View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 210
Location: Little Rock
I'm close to returning to LinHES after a 3-year hiatus*. When we moved out of our house in AR, we were enjoying clear QAM channels from Suddenlink with an HDHomeRun (not a new Prime.) It looks like Xfinity will be our TV provider when we settle down again, and as far as I can tell our best bet will be to buy a Prime and get a cablecard from Xfinity.

I searched this forum, but the newest post is 2 years old. I'm wondering if anyone out there is using a cablecard with Xfinity and a newer Prime or other device. I'm trying to get a handle on whether this will be a better option than renting an X1 DVR and repeaters (or whatever they call them) when we sign up for service.

Thanks in advance. I'm looking forward to firing up my old box to see if it is still capable of running LinHES.

(*Not that anyone cares, but my job allows me to live anywhere. We took full advantage by selling our house and traveling around the US in an RV with no DVR or satellite, just OTA and campground cable if they had it. We're looking forward to being able to record and skip commercials again!)


Last edited by DoomedTX on Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1175
Location: SC
My dad is using an HDHR Prime on Xfinity and LH for years and it has been great for him.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 3:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 210
Location: Little Rock
brfransen wrote:
My dad is using an HDHR Prime on Xfinity and LH for years and it has been great for him.


Thanks for that, it's good to know it is still an option. I'm looking forward to having LinHES back after so long without it!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 210
Location: Little Rock
A follow-up question for brfransen or anyone who cares to answer:

With a cablecard on the system, can another X1 device be used elsewhere (and does it need to be the master device or can it be a slave)? My mother is going to be in a detached apartment on the same property. I'm not sure if she'll be able to transition to using MythTV and Kodi or if she will want a vanilla Xfinity setup. Any advice is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:52 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1175
Location: SC
I don't know for certain but I think you can use multiple devices. They just each have to be authenticated.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu