View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 8:59 am 
I set up a dual boot with xp and knoppmyth on hda and just extra space for both (fat32) on hdb. What I did is put

37gigs hda1 Windows XP Pro
150gigs hda4 /myth (fat32)
10 gigs hda3 /swap (linux 82)
25 gigs hda2 /

I think I figured it out I didn't make / ext3 (maybe) is there a way that I can check my partition to see what kind of fs I have on it?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:44 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Ask "mount":
Code:
root@black2:~# mount
/dev/hda1 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
/dev/mapper/vg-myth on /myth type ext3 (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0666)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
/dev/sda1 on /backup type ext3 (rw)
rpc_pipefs on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
nfsd on /proc/fs/nfsd type nfsd (rw)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Posts: 561
Location: UK
If you boot up off of the KM CD, go into the command line and run
Code:
cfdisk /dev/hda
where /dev/hda is whatever disk you are using, it should be able to show what fs you are using.
BTW I think you may run into problems with files in FAT32, firstly because it's a crap FS, secondly, I don't think FAT32 allows files greater than 2 GB.

Bruce S.

_________________
Updated 2019/10/26: AthlonII X2 265 Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
16Gb PC 1866 DDR3, 500GB+2TB+4TB SATA HDD,
SATA DVD-RW Asus DRW-24D5MT , NVIDIA GeForce GT1080
Hauppauage Nova-T 500, Nova-T LinHes R8.6.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Ooo... Didn't even catch that. What bruce_s01 said. It's an especially bad choice for /myth with it's huge file and low latency requirements.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 10:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,

Quote:
37gigs hda1 Windows XP Pro
150gigs hda4 /myth (fat32)
10 gigs hda3 /swap (linux 82)
25 gigs hda2 /


Waste of good storage space....
37gigs hda1 Windows XP Pro
(your choice for needed space)

150gigs hda4 /myth (fat32)
(use at least ext3, follow the Pamphlet for how to format)

10 gigs hda3 /swap (linux 82)
(512 ~1 gig max)

25 gigs hda2 /
(6 ~ 8 gig max - system only uses about 3 gig)

Assuming you have no recordings so /myth is basically empty:
Do a backup.
What I would do then is edit /etc/fstab and change /myth to be /mnt/hda4 and adding the word "no" to auto so it reads noauto.

/dev/hda4 /myth ext3 defaults,auto 0 2
dev/hda4 /mnt/hda4 ext3 defaults,noauto 0 2

then
mkdir /mnt/hda4
reboot.
You may or not have a complete /myth folder on hda2 with all the sub folders when it comes back up so your screen will be different. Thats ok.

open an xterm,
switch to root,
mount /mnt/hda4
cp -a /mnt/hda4/* /myth/ (you are making a copy of your files onto hda2)

mkdir /mnt/hda5
mkdir /mnt/hda6

When finished, boot up a live gparted cd

use gparted, delete hda 3 & 4, then resize hda2 (you should not loose your KM install either)

setup hda3 as swap for 512meg
add an extended partition for remainder of space ~180 gig
make two logical partitions,, one (hda5) for ~170 gig and
lastly hda6 for ~8 to 10 gig

Have gparted format your newly created partitions, 3, 5, & 6

Reboot into KM and follow the Pamphlet reformating hda5 for the larger files.

mount /mnt/hda5
cp -a /myth/* /mnt/hda5/
umount /mnt/hda5

edit /etc/fstab and change a couple of things to be normal:
/dev/hda5 /myth ext3 defaults,,auto,

At this point you should be able to reboot and come back up normal.

Why the extra partition? figured if you dual boot with M$ you might want to add Ubunto also. There are a couple of special things to tweak to make all happy if you do add Ubuntu.

Also note, because KM is on partition 2, you must do manual install to upgrade, Use boot to partition so you don't hose your boot loader!
R5F1 does not manual install properly, at least not for me.

No warranties.
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:07 am 
Wow thats what I call service I really appreciate all the top dogs are tying to help me out here I will post my results later today. I know that xp is a waiste of space and I pretty much hate it but, I think I might need it for a couple of programs that I use a couple of homemade hardware devices but, I am going to try to use wine then it will be strictly KM. As for now I am going to get this setup to work first since I have some really smart people here giving me some advice I'm going to take it. So I will post back as soon as I get somewhere.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 2:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,

I did not say the sapce for xp was wasted.. personal choice and only you know what you need. The wasted space I was referring to was 10 gig of swap & your root size. Shuffling those around you can gain extra record space plus can leave room for another system if desired.

I rarely use anything other than KM so I don't need to go the extended partition except my work laptop which runs win2k once or twice a year :)

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu