View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
Here's what I did.

edit /etc/apt/sources.list

changed unstable to stable in the debian lines.

ran apt-get update

note: at this point it wouldn't resolve experimental or nerim, so I went back in and commented them out.

I then ran apt-get update again. this time it ran clean.
then I ran apt-get install mozilla-firefox

it installed no problems with no dependencies

this should work for most programs, but I would stay away from kde unless someone wants to do it and report back knowing that it could well require a reinstall.

also I would stay away from apt-get dist-upgrade at this point.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:25 pm 
Do you think an "apt-get upgrade" would work following the same procedure of changing /etc/apt/sources.list from unstable to stable?

Thanks!

Andrew Lynch


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 12:35 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
I wouldn't try it unless you want to reinstall. It would be an interesting experiment, however when I installed firefox it said three hundred and some odd not upgraded, the likelyhood that one of those will break something has to be fairly high.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:42 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
What if someone had installed Firefox (or some other apt-get item) before editing sources.list? Is there any way to undo the damage (the whole "wallpaper" thing and other conflicts) and start over?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:07 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
best way is an autoupgrade. unfortunately no there is not an apt-get undo.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 29
ceenvee703 wrote:
Is there any way to undo the damage (the whole "wallpaper" thing and other conflicts) and start over?
What is the "damage" to look for? I just installed R5A16 yesterday and then used synaptic to install Firefox (default repositories that came preinstalled) ... prior to seeing this thread. It appeared to install perfectly fine. I believe it wanted to uninstall one thing and then install about a dozen others. I let it do whatever it wanted. The only problem I've noted so far is a wallpaper error popup after rebooting. Running the "display" command indicated turned up some glibc error message, the exact text of which I don't remember right now. After closing that initial popup box things all seem to work fine. But I'm brand new with this and haven't tested everything yet. Is there some remedial step I should take NOW to prevent head scratching on problems that will come up in the future? Is the autoupdate suggestion a highly recommended thing, or just if you're experiencing problems? Would a total reinstall be better ... I don't mind doing that at this point in the game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
well I think the problem is that popup happens every reboot from what other people have said. unstable is begining to settle back down, so this might not be quite as important, other than the popup, but someone found a quick fix for that in the other thread about it.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 392
Location: Beaumont, CA
I haven't tried this myself because I dont need firefox, but what about just downloading the install file from the firefox website and installing via an xterm from fluxbox to /home/mythtv/firefox? It won't overwrite anything and I wouldn't think it would affect anything either. It writes everything to that same directory.

_________________
ASUS A7N266 Micro-ATX Motherboard
Athlon 2200 processor
512K Kingston PC2100 Memory
MicroAtx Case
2 PVR250's w/remote
eVGA e-GeForce mx4000 (64 Ram with Tv/Out (Svideo))
Lite-on DVD cd-rw combo
120 GB Western Digital


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 2:25 pm
Posts: 39
Apologies if this is not relevant, but with R5A30.2, a simple apt-get install mozilla-firefox was enough to get FF working. It didn't try an upgrade ofa million packages. I'm using the stable branch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:22 am
Posts: 777
Location: spencerport, ny (USA)
lordsnooty wrote:
Apologies if this is not relevant, but with R5A30.2, a simple apt-get install mozilla-firefox was enough to get FF working. It didn't try an upgrade ofa million packages. I'm using the stable branch.


Same here, with R5A26
Favorite bookmark: IMDB.COM
I added this to /etc/X11/fluxbox/keys

Mod1 w :ExecCommand firefox

So now Alt+W brings up FireFox from within MythTv. Very cool.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 5:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 3:41 pm
Posts: 62
I thought I'd add a data point

R5B7 here
apt-get install mozilla-firefox worked
apt-get install firefox did not (and seemed to anger the system)

_________________
Skill level: 10^-3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 1:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 392
Location: Beaumont, CA
http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=Firefox

_________________
ASUS A7N266 Micro-ATX Motherboard
Athlon 2200 processor
512K Kingston PC2100 Memory
MicroAtx Case
2 PVR250's w/remote
eVGA e-GeForce mx4000 (64 Ram with Tv/Out (Svideo))
Lite-on DVD cd-rw combo
120 GB Western Digital


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 8:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 3:41 pm
Posts: 62
elgordo123 wrote:
http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=Firefox


Thanks for the tip. This might be the only way to get firefox into R5C7

I got this:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# apt-get update
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org stable/main Packages
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org stable/main Release
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org stable/contrib Packages
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org stable/contrib Release
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org stable/non-free Packages
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org stable/non-free Release
Reading Package Lists... Done
root@mythtv:~# apt-get install mozilla-firefox
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
E: Couldn't find package mozilla-firefox

_________________
Skill level: 10^-3


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu