View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: Newbie Wants Ideas
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:05 pm 
Basically im new to this who thing and i really want to do this and i have a few questions. I want to build 1 of these things for under $500, i want it to have 5.1 surround and want it to record HD and standard def. Ive built comps before so i know what im doing i just dont know what parts to buy.
i also have a few questions.

1. the Happuage PVR 350 and 250 both say they support 125 channels out of the box.. i have digital cable (obviously) will i get all of my channels or only the first 125.

2. for 5.1 do i need a sound card that supports it or is that all inside the tuner.

3. Finally can i burn a dvd to my hard drive with this software and play it back??

I would like a good easy set of hardware and would like to c what u guys have

Thanks i hope this is possible for under 500

Post subject: Re: Newbie Wants Ideas
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:09 pm 
binacaboy wrote:
I want to build 1 of these things for under $500, i want it to have 5.1 surround and want it to record HD and standard def.

That's a pretty tall order for under $500. For starters both of the available HDTV cards run around $170. This instantly brings the budget for the rest of the box down around $330. To playback HDTV reliably you need something in the neighborhood of a 3Ghz CPU or equivalent, so figure roughtly $170-$180 for that and we're down to ~$160, Now you'll want an optical drive (somewhere in the $15 to $50 range) and a HD. I'd recommend a 250Gb HD for roughly $120 (HDTV takes up lots of space, you can half that cost but the value proposition gets worse and the box is far less useful). We haven't even figured in a motherboard or a case yet, let alone a SDTV tuner...
binacaboy wrote: