stake thru its heart the last time.

-- Joe B.

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
Thanks, that's a good tip. Once I have it working I will copy the xorg file. I already have it set up to ssh.

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu