View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: PCI SATA card
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 7:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:09 pm
Posts: 107
Has anyone installed one of these on their system? I am thinking about buying one of these to expand storage since SATA drives seem to have a lower price/GB.

_________________
P4 1.6 GHz
1.2 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce4 MX 4000
Hauppage PVR 500 MCE
Soundblaster Live
ATI Remote Wonder II


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 8:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:02 am
Posts: 22
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I have one of these in my BE machine. I resurrected an old Duron mb/processor combination and separated the FE and BE functions and had to buy a pci SATA card due to the age of the motherboard, i.e. no sata connections.

The only issue I had was that I couldn't boot from the sata drives so I installed a pata drive I had lying around. This works for me with the main os on the pata drive and /myth/tv and /myth/video each on their own sata drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 10:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 10:49 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Another point to consider is that the price of the Sata adaptor card will probably be much more than the price savings on an IDE disk drive. Of course that depends on your supplier, cost of shipping, quality of card etc.

Make sure the Sata controller card you are looking at is Sata II not I. I've seen several less expensive ones that were the lower standard.

Certainly Sata cards are becoming commoditized. There will be a point where the IDE costs rise high enough, or availability of the desired size is scare enough that this option will make sense. It wasn't there when I looked at it a couple of months ago.


Last edited by ChapmanI on Fri May 30, 2008 12:09 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 11:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Northern Kentucky
mythingpersons wrote:

The only issue I had was that I couldn't boot from the sata drives so I installed a pata drive I had lying around. This works for me with the main os on the pata drive and /myth/tv and /myth/video each on their own sata drive


Some of these cards have their own bios which should let you boot to the card. I believe your motherboard must also support booting from other sources.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 8:18 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Posts: 292
jorin wrote:
I believe your motherboard must also support booting from other sources.


Especially try SCSI boot for the new SATA device.

Cliff


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:26 pm
Posts: 22
I have a SATA I card in my machine that a friend gave me. It's just a temporary solution until I transition to a mobo w/ SATA II, but it works. I think I choose SCSI in my bios to get it to boot from the SATA drive.

_________________
R5.5 Dragon 2.0 - like
BE:
Case: GD01-MX
MB: Intel DG965WH
CPU: Intel Q6700
Mem: 4GB
HDD: Hitachi 1TB
Tuner: none/PVR-350
GFx: Nvidia XFX 7600 GS
Audio: on board
FE:
Evo 510 SFF w/ Nvida 6200
Remote: ATI Remote Wonder w/ kernel mod fix.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:07 am
Posts: 132
Location: White City OR
I recently got this 8 port sata card. It worked out of the box with KnoppMyth. No raid support just sata ports.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6815121009


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 1:03 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Also see, this thread for another suggestion.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: SIIG 4 port card SIL3114
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 4:58 pm
Posts: 58
I've got this (SC-SA4R12-S2) PCI card in an old MB for my backend and it works great so far. No configuration at all in 5.5. I'm not booting from it. Most SATA PCI cards are going to be SATA1. There are a few out there that are SATA2 but they are usually 66MHz or 64bit since regular pci won't handle the 3Gb/sec of SATA2. Get a cheapo pci Silicon Image based card and it will work fine.
Don't buy a Rosewill PCI express 4 port card. I bought three of them. The first one was mis-boxed and neither of the next two worked. One DOA and the other worked for about 30mins then died.
Don't forget the SATA1 jumper on the drive if you are using a SATA1 card with SATA2 drives.

_________________
R7.4 Master Backend/Frontend 1 Ceton InfiniTV 4 AMD x4 9850/4GB/nVidia210 60GB SSD 5x2TB RAID5
Slave Backend/Frontend 1 Ceton InfiniTV 4 AMD 1050x6/4GB/NVidia 9500 40GB SSD 2x500GB SATA Maxtor
(Can't get 2nd Ceton tuner to work)


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu