View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: Compiling on LinHes 7.1
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:53 pm 
Hi Everyone,

I have been through the forums for the past couple of weeks with no avail, and all over the Arch Linux site. Both are great resources. I always try on my own beofre posting. I am not a novice with Linux, so I am not afraid of the configuration or setup for LinHes. I have had a successful implementaiton running for years now, starting with version 4 (I think). Last year I upgraded to 6.04 on new frontend and backend hardware. I run a single backend with three frontends.

In order to get a new wireless card running on a new frontend that I was installing, I needed to upgrade to v7. I changed my repos, and ran the upgrade and have had some problems; but I will put those issues into another post. My immediate need it to resolve a video issue on my new frontend box.

My new frontend is running a Sapphire Pure Fusion Mini E350 MB (IPC-E350M1) with an ATI chipset for Video (I know, I know; but my other devices have been working fine with Radeon drivers. The other can also take NVidia cards that I bought in case I needed them. This frontend is a mini-pc, so I cannot add a video card (due to the case I have purchased).

So my video card is:

ATI RadeonTM HD6310 GPU

lspci
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 9802

When using the radeon driver, the log shows me that the HD6310 is not on the supported list. I think my best choice is to use he Catalyst driver (fglrx) though the Catalyst repo. Based on the Arch Linux site, I have installed the Catalyst driver, but I had to override the missing dependancy of the Linux package. I now know that the package prevented the module souces, and thereby the module from being installed.