View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 517
With R5 I had some lockups, but usually the screen would just freeze. Ever since I upgraded to R6, I have had the display lockup with a pattern like this:
Image
The colors will vary depending on what was on the screen at the time. Usually the display will pause for 1 or 2 seconds and the sound may repeat, but as soon as the screen does this the sound goes silent and everything just stops responding.

I have an ASUS M2NPV-VM motherboard and I'm using the onboard video DVI output, which I know others have used as well. I have a dual core processor and I recently replaced the RAM with 1GB from the qualified vendor list hoping it would solve this problem, but it hasn't. It is a combined frontend/backend and it happens with both playback of hd or sd. I even saw it happen once when in the menu for playing back recordings while it was previewing one in the small window. I cannot pinpoint it to any specific time or any other processes running at the same time, and I would estimate it happens about once per week.

Any thoughts on what the cause may be? Could it be the nvidia driver?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:48 am
Posts: 852
Location: London, UK
Hi knappster,

Same setup in 5.5 (bar ram swap)?

My guess would be a build up of heat... (but I always think that).
How is the onboard GPU cooled? Is there good through ventilation? Perhaps run with the case lid off for a few days?

Might be barking up the wrong tree, but might start you off.

Regards

_________________
Version:R8
Intel C2D 7400, Nvidia 5600 via HDMI to Samsung B37B650TW (PAL), Asus P5QL-E mobo, 4Gb PC6400 DDR2 ram, Samsung Spinpoint 500 Gb & 1Tb drive, Nova-HD-S2 (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 3:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 517
Besides the ram swap it is the same setup. It was a fresh install of R6, and the following things changed since the R6 install:

1) I made a homebrew IR receiver for my digital cable boxes once my cable company decided to stop analog broadcasts, but I think this was happening prior to that.
2) I did have a hard drive which kept losing it's SATA link to the motherboard and have replaced that. The problem definitely started before this hard drive replacement.

As for overheating, I wouldn't rule it out. The northbridge is passively cooled with a heatsink and I use the onboard video. It is in an enclosed cabinet which I cut holes and added 120 mm fans to increase airflow. However, I thought it would have been easier to repeat had it been heat related. Once it happens and I restart the box it does not happen again the same day. I thought it would have quickly reached the critical temperature again and frozen.

According to rrd the highest my processor has gotten in the past week is 50C and the highest my northbridge has gotten is 47C. I can't attest to how accurate that is though. I have 3 case fans, but I think they all have speeds proportional to temperature so they are not moving a ton of air. I also have one fan on the power supply. I don't know if I will get any definitive evidence by leaving the cover off because it is so inconsistent.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1288
Location: Orlando FL
Not a good answer but.... you could try installing a video card. it may be that the chip is fried or something.???

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 517
mattbatt wrote:
Not a good answer but.... you could try installing a video card. it may be that the chip is fried or something.???


After switching from the onboard to a PCI Express video card I have had no more lockups. I'm battling a couple other issues, but that's one which I can put to rest.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu