LinHES Forums
http://forum.linhes.org/

HDMI Audio on NVidia 210 (SOLVED)
http://forum.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=21966
Page 1 of 3

Author:  Big boy stan [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:34 am ]
Post subject:  HDMI Audio on NVidia 210 (SOLVED)

My current setup is using the onboard sound card and RCA audio cables into my HDTV. I am moving my TV and would love to eliminate the RCA cables. I understand that HDMI audio is working well with the latest ALSA version (1.023) which is in the core-testing repo. Can I do a pacman from the testing for the new ALSA without screwing up my stock 6.03 box?

Also will moving the TV out audio to HDMI allow me to use the on board sound card as a separate output for mythmusic?

Author:  slowtolearn [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

Can't help you with the pacman question but you can define a different audio device under Music Settings -> General Settings, so you should be able to use the onboard audio for MythMusic.

Author:  graysky [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:44 pm ]
Post subject: 

Dunno about the [testing] question. Have you tried with whatever version of alsa you have currently? See: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=79687

Author:  Big boy stan [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:28 pm ]
Post subject: 

I don't think it will work without the upgrade. I did a aplay-l and it only listed my onboard audio card (no HDMI).
Also the ALSA change log states that the 1.023 update includes support for HDMI audio for GT21x.

Does anyone have ALSA 1.023 running?

Author:  knappster [ Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:28 pm ]
Post subject: 

I'm not sure which version of alsa I am running, but I always have occasional audio issues with the one included, so I have built the packages from source and never had a problem and it is relatively easy.

Here's a post I made of the packages I installed when it was alsa 1.0.19
http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.p ... c&start=26

Author:  Big boy stan [ Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

Well I managed to fubar the sound system.
I did a pacman for alsa-lib and alsa-utils from the testing repo and downloaded and compiled the 1.0.23 driver. After a reboot I did an aplay -l and it showed 4 new devices all labled HDMI along with my onboard sound.
I then tried to modify the asound.conf file which per the instructions on this page
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki?title=AllensDigitalAudioHowto
After a reboot when I do a aplay -l it says "no sound cards found"
The sound cards are listed under lsmod but if I type
Code:
cat /proc/asound/cards

I get --- no soundcards ---

In dmesg.log I see
snd_hda_intel: Unknown symbol snd_ctl_add_slave
snd_hda_intel: Unknown symbol snd_pci_quirk_lookup


Do I need to reconfigure ALSA or is this a deeper problem?[/code]

Author:  Big boy stan [ Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:06 pm ]
Post subject:  HDMI Audio on Nvidia 210 (SOLVED)

Well good news. In the end this turned out to be fairly easy to do once I stopped trying to shoot myself in the foot. Thanks a ton to Knappster for pointing me in the right direction.

My problems were caused by using the LINHES service audio menu which I think was still trying to load the old driver. I suggest staying away from that menu.

To get it working you will need to have at least ALSA version 1.0.23. I had to use the extra-testing repo (at least as of this writing) to get the latest alsa-lib and alsa-utils. To do this edit the /etc/pacman.conf and add
Code:
#
[core-testing]
Server = http://knoppmyth.net/repo/i686/core-testing


Next is
Code:
pacman -Sy alsa-lib
pacman -Sy alsa-util


Now we need to download the 1.0.23 driver and compile
Code:
pacman -Sy base-devel
wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/driver/alsa-driver-1.0.23.tar.bz2
tar xvf alsa-driver-1.0.23.tar.bz2
cd alsa-driver
./configure
make
make install


Edit the /etc/pacman.conf file to comment out the changes we made earlier.

Reboot

From a terminal window type the command: aplay -l
and you should see a new card listed with HDMI devices. Write down the card number and the any devices that list HDMI. Mine were card 1, devices 3,7,8,9.

Next in the terminal window type the command :alsamixer
Hit F6 and select the card with the HDMI devices. Mine showed four S/PDIF devices all muted (as shown by the MM in the box). Change each of these to OO by hitting the "M" key and right arrow key. Escape back to the command line and type

Code:
alsactl store

to save the changes you just made in the alsamixer.

Next is to check your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to make sure that you do not have "UseEDID False". If you do then put a # before it to comment it out. Note that this may affect your video out resolutions but hopefully will set it to the TV best resolution. Make a copy of the xorg.conf file before doing any editing.

We need to edit the /usr/LH/tweaker/fs/etc/asound.conf
make a copy and edit it to look like this:
Code:
pcm.!default {
type asym
playback.pcm {
type plug
slave.pcm "hw:1,3"
}
}


Note: You may need to change the hw:1,3 to one of the HDMI devices that you wrote down earlier.

Reboot

Finally, in the myth frontend, go to the Mythtv configuration/Setup/General - Audio page.
Change the Audio Output Device to "ALSA:plughw:1,3" (or whatever your card,device is)
Change the Speaker configuatation to "5.1"
Check the box for "Upconvert stero to 5.1 surround"
Change the Digital output device to "ALSA:plughw:1,3" (or whatever your card,device is)

Go to a recording and you should have sound!

Author:  graysky [ Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

You should NEVER compile the make install in Arch/LinHES as you did.... you should write a PKGBUILD and install via pacman. Now you have rouge files in your filesystem that may cause problems down the road when the updated alsa package goes to the repo and pacman tries to install it.

Author:  Big boy stan [ Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

oops. No idea how to do what you are suggesting. Is there an existing pkgbuild in the testing repos for the driver?

Author:  graysky [ Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:17 pm ]
Post subject: 

Big boy stan wrote:
oops. No idea how to do what you are suggesting. Is there an existing pkgbuild in the testing repos for the driver?


Yep. You can get all the info from the LH repo. I can't locate my link to it or else I'd paste it here for you. Perhaps someone else can do it?

Author:  Big boy stan [ Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:09 am ]
Post subject: 

@graysky
In the extra-testing repo i see a package called
alsa-firmware-1.0.23-1-i686.pkg.tag.gz

Is that the package that you are referring to? Will this load the 1.0.23 alsa driver?
Code:
pacman -Sy alsa-firmware


If so I will edit the above "how to".

Author:  graysky [ Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

I'm not sure... you actually wanna look at the PKGBUILD file for that package to see.

Try poking around in:
http://linhes.org/cgit/cgit.cgi/linhes_pkgbuild/

Author:  knappster [ Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:29 am ]
Post subject: 

graysky wrote:
You should NEVER compile the make install in Arch/LinHES as you did.... you should write a PKGBUILD and install via pacman. Now you have rouge files in your filesystem that may cause problems down the road when the updated alsa package goes to the repo and pacman tries to install it.


I'm not sure if Stan ever found anything in the arch repos, but since I am the one who gave him the advice, I will give him an out.

When I build from source, as I had advised, I also keep the source files on my machine. If you ever want to remove the files you installed from source, you can navigate to the folder where you ran:
Code:
make install
and run
Code:
make uninstall
and it will remove the files that it installed.

But if you want to toy around with the PKGBUILD files, the latest appear to be here:
alsa-lib http://linhes.org/cgit/cgit.cgi/linhes_ ... b/PKGBUILD
alsa-oss http://linhes.org/cgit/cgit.cgi/linhes_ ... s/PKGBUILD
alsa-utils http://linhes.org/cgit/cgit.cgi/linhes_ ... s/PKGBUILD
alsa-firmware http://linhes.org/cgit/cgit.cgi/linhes_ ... e/PKGBUILD

However, I'm not sure which, if any of those contain the driver. Notice how the first 3 are in the core repo, and the last one is in extras. *shrug* I'm pretty happy with how my sound is working right now, so I'll let you be the guinea pig, lol.

edit: Just looked at http://www.alsa-project.org and it lists the firmware package separate from the driver package, so I wouldn't count on it to update your driver. It's strange that there don't seem to be any PKGBUILD's for the driver...

Author:  tjc [ Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:46 am ]
Post subject: 

Having just gone through this last night, there is no separate PKGBUILD for the driver, probably because it's integrated into the kernel. I ended up getting the most recent src packages from http://linhes.org/repo/src_packages/core-testing/ for alsa-lib and alsa-utils, downloading, building and installing the driver as above, building the updated packages and installing those, and finally fiddling with the audio settings under MytrhTV and the asound.conf.

I'll try to write this up in more detail tonight and possibly even attempt a PKGBUILD for the driver.

Getting audio over HDMI running was very sweet, at the moment there are only 3 cords coming out of the back of the new machine, power, network, and HDMI video/audio. (The keyboard and mouse connection is a small wireless dongle and since the project is still in the "test and fix" phase the HD5500 card and it's coax connections aren't there yet.)

Author:  snaproll [ Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:53 pm ]
Post subject: 

if
Code:
aplay -l

lists this:

Code:
[root@7_mythbox111 log]# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH6]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel ICH6 - IEC958]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


is this a correct /usr/LH/tweaker/fs/etc /asound.conf file ?

Code:

pcm.!default {
type hw
card 1
device 3
}


Still struggling with setting, got one outta whack somewhere.... (7.00.02)

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/