View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 4:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Windows cannot access drives formatted with other filesystems (ext2/3, XFS, BeFS, RieserFS, etc.) While some utilities may exist to do so, this isn't a Windows support forum.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 1:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:44 am
Posts: 3
Location: Cedar Rapids, ia
:D :D :D :D :D
I have gotten a triple boot working with R5A26 all on a single hard drive.
R5A26, WinXp & Mandriva 2006. I haven't used any other Linux distros in years so I wouldn't be able to help on those.

You need 2 networked machines to do this.
Steps
1. Load knoppixmyth like normal and reboot.
2. do a alt-cnt-f1 and log into root.
3. edit the fstab file and add the following command (changing for your network)
192.168.0.25:/home /remote_home nfs defaults 0 0
4. Make directory /remote_home & mount the nfs directory "mount /remote_home"
5. Now copy the cache & myth partions to your remote_home
6. Now put in the Mandriva 2006 CD/DVD
7. Reboot the machine and do a install with custom hd partion.
8. delete the last 2 partions and resize the swap partion to 1.5 time your memory.
9. Save to boot sector.
10. Hit the reset button and put in the XP disk.
11.Create your partions for XP like normal in XP leaving the first 2 partions alone leaving enough space left over for your Mythth directorys & Linux partions.
12 Now with XP installed reboot the machine and put in your Mandriva CD/DVD.
When You get to the disk partion (using custom setup) create a minimum of 3 partions
in the remaining empty space.
6.5G partion for you myth-cache and put it in /mnt/cache
5-10G for your Mandriva root directory.
The rest for your home partion (If needed I use NFS & NIS and don't need a home partion) and your /myth partion.
select hda1 (Which should be you knoppixMyth root directory) and create a mount for it.
13 Load you linux machine like normal and reboot.
14. Now reboot back into linux.
15. In root in a shell or console cd to your knoppixMyth root directory /etc directory.
16 Using your favorite text editor edit the file lilo.conf
look for and copy the following
image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.13.2-chw-3
label=Linux
initrd=/boot/initrd.gz
read-only
# restricted
# alias=1

to your /etc/lilo.conf of your Mandriva root/etc
change the line “label=Linux” to “label=Mythtv”
and the line
image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.13.2-chw-3
to
image=/(knoppixmyth partion name)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.13.2-chw-3

and line
initrd=/boot/initrd.gz
to
initrd=/(knoppixmyth partion name)/boot/initrd.gz

now type in lilo

17. Repeat step 3 & 4. note the new drive placement and type from the Mandrive fstab file.
Now copy the cache & myth directors files back to your myth partions.
18. Using your favorite text editor edit the knoppixmyth fstab file and change
the cache and myth partion to the new placement and type. hda4 to hda6 in my case

Now when you reboot you should have 3 main boot options

Linux (Mandriva)
Windows
Mythtv

The only problem I've run into is the mythbackend wont start by default by loggin
into root in a shell I can always start it. I'll get that fixed soon. I've done this already on 2 different machines. Works like a charm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:13 am
Posts: 19
I have a little different situation, XP is on a SATA drive and Knoppmyth is on an IDE drive. There are jumper settings on the SATA drive but they aren't supposed to make any difference (Idid try anyway) and the IDE drive is set to master. I think that is the root of my problem but I guess I'm not sure. Anyway I never get LILO boot manager to come up if both drives are connected, it just boots to XP. If the SATA is disconnected then LILO boot manager comes up and works fine. Any ideas?

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 4:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
Perhaps device boot order in the BIOS?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:13 am
Posts: 19
Sorry been too busy to work on it until tonight. That was the problem so all is well now. Thanks so much!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 11:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 1:47 am
Posts: 16
I am looking to do a dual boot with WinXP and Knoppmyth. I want to use a SATA single drive for both OS. I have WinXP installed already and have been looking for a guide to help me get Knoppmyth on there to where everything works. I am scared. I see many posts here and most are quite old. If there is a writeup anywhere please post or PM me a link.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 10:13 am
Posts: 4
hi, for me solution from scarceas didnt work - always the same loop with partitioning disk

i have 1 pata (ide) drive (20 GB) - want 2 systems: XP and Knoppmyth frontend only.

this way it worked for me:

starting from scratch - no data on the disk

1. install Knoppmyth with autoinstall (3 partitions was created)
2. after installation, boot again with Knoppmyth CD, choose manual install
3. now installation ask where should be installed - i choose /dev/hda1
4. in menu i pick partitioning - deleted the 3rd partition - space for windows. I created small 500 MB partition (for case...)
5. start install
6. installation was successfull with one 5 GB partition, swap partition, and 1 small partition (i guess that last one does not need to be created
7. now time for installing Windows - created 1 big partition for them
8. after installing W, mbr was rewrited so boot from Knoppmyth cd, exit to console

mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
chroot /mnt/hda1
lilo -v

ok knoppmyth is booting ( but not W)

9. i have write W boot code to their partition: boot from W installation CD, pick R (recovery console), fired fixboot d: (d: is the drive where W is installed in my case) - dont know if this is the necessary step.

10. for the reasons i changed to Grub in MBR
apt-get install grub
grub-install /dev/hda
update-grub

generated menu.lst needed some modifications like
add kernel parameters - acpi=off noapic
initrd /boot/initrd.gz

and finaly add W boot menu section

title Windows
root (hd0,2)
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader +1

hd0,2 is my W partition

11. follow guide from knoppmythwiki.org
http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php? ... nlyInstall


one note at the end , my W partition is on G: drive now - but that isnt problem form me, I think that W think that first ntfs primary partition is C: (but installer was showing that linux /dev/hda1 partition is C: ...
------------
another nice weekend has gone ... :-)
bleskone


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu