View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Google TV Front End
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Minnesota- Brrrrr!
I was in Bestbuy and the GTV is now $100. As a Myth aficianado, I'm wondering if this would be a good Myth Front End (FE).

I could not find an instance of anyone running a Myth FE on the GTV box. Hoping that my search was NOT thorough and that someone has done this sucessfully, preferably while keeping GTV software intact by running a Myth FE as an App.

_________________
R7.3: 0.22.20091023-1, Hauppauge PVR-500 (Philips FQ1236A MK4), Gigabyte Gigabyte EG45M-UD2H, E5200 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 256MB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 535
Location: Ottawa, Canada
I think you would have to figure out what is in it. The GTV boxes I have seen in this price range are generally ARM based with non-NVidia graphics. So it could be done but you would probably not be able to run HD on it. The myth software running on the ARM probably couldn't handle it and I don't know of a linux driver that runs on it to drive the video.

In theory a linux driver could exist given Google's base but I haven't seen one (or looked too hard to be honest).

Also you would have to compile myth to an ARM target. LinHES itself is x86 targetted.

I know mhanson played around getting myth backend running on ARM based plug computers so it is all possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 535
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Actually is this the little guy?
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Logitech+-+ ... &cp=1&lp=1

If so that is a Logitech Revue based Google TV. That box uses the Intel CE4100 which is Atom based with Intel graphics. So you might be able to get it to work more easily than I thought. I am not aware of Myth's current state of Intel HD processing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Minnesota- Brrrrr!
christ wrote:
Actually is this the little guy?
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Logitech+-+ ... &cp=1&lp=1

If so that is a Logitech Revue based Google TV. That box uses the Intel CE4100 which is Atom based with Intel graphics. So you might be able to get it to work more easily than I thought. I am not aware of Myth's current state of Intel HD processing.


That's the one. I was hoping it had been outfitted as a FE.

_________________
R7.3: 0.22.20091023-1, Hauppauge PVR-500 (Philips FQ1236A MK4), Gigabyte Gigabyte EG45M-UD2H, E5200 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 256MB


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu