View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 5:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 11:01 pm
Posts: 5
is there a way to check the mbmon values from within the mythtv frontend?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
No, but if you wanted to write one I'm sure noone would complain.

you can check it from telnet though if you run it in daemon mode.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 9:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 116
Worked fine for my Asus A7M266. I added my mb to the wiki.

Thanks Xsecrets!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 9:11 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:08 am
Posts: 91
Location: Switzerland
For people who don't have a *modern* motherboard (like me... I'm running on a Mythified Compaq Deskpro), there is a small utility that lets you check the HD temp:
http://freshmeat.net/projects/hddtemp/

Not as good as processor temp, but better than nothing...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Thanks for the info man.. too bad I have an Asus A7N8X-VM 400 :(

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:56 pm 
I found another way to monitor temperature for motherboards that do not support mbmon or xmbmon. Use the ACPI BIOS information.

You can get it by using the yacpi utility from debian.

Try this:

#apt-get update
#apt-get install yacpi
#yacpi

press h for help, m for monitor.

This will give you a good idea of your temperature while your system is running.

Run it in an xterm and it will tell you what your temperature is.

Hope this helps!

Andrew Lynch

PS, doing a

#cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature

will print it out as well. Can someone pipe this output into MythOSD and cron the job so that it pops up on screen everyonce in a while? Thanks!


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 6:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 20
lynchaj wrote:
PS, doing a

#cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature

will print it out as well. Can someone pipe this output into MythOSD and cron the job so that it pops up on screen everyonce in a while? Thanks!



I use "osd_cat" which was included in knoppmyth. It shows a text of your choice transparent on top of the display, even if you are playing video.
I made a key on my remote execute a small ugly script that brings up a little infoscreen with important thing such as:
- time
- current show being recorded OR the time and name of the next show to be recorded
- cpu & hd-temperature (I use mbmon on my Asus A7N8X-VM 400 :))
- space free on hd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Can you please post your script. I have been working on something similar, but I havent quite got it working yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 20
Greg Frost wrote:
Can you please post your script. I have been working on something similar, but I havent quite got it working yet.


It's an ugly hack! Don't expect it to work for you unmodified :wink: It can take a second or two to appear due to wget and mbmon being slow (maybe the excellent yacpi-trick above is quicker?).
Todo:s would be to interface the sql-database directly (=faster) and make it support more than one tuner (and ditch sh for perl).
Hopefully it will get you on the right track.

The result it produces onscreen looks like this:
Code:
13:54          16:00>>Brainiac          40/37°C 18G
-------------------------------------------|-------

I use a fixed width font and do some padding to make the showname appear centered between time and info. The code to pad it depends on what font size and resolution you are using. Change PAD and FONT in the script to adjust. I also use a slidebar of osd_cat to visualize % used of the harddrive.


The script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

PAD=16
FONT=27

# get html status screen from mythbackend, this operation take some time
# and is backgrounded to do the slow temperature readings in parallel.
wget -O /tmp/index.html 127.0.0.1:6544 2> /dev/null&
HDTEMP=`sudo hddtemp /dev/hda | cut -d " " -f 3`
CPUTEMP=`sudo mbmon -c 1 | grep Temp | cut -d " " -f 4 | cut -d "." -f 1`

# get disk space and time
DF=`df -h | grep myth`
GIGSFREE=`echo $DF | cut -d " " -f 4`
PERCENTUSED=`echo $DF | cut -d " " -f 5`
TIME=`date +%R`

# parse current recording, possible values:
# * Encoder 1 is local on myth and is not recording.
# * Encoder 1 is local on myth and is recording: 'MTV Popular Music' on mtv. This recording will end at 01:30.
# * Encoder 1 is local on myth and is watching Live TV: 'This Is The New cabbage' on mtv.
NOWREC=`grep "Encoder 1 is local on myth and is recording" /tmp/index.html | cut -s -d "'" -f 2`

# not recording OR watching live, parse coming recording
if [ "$NOWREC" = "" ]; then
    NEXTREC=`grep "\- Encoder 1 \-" /tmp/index.html | head -1`
    NEXTTIME=`expr match "$NEXTREC" '.*strong...\(..:..\)\-.*'`
    NEXTREC=`expr match "$NEXTREC" '.*strong.\(.*\)..strong.*'`

    # osd_cat can't handle exotic ascii, remove them
    NEXTREC=`echo $NEXTREC | tr -d '\200-\377'`
    REC="$NEXTTIME>>$NEXTREC"
else
    REC=$NOWREC
fi

# limit length of string, if shorter: pad it
REC=`echo $REC | head -c $PAD`
while [ ${#REC} -lt $PAD ]; do
             REC=" $REC "
         done

#echo "$TIME $REC $CPUTEMP/$HDTEMP?°C $GIGSFREE free, $PERCENTUSED used"

osd_cat -f "-b&h-lucidatypewriter-*-*-*-*-$FONT-*-*-*-*-*-*-*" -c white -s 3 -S black -O 3 -u black -p top -o 70 -A center -d 9 -b slider -P $PERCENTUSED -T "$TIME  $REC  $CPUTEMP/$HDTEMP'C $GIGSFREE"


To connect it to my remote control I added the following to ~mythtv/.fluxbox/keys:
none XF86PowerOff :ExecCommand /home/mythtv/src/osdinfo.sh

...and since I use an ATI-remote I have this in my .xmodmaprc:
! Power
keycode 222 = XF86PowerOff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 3:05 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 464
Location: UK
This is what I use in my .lircrc file (think I found this on the forums somewhere)

Code:
# Temp
begin
prog = irexec
button = Red
repeat = 3
config = /usr/bin/mythtvosd --bcastaddr=127.0.0.1 --template=alert alert_text="`
/usr/bin/mbmon -c 1 -t -u | sed -e 1d -e 3d`"
end


Change button to be whatever you want. Requires irexec to be running aswell.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:11 am 
How about a little tweak to the script file to use

#cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature

instead of mbmon output? Only some people are able to get mbmon to work since only some motherboards support it. I think most do not.

Thanks!

Andrew Lynch

PS, this is untested script for as a suggestion. Would someone please try this and post results? Thank you.

Quote:

# Temp
begin
prog = irexec
button = Red
repeat = 3
config = /usr/bin/mythtvosd --bcastaddr=127.0.0.1 --template=alert alert_text="` cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature `"
end



Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:46 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 464
Location: UK
Code:
root@mythtvbox:~# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature
cat: /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature: No such file or directory


I'm guessing this doesnt work with sempron processors :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 6:42 am 
I think this is an interface to the ACPI functions in the BIOS itself. I'd take a look at you /proc/acpi directory and search around in there to see if the information is present but under a different name.

I'd also check to see if yacpi is working. It should display whatever bits of info the ACPI BIOS is providing, hopefully something useful like CPU temp and/or fan speeds.

Best of luck.

Andrew Lynch


Top
  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu