View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
I ran the upgrade completed with no errors. After waiting a few minutes I rebooted.

Now the system starts to boot but fails with the following message.
Code:
Waiting 10 sec for disk ........bla.bla.bla
ERROR: device 'UUID=<myUuid>' not found, skip fsck.
ERROR: Unable to find root device
You are being dropped to a recovery shell
  Type 'exit' to try and continue booting
sh:  cant't access tty: job control turned off

At this point the keyboard does not work. Basically sounds line the same problem as this post.
I booted from and install cd and ran "blkid" and it return the same <myUuid> as in the error message.

I also looked in the /etc/fstab as suggested but there are no numbers there just:
Code:
 tmpfs              /tmp            tmps         nodev,nosuid    0    0
/dev/mapper/arch_root-image / auto defaults 0 0
/dev/mapper/arch_lib_modules --  etc
Ok so I forgot to mount /dev/sda1 Getting out of my comfort zone here, Here is /dev/sda1 fstab
Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=b698b7a5-adab-4b7f-94b8-27df61065b23    /    ext3    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=0fb1a87e-2202-4faa-aa56-abd2ae91a07a    /data/storage/disk0    xfs    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=dafab3c2-8a00-4741-99cf-48ac0c80360f    /home    ext3    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=1c3fcbbe-1193-486c-bdab-125c7cd21376    /data/srv/mysql    ext3    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=ec40ac11-c11a-4f4d-ab01-d1e93bb4cb0d    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
/data/storage/disk0     /data/storage/HitachiHDS721010DLE630_MSE5215V047KGE  none    rw,bind 0           0
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB


After I mounted /dev/sda1 , and looked at the fstab if looks like the numbers are there but there is a lot of spaces. Between entries etc. Can I just edit those out?
Or can I recreate one? Not really sure what do I need to do here to get things going.
So for now I'm dead in the water. Not sure were to go from here?

UPDATE:Removed the 9 lines in front the the first line of the fstab and the blank line between each entry. Still no joy. Still fails with the same error. Also checked /boot/grub/grub.cfg and it has the correct UUID that it says it can't find.


Last edited by tscholl on Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
One thing I have noticed is that on my working box is that when it starts booting the kernel it says:
Code:
Booting the kernel.
:: running early hook [udev]
:: running hook [udev]
:: Triggering uevents...
:: running hook [v86d]
:: running hook [plymouth]
:: Loading plymouth..done
: performing fsck on ' /dev/sda1'
/dev/sda1: clean, 90219/305216 files, 620781/1220608 blocks
*******************Warning ******************************
*                     
*   The root deulce Is not configured to be Mounted
*   read-urite! It may be fsck'd again later.           
*                     
*********************************************************
: mounting '/dev/sda1' on real root.
: running cleamup hook [udev]
runit: $ld: 2Sda3bfl6f7bed41038b8a039d2r8e8c9bbcre822b $: booting,
runit: enter stage: /etc/runit/1

> LinHES The Hone Entertainment System

And never mentions the UUID at all. Something must be missing but I don't know where.

Have also added some information from the pacman.log
Code:
The Building Image fom preset:

Starting build: 3.18.14.1-ARCH
Running buikd hook : [base]
Running buikd hook : [udev]
Running build hook: ]auttodetect]
find: 'sort' terminated by signale 9
modprobe: ERROR: missing parameters. See -h.
Running buikd hook : [modconf]
Running buikd hook : [block]
Error binary dependency 'libpng15.so.15' not found for 'usr/lib/plymouth//script.so'
Error binary dependency 'libpng15.so.15' not found for 'usr/lib/plymouth//script.so'

Then runs it again

Starting build: 3.18.14.1-ARCH
Running buikd hook : [base]
Running buikd hook : [udev]
Running buikd hook : [modconf]
Running buikd hook : [block]
WARNING: possibly missing firmware for module: aic94xx
Running buikd hook : [filessystms]
Running buikd hook : keyboard]
Running buikd hook : [fsck]
Running buikd hook : [v86d]
Running buikd hook : [plymouth]
Error binary dependency 'libpng15.so.15' not found for 'usr/lib/plymouth//script.so'
Error binary dependency 'libpng15.so.15' not found for 'usr/lib/plymouth//script.so'
.......  no other errors.   ......................
Generating moudle dependencies 
Image generations successful


Don't know it that's unusual or not,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: SC
If that is all that is in your /etc/fstab there is something definitely missing. Do you have any other fstab backups in /etc? Or restore /etc/fstab from a backup. There is nothing in recent updates that I can think that should have touched /etc/fstab. A basic fstab should look something like:
Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=38439508-5452-4eb4-b097-6358f4fbdcbb    /    ext4    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1 
UUID=7e92ea17-20fc-4a1b-ad1c-25c83266c713    /data/storage/disk0    xfs    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=7d2e5bc4-92c4-46ba-b4d7-066d806efbb8    /home    ext4    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=a2e3c676-f204-45a4-9d6e-d7dd840e491e    /data/srv/mysql    ext3    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=e6e2113e-b8be-488b-887a-1070c62500e2    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
/data/storage/disk0     /data/storage/VBOXHARDDISK_VBe8e12798-eb3eb018  none    rw,bind 0
       0
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
Thanks for the reply you missed the part about the fstab.
Quote:
Ok so I forgot to mount /dev/sda1 Getting out of my comfort zone here,
After I mounted /dev/sda1 , and looked at the fstab if looks like the numbers are there but there is a lot of spaces.

UPDATE:Removed the 9 lines in front the the first line of the fstab and the blank line between each entry. Still no joy. Still fails with the same error. Also checked /boot/grub/grub.cfg and it has the correct UUID that it says it can't find.

So my fstab now looks just like the sample you posted.
I think the issue has something to do with the message saying
Code:
Waiting 10 sec for disk ........bla.bla.bla
ERROR: device 'UUID=<myUuid>' not found, skip fsck.

and not
Code:
:: Loading plymouth..done
: performing fsck on ' /dev/sda1'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: SC
I didn't miss that part but it doesn't make sense to me if what you posted is your entire fstab. Please post your entire fstab.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:31 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
What I posted was not the fstab from /dev/sda1 but what I saw after i booted from R8,2 install cd before I mount /dev/sda1.
Sorry about that. I updated the earlier post as well.
Here is my fstab after I removed the white spaces. (extra carriage returns between lines)
Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=b698b7a5-adab-4b7f-94b8-27df61065b23    /    ext3    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=0fb1a87e-2202-4faa-aa56-abd2ae91a07a    /data/storage/disk0    xfs    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=dafab3c2-8a00-4741-99cf-48ac0c80360f    /home    ext3    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=1c3fcbbe-1193-486c-bdab-125c7cd21376    /data/srv/mysql    ext3    defaults,noatime,acl    0    1
UUID=ec40ac11-c11a-4f4d-ab01-d1e93bb4cb0d    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
/data/storage/disk0     /data/storage/HitachiHDS721010DLE630_MSE5215V047KGE  none    rw,bind 0           0
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 1:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: SC
That fstab looks right.

The errors from the pacman.log look like maybe the kernel image got messed up. I think an ISO upgrade would be the easiest to fix it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
Ended up doing a ISO upgrade. Everything is good except my remote.not all the keys are working. Found another post with a similar issue, and had to put a copy of the lircd.conf in /etc/lirc as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 6:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: SC
After doing the ISO upgrade did you do a pacman -Syu? There were some issues with lirc but they were fixed after the ISO. Overwriting /etc/lirc/lircd.conf will cause issues in the future.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
So I need replace the /etc/lirc/lircd.conf with the original /etc/lirc/lircd.conf file that looks like this:
Code:
# Populated config files can be found at http://sf.net/p/lirc-remotes. The
# irdb-get(1) and lirc-setup(1) tools can be used to search and download
# config files.
#
# From 0.9.2 config files could just be dropped as-is in the lircd.conf.d
# directory and be included by this file.

include "lircd.conf.d/*.conf"

And then run pacman -Syu
Anything else I need to do after that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:05 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: SC
You shouldn't need to replace /etc/lirc/lircd.conf as the updated lirc pkg should overwrite it. The updated LinHES-config pkg should run systemconfig.py to put the templated lircd.conf into /etc/lirc/lircd.conf.d/ for you. Unless your lircd.conf is custom and then you should really create your own custom template: http://linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/ ... -Templates


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
I already have a custom one setup and am using that.
I also an issue with tuning my HDPVR have opened a hardware issue here for that.

I know there is a way to recycle lircd without a reboot but can't seem to figure it out. I thought
sv stop lircd use to work but doesn't now.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 11:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: SC
If your custom template is set up then everything should be put in the right place with a pacman -Syu. The lircd service went away with R7.3: http://linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/ ... r-Releases


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:01 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 996
Location: Lexington, Ky
So is there is no way to test changes made to your remote txt and .conf with out a reboot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 8:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1190
Location: SC
The remotes service replaced the lircd service but still runs lirc if that is what the remote config calls for. So sudo sv restart remotes would restart lircd and reload a changed lircd.conf.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu