View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: R6: VNC remote Acess
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:28 am
Posts: 82
Location: Beverly Hills, Michigan
Hi People,

I almost have VNC (x11vnc) working with a password in R6. But I can not figure out how to make it run on startup. Here is what I did.

R6: VNC remote Access

Please note the defaut is with NO password.
WARNING: This will set up VNC with NO PASSWORD. This means that ANYBODY who has access to the network the computer is on CAN SEE YOUR XSERVER.

To install x11vnc

pacman -Sy x11vnc


To configure it for no password use
x11vnc -display :0 -auth ~/.Xauthority

Tto configure it with a password use the line below, you will be prompted for a password and then to save it.
x11vnc -storepasswd

To run it use the line below
x11vnc -usepw -display :0


Here is my sticking point, making it start by default. I have tried the line below. But my brain is a pile of mush from work this week (and my kids have not been sleeping). So any pointers in the right direction would be great.
sudo sv start x11vnc -usepw -display :0

Thanks,

Paul

_________________
Backend/Frontend
ASUS M4A78-EM w/8400GS 4G RAM pcHDTV 3000 + PVR500 (1045), 1TB, 250 & 320. Iguana IR USB (running R6)
Frontend_1
Asus M2NPV-VM - 1GB RAM - 40 GB Hard Disk - StreamZap
Frontend_2
Dragon 1.0 w/ 2G RAM - 40 GB Hard Disk StreamZap


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:18 pm
Posts: 47
Same config as 5.5 add the following line to /home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps. Its all on one line and this is for an NVIDIA card.

[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -noxdamage -passwd XXXXX -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}

_________________
--
2.4 GHz P4 - 1GB Ram - 200 GB HardDisk
2 x DVICO DVB-T Lite
nVidia 7300GT - DVICO PCI Remote - R6
Wifey loves it more than me.
--


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:02 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:19 am
Posts: 67
Location: Torino, ITALY
Cool.

Thanks for posting it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:43 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:54 am
Posts: 88
This did not work for me on my R6.

I can run the command from the command line and VNC works so I know VNC is installed and working correctly.

I doesn't survive a reboot with the line added as described.

I'm not sure what I am doing wrong?

Thanks for the help.

weblst wrote:
Same config as 5.5 add the following line to /home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps. Its all on one line and this is for an NVIDIA card.

[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -noxdamage -passwd XXXXX -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:32 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
From a non-public area of the forum:

graysky wrote:
II figured it out. Permission problems:

Code:
$ x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg
error opening logfile: /var/log/x11vnc.log
open: Permission denied


If I make a .vnc in ~ and point it there, all is well:

Code:
$ x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o ~/.vnc/x11vnc.log -bg
PORT=5900

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Looks familiar :)

graysky wrote:
I just installed it from CD on my spare Athlon X3200+ system. Initial impression is OMG. You guys did a a TERRIFIC job with the installer. I was blown away. R6 is very slick.

Entire install and reboot in under 10 min. First thing I noticed is that x11vnc isn't included. First thing I did was added the official Arch repos to /etc/pacman.conf (core, extra, community) and updated pacman via # pacman -Sy. I went on to install x11vnc and added the following to mythtv's .fluxbox/apps

Code:
[startup] {/usr/bin/x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg}


When I did the usual $ pkill xinit, x11vnc didn't startup at all. I checked and indeed no /var/log/x11vnc.log

What am I missing?

EDIT: I figured it out. Permission problems:

Code:
$ x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -bg
error opening logfile: /var/log/x11vnc.log
open: Permission denied


If I make a .vnc in ~ and point it there, all is well:

Code:
$ x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o ~/.vnc/x11vnc.log -bg
PORT=5900


Is x11vnc something you're planning to have in place when R6 officially launches?


To anyone using X11vnc on R6, PLEASE beat up on it. I found that mine isn't very robust, freezes on the client end requiring a pkill xinit. I haven't been able to track it down, and was going to wait for cesman/others to 'officially' put X11vnc into the distro to repeat and then file a bug report if needed.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:18 pm
Posts: 47
It has to write to the log file as well. Should have mentioned this earlier sorry.

create the logfile:
Code:
touch /var/log/x11vnc.log


then make it writable for all:
Code:
chmod 766 /var/log/x11vnc.log

_________________
--
2.4 GHz P4 - 1GB Ram - 200 GB HardDisk
2 x DVICO DVB-T Lite
nVidia 7300GT - DVICO PCI Remote - R6
Wifey loves it more than me.
--


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
@weblst - I think as long as your specify a location on the file system owned by the user who started it (mythtv in this case), you shouldn't have to pre-make the file.

Code:
$ mkdir ~/.vnc


That should be sufficient. You don't have to make a hidden directory... it can even be your home directory. Anyway, test it like this:

Code:
$ $ x11vnc -nap -wait 50 -passwd mythtv -display :0 -forever -o ~/.vnc/x11vnc.log -bg


That should say something like "PORT=5900" or else it will give some errors relating to the log file.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu