View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:41 am 
The Story

My office widow is about to become a bookshelf, and my radio reception is about to disappear. My company is adding on and my exterior office is now becoming an interior office :( I have been listening to a talk radio show for about ten years now and the am reception is about to disappear when they put the roof on the addition (any day now).

The show is streamed at http://stream.theedge1550.net:8500/wurp32 . Port 8500 is closed on our office network. The show is also streamed via some windows only applet. I tried grabbing the stream location and feed it to mplayer, but it just plays a little intro commercial then dies. My workstation is a Sun Blade 2500.

I know what you're thinking. The firewall is there for a reason, maybe you shouldn't be streaming audio, etc. I am not the system admin here, but I do have root privledges on most of the boxs here. The sys admin has no problem with me streaming audio as I listen to another show that is no longer broadcast in our area via mplayer (on an open port). Port 8500 will not be opened for only my listening pleasure, understandably.

The Solution?

I'm trying to figure out how to use -- if it's possible -- ssh to tunnel port 8500 from my Mythbox at home to my workstation at work and then use mplayer to listen to the stream via mplayer using the url avove. I did a bit of searching and found this page http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/wireles ... 3/wep.html which gave this example:

Code:
ssh -L 110:mailhost:110 -l user -N mailhost

I tried modifying this to read:
Code:
ssh -L 8500:mymytboxaddress.com:8500 -l mythtv -N mymytboxaddress.com