View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: A few general questions
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:32 am 
I've been reading a lot about KnoppMyth (and Myth TV) over the past few days, as I've been trying to understand if this is an option for me. I'm a total newbie to Linux, so I'm pretty lost at this point.

Before I dive into this and purchase some additional hardware, I wanted to ask a few questions....
1). Will KnoppMyth work, and recognize, a dual processor configuration (I have an old HP Kayak w/Dual 550's)? If it won't automatically, is there a way to manually set that up? (Remember I'm a newbie, so please provide a lot of detail....)
2). If you want to pause live TV, I believe you need both the capture card and some sort of TV output (either on the capture card or on a separate video card). Is this correct?
3). If #2 is correct, and you already have a TV out video card, which is better, the Hauppagge 250 or 350? I've seen a lot of problems getting the TV out to work on the 350, so I'm assuming that the TV out on a video card might be easier to get working.
4). If a separate video card w/TV out is the easiest route, does it matter which video card you have? I have an older 16M Diamond (I believe) card, so I was wondering how that might compare to one of the newer, high-end cards...
5). How easy or difficult is it to get a wireless network connection working w/KnoppMyth? I've seen a number of posts stating that they couldn't get the SSID stuff or WEP keys working properly, which my current wireless network setup would require. I have a Compaq USB wireless card, so if anyone has any specific experience on that, I'd appreciate some feedback.

I'll probably think of a few more questions, as I go along, but these are all I can think of right now.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Phil

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:00 am