LinHES Forums
http://forum.linhes.org/

Dual Head Monitors
http://forum.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13536
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mrmunkey [ Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:58 am ]
Post subject:  Dual Head Monitors

I have an nVidia GeForce FX 5200 with DVI and VGA outputs (also S-Video, but I don't use it) It took me the better part of a day to find all the information I needed to get my monitors working correctly, so I figured it would be best to share my information.

I have two monitors, a 22" Widescreen Samsung 225BW, and a cheapo Dell 15" LCD. I watch Myth on my Samsung with DVI, and I use the Dell for management purposes (if the need arises), that way I don't have to rely on a network connection, and I can sit in a nice chair, rather than looking up at my wall-mounted 22" LCD.

Getting the DVI to be the primary display was the hard part. Here's my xorg.conf (yep, R5E50)

Most specifically you're going to want to look at the ServerLayout sections, and the Device sections.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "Multihead"
   Screen      0  "VGAScreen" 0 0
   Screen       1  "DVIScreen" LeftOf "VGAScreen"
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
   Option "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
   Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "yes"
   Option "DontVTSwitch" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Speedo"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/PEX"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
        FontPath     "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/latex-ttf-fonts"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "dbe"
#   DRI doesn't work with nvidia
#   Load  "dri"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"
        Option          "SendCoreEvents"        "true"
   Option          "Protocol"              "IMPS/2"
   Option          "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"
   Option          "Buttons"               "5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "DELLMonitor"
   VendorName   "DEL"
   ModelName    "DELL E153FP"
   HorizSync    30.0 - 63.0
   VertRefresh  56.0 - 76.0
   Option       "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier "SAMMonitor"
   DisplaySize  477 300
   HorizSync    31.0 - 81.0
        VertRefresh  56.0 - 75.0
   Option   "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "VGACard"
   Driver      "nvidia"

        #Corrections to get DVI as primary
   Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"
   Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP"
   Screen       0

   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
   BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier "DVICard"
   Driver   "nvidia"
       
        #Corrections to get DVI as Primary
   Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"
   Option "UseDisplayDevice" "CRT"

   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
   BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
   Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "VGAScreen"
   Device     "VGACard"
   Monitor    "DELLMonitor"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes   "1024x768"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier  "DVIScreen"
  Device      "DVICard"
  Monitor     "SAMMonitor"
  SubSection  "Display"
    Depth  24
    Modes  "1680x1050"
  EndSubSection
EndSection


The down-side to all of this is that Xine usually ends up on the other display. I don't use Xine too much anymore now with the built-in players, but other people might run into this issue. So far I haven't found a work-around yet.

Author:  tjc [ Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:59 am ]
Post subject: 

You should be able to edit the xine command used in the setup screeens and add a display specifier to get it on the right screen...

Author:  mrmunkey [ Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

I didn't see that Xine had a display option. That was my first guess. I tried --display -display.

Also, this is using Xinerama, so most things actually show up in the middle of both screens. When you maximize then it maximizes on the screen that the application is taking up most of the space on.

Xine is a bit different in that it will maximize over both displays with -F (instead of -f) but even then you only see half of the visualization/video.

I would love it if I was wrong and just did something wrong thouhg ;)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/