View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: Can't Watch Videos
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 1:26 pm 
ok first off i'm kind of new to linux so i'm not exactly sure what i'm doing.

Ok so i did a fresh install. Everything seemed way easier than when I tried compiling mythtv a year ago. I first had a problem with the dvd player and ripper, but that was fixed after i installed libdvdcss. I set up webmin,a samba share, and mounted a network share on a windows machine with no problems. So I copied over all my videos from my windows machine after that.

My Problem is that I can't watch any of my videos that I copied over from my windows machine. Which mostly consist of xvid, divx and some mpeg's. When i try watching a video the "loading..." screen comes up for half a second then goes away and nothing happens. However I can still watch the xvid videos that were created with the mythtv dvd ripper.

Does anyone know whats wrong here?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 4:35 pm 
This used to happen to me although I dont know what caused it, when i updated to R4V3 it started to work, although I renamed my files to shorter lengths. for example:

The.Cooler.2003.LIMITED.DVDRip.xvid-ALLiANCE.avi --> I would change
simply to just:

The Cooler.avi
and that seemed to help.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 5:00 pm 
ok so after messing with it for a while i finally figured out whats wrong. In xterm the files i copied from windows were in green, while the ones myth made were black. I'm a bit rusty on my linux but i'm guessing it had something to do with permissions. since i can't remember all the chmod numbers and all that stuff i just did a

chmod --reference=MythCreated.avi "older file.avi"

and it all worked out fine.