View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:48 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 11:05 am
Posts: 37
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
Algenon wrote:
I have been trying to implement the WOL function, but can't even get the 24/7 server to recognise the message from my frontend/backend machine. I am trying to use the scripts at http://mythtv.org/docs/mythtv-HOWTO-11.html#ss11.5 which suggest editing the /etc/inetd.conf and /etc/services file on the 24/7 machine and use the following script.


Code:
#! /bin/bash
#this should be a command to wake your server
WAKECMD="#!/bin/sh\n /usr/local/bin/wakeMBE"
#first we need to delete all wake jobs in queue
for JOB in atq | cut -f 1 ; do
    atrm $JOB;
done
#now we read the date from 'nc'
read date;
#now set the atjob
echo -e "$WAKECMD" | at $date ;


I can't get any of this to work, I am wondering if anyone else has got WOL to work?

I accept that this is not strictly KnoppMyth stuff but any help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Algenon.


Alan,

PM me with an email address where I can send along the HOWTO I pm'd you about previously. I have it ready now, but the PM system is not moving it from outbox to sent for me currently. It's about 15 pages of instructions.

The script above is almost there, but has a couple of 'issues' that prevent it from working properly. As well, there quite a bit of config on your EPIA box and Dragon that needs attention before you proceed.

Squiffy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:30 pm
Posts: 94
Hi all,

This might be 2 years late, sorry, but I've put together a little how-to on the wiki: http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php? ... nLANRouter for setting exactly what you want up. I personally would not buy a router with 'Linux' type firmware already on it, but instead buy it with the manufacturers firmware and then flash it with Linux firmware. This might be more risky (in case of a bad flash) but at least you can ensure it comes with all the software you need (e.g. SSH). Make sure it has atleast 4MB of flash memory though as devices which don't won't store the programs, memory sizes avaliable from a link on the wiki.

Good luck,
Mythman

_________________
Running Knoppmyth R5.5 on a Compaq EVO D510 (sff) w/ P4 1.8GHz, 1GB RAM, 330GB 7200rpm Maxtor IDE HDD, XFX Nvidia GeForce 6200 (AGP low profile, p/n: PV-T44A-WANG) and Huappauge NOVA-T 500 DVB-T dual tuner PCI card.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 21
mythman13 wrote:
Hi all,

This might be 2 years late, sorry, but I've put together a little how-to on the wiki: http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php? ... nLANRouter for setting exactly what you want up. I personally would not buy a router with 'Linux' type firmware already on it, but instead buy it with the manufacturers firmware and then flash it with Linux firmware. This might be more risky (in case of a bad flash) but at least you can ensure it comes with all the software you need (e.g. SSH). Make sure it has atleast 4MB of flash memory though as devices which don't won't store the programs, memory sizes avaliable from a link on the wiki.

Good luck,
Mythman


To add to this:
I've recently read about a nifty little $34 box on linuxdevices.com
http://www.linuxdevices.com/news/NS4514239441.html

* Processor -- Infineon ADM5120 (MIPS32)
* Memory -- 16MB RAM; 2MB flash
* Networking – 4 x LAN Ethernet ports; 1 x WAN Ethernet port
* USB -- 2 x USB Host ports
* Serial -- 1 x UART/programming port with pin headers
* Debug -- 1 x JTAG port with pin headers
* GPIO -- 13 x GPIO/LEDs
* Power -- 12V 500mA; optional adapter
* Dimensions -- 7.1 x 3.6 inches (180 x 91mm); with optional case 7.4 x 3.9 x 1.1 inches (188 x 100 x 28mm)
* Operating system -- Linux (Midge, Squidge); NetBSD

It only has 2MB flash onboard but the article says you can boot a system from a usb flashdrive. I plan on buying it myself whenever I get around to running a couple of ethernet cables.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu