LinHES Forums
http://forum.linhes.org/

Knoppmyth Install fails to boot
http://forum.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3238
Page 1 of 1

Author:  macman [ Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Knoppmyth Install fails to boot

G'day,

I am a bit of a newbie with this stuff, but thought I would report problems as I went and the solutions.

I downloaded Knoppmyth and made a CD. Did an AUTO install to disk. On reboot I had no luck at all. Just a blank screen.

After rebooting with the CD I found that the /etc/lilo.conf had some bogus entries in it. I am pretty sure that this was related to QNX partitions that were on the disk that I was using. Also the linux root partition wasn't marked as bootable.

The easy fix for this was to boot with the CD, fdisk the /dev/hda1 and blow away ALL of the partitions then re-installed and everything installed properly.

Sorry if this is'nt the correct place for this but I figure someone will probably tell me if it isn't. :)

My current task is getting MythTV working with the VisionPlus card. Wish me luck.

Matt

Author:  cecil [ Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Knoppmyth Install fails to boot

macman wrote:
Sorry if this is'nt the correct place for this but I figure someone will probably tell me if it isn't. :)
I've stopped telling and am simply delete. Fortunately this maybe of help to someone so I've moved it to hints and tips(imagine that... :) ).

Author:  macman [ Sun Jan 16, 2005 5:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

Sorry mate, I really was trying to do the right thing. :)

Matt

Author:  skamp [ Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:42 am ]
Post subject: 

another way to fix it:

boot from the knoppmyth cd
exit to shell

mount your knoppmyth partition
Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1


chroot to your knoppmyth installation
Code:
chroot /mnt/hda1 /bin/bash


then edit your lilo.conf
Code:
vi /etc/lilo.conf


i had a line that didnt make any sense
it was something like part 7: bla bla bla

put a # in front of that..

save and exit vi

run lilo
Code:
lilo


then ctrl-d or exit to exit the chroot
then unmount hda1
Code:
umount /mnt/hda1


then reboot

and your done

Author:  kverde [ Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:02 am ]
Post subject: 

Thanks! I had the same issue and this solved it. Isn't forum search a wonderful thing!

Author:  tjc [ Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:41 am ]
Post subject: 

We certainly think so. Congratulations on a virtuoso demonstartion of cluefulness! 8-)

Author:  ChristianS [ Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:06 am ]
Post subject: 

kverde wrote:
Thanks! I had the same issue and this solved it. Isn't forum search a wonderful thing!


Hi,
THX and an addendum from me as a helpless newbie ;-)

Don't forget *umount* before reboot, otherwise it will not work.
I spent hours trying all variants of lilo.conf before i found this thread :-/

regards
Christian

Author:  technobritt [ Fri Oct 14, 2005 9:55 am ]
Post subject: 

skamp wrote:
another way to fix it:

boot from the knoppmyth cd
exit to shell

mount your knoppmyth partition
Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1


chroot to your knoppmyth installation
Code:
chroot /mnt/hda1 /bin/bash


then edit your lilo.conf
Code:
vi /etc/lilo.conf


i had a line that didnt make any sense
it was something like part 7: bla bla bla

put a # in front of that..

save and exit vi

run lilo
Code:
lilo


then ctrl-d or exit to exit the chroot
then unmount hda1
Code:
umount /mnt/hda1


then reboot

and your done


This fixed it for me too. The part7 was at the beginning of the file.

I am SO glad I found this fourm...Now, if I could only get my 150 to actually show TV.

Author:  sandstone [ Sat Dec 30, 2006 3:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

thanks !! this was a lifesaver tip !! (i was about to throw away the harddisk in frustration ) :x

Author:  gushy [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:08 pm ]
Post subject: 

excellent, I was wondering why my new install wouldn't boot. Thanks. :)

Author:  terryplynch [ Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Yahooooo!

Thank You Very Much!!! :D This worked for me too. :lol:

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/