View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
Mythstream uses mplayer for audio output. Unfortunately there are presently no options in the Mythstream setup menus (or anywhere in MythTV) to configure the audio output for Mythstream.

In order to get audio working in Mythstream I had to tell mplayer what audio output to use (since Mythstream uses mplayer). Unfortunately you can't edit the mplayer startup command in Mythstream like you can in Mythvideo to pass options to mplayer (at least not without going into the code).

Fortunately, mplayer does have a config file where you can pass global options to it. The file is /home/mythtv/.mplayer/config

For my onboard nForce4 audio I added the following lines to get Mythstream working:
Code:
ao=alsa:device=hw#0.0
ac=hwac3,


The first line tells mplayer what audio output device to use. The second line tells mplayer to pass through AC3 digital streams (note, the comma at the end of the 2nd line tells mplayer to fall back to analog output if no AC3 stream is present so the comma is important!). I don't think the 2nd line is actually necessary to get Mythstream working but since I output all my audio through an optical cable to my receiver I figured it couldn't hurt. If your not using a digital output then there shouldn't be any need for the 2nd line but I don't think it will hurt to have it.

Some people may need to modify the first line to specify a different audio output depending on their soundcard. The commands:
Code:
cat /proc/asound/pcm

or
Code:
aplay -l

should give some clues as to what audio output you should be using.

You may need to change the first line to something like:
Code:
ao=alsa:device=hw#0.2
or
Code:
ao=alsa:device=hw#0.4
depending on your hardware.


My result from cat /proc/asound/pcm is
Code:
00-02: ALC883 Digital : ALC883 Digital : playback 1 : capture 1
00-01: ALC883 Analog : ALC883 Analog : capture 2
00-00: ALC883 Analog : ALC883 Analog : playback 1 : capture 2

and for aplay -l is
Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC883 Analog [ALC883 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 2: ALC883 Digital [ALC883 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


I hope this helps someone out!

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:30 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:09 pm
Posts: 57
Looking at your config for /home/mythtv/.mplayer/config I don't see the relationship between your results and the inserted command?
I have included my relsults below (using sound blaster card)
Any help in understanding would be appreciated. :)

results from cat /proc/asound/pcm

00-03: ca0106 : CA0106 : playback 1 : capture 1
00-02: ca0106 : CA0106 : playback 1 : capture 1
00-01: ca0106 : CA0106 : playback 1 : capture 1
00-00: ca0106 : CA0106 : playback 1 : capture 1

results from aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 0: ca0106 [CA0106]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 1: ca0106 [CA0106]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 2: ca0106 [CA0106]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CA0106 [CA0106], device 3: ca0106 [CA0106]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
I believe you should use ao=alsa:device=hw#0.0. Try that first and if it doesn't work go to 0.1, 0.2, 0,3 and see if they work. Unfortunately the outputs you posted don't provide much help (but I'm guessing you already knew that when you posted).

Best of Luck!

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 9
Did you have to restart any myth services or reboot the machine for these changes to take effect?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:38 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
No, these settings only apply to mplayer so you only need to exit Mythstream and restart it.

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu