View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: NFS problems with R6
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 77
I'm running recent clean install of R6.00.09 and have all of my DVD collection, pictures, and music on an nfs share on my fileserver.

At least once a day, I lose connection to the fileserver and I see this message in the messages.log:

Code:
Aug 27 15:58:44 mythtv nfs: server 192.168.1.200 not responding, still trying


The effect of this in mythtv is that it hangs in the menus when "watch videos" is selected.

If I ssh into the mythtv box and run df -h, the command hangs when it gets to the nfs drives.

Here's the section from my fstab for loading the shares:

Code:
192.168.1.200:/videos   /myth/video     nfs     rw,hard,intr,noatime,tcp,timeo=60,nfsvers=3     0       0
192.168.1.200:/music    /myth/music     nfs     rw,hard,intr,noatime,tcp,timeo=60,nfsvers=3     0       0
192.168.1.200:/pictures /myth/gallery   nfs     rw,hard,intr,noatime,tcp,timeo=60,nfsvers=3     0       0


I've been trying various combinations of parameters and what's there is simply the last thing that I have tried.

I never had this problem on the R5E50 system that I am replacing (same hardware except for hard drive which died). None of the other nfs clients on my network have this problem either, and the server has been running smoothly for years.

I'm running a Dragon v1.1 system. Can anyone offer any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
I was getting some of the symptoms you discribed, the hang at Video, etc. Haven't seen the problem since I changed my fstab NFS mounts to the below. YMMV

Code:
nfs rsize=8192,wsize=8192,soft,nfsvers=3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:01 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 77
I tried that setting and still had the same problem. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Any other ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
OK, I'm seeing this again. anyone come up with a fix?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:30 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Dunno about your problem. Here is my setup:

MBE: /etc/exports

Code:
/myth/video   192.168.1.5(rw) #exports to FE


FE: /etc/fstab

Code:
192.168.1.4:/myth /myth/exports nfs defaults,auto,noatime 0 0

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 109
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Do you have any switches between the client and NFS? I sometimes have this problem and it is always one of two things; either the cats got behind the FE and pulled the cat5 cable out from the box (it's a 12 inch length and the clip is busted, but I am too lazy to replace it), or one of the switches between things barfed and needs a reboot.

_________________
The Atomic Ant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 306
Location: CA,USA
I mount /myth from a central FS (OpenSuSE based named 'theworld'). Haven't had any problems since I started a few months ago. Here is my fstab excerpt, dunno if this is of help.

FE fstab:
Code:
theworld:/bigfiles/mythfiles /myth nfs defaults,nolock,auto,noatime 0 0

_________________
Paul O'Flynn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 77
The switch between my server and client is fine. Too many secrets, what version of NFS server are you using? Is it an older one?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
MrFahrenheit wrote:
The switch between my server and client is fine. Too many secrets, what version of NFS server are you using? Is it an older one?

idk, whatever comes with R6.
Code:
nfsstat
Server rpc stats:
calls      badcalls   badauth    badclnt    xdrcall
138479     0          0          0          0

Server nfs v3:
null         getattr      setattr      lookup       access       readlink
0         0% 2776      2% 7         0% 20829    15% 8944      6% 1991      1%
read         write        create       mkdir        symlink      mknod
2448      1% 83446    60% 16        0% 0         0% 5596      4% 0         0%
remove       rmdir        rename       link         readdir      readdirplus
2650      1% 0         0% 0         0% 0         0% 130       0% 428       0%
fsstat       fsinfo       pathconf     commit
645       0% 0         0% 0         0% 8565      6%

Client rpc stats:
calls      retrans    authrefrsh
291140     0          0

Client nfs v3:
null         getattr      setattr      lookup       access       readlink
0         0% 74769    25% 7         0% 5943      2% 4614      1% 378       0%
read         write        create       mkdir        symlink      mknod
118962   40% 72763    24% 9         0% 0         0% 0         0% 0         0%
remove       rmdir        rename       link         readdir      readdirplus
3         0% 0         0% 0         0% 0         0% 0         0% 5033      1%
fsstat       fsinfo       pathconf     commit
12        0% 6         0% 3         0% 8637      2%



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 77
I've found that using autofs to mount the NFS share seems to hide the problem somewhat. It still happens occasionally, but not nearly as often as before.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
MrFahrenheit wrote:
I've found that using autofs to mount the NFS share seems to hide the problem somewhat. It still happens occasionally, but not nearly as often as before.
Can you show me an example of usage?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Second that
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
Me too please? :D

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 77
Here's how I got autofs up:
First, install it from pacman
Code:
sudo pacman -S autofs

Add the module:
Code:
sudo modprobe autofs4

To get the service to start at boot you have to add autofs4 to the MODULES list in /etc/rc.conf. You also need to use add_service:
Code:
sudo add_service.sh autofs

Now autofs will start up when you boot the computer.

You need to edit the auto.master file to add a mountpoint. I use /- so that I can specify the exact path in the auto.myth file. So I have the following line in my /etc/autofs/auto.master file:
Code:
/- /etc/autofs/auto.myth

This tells autofs to use the auto.myth file for mounting
My /etc/autofs/auto.myth file looks like this, you'll have to substitute your own mount information.
Code:
/myth/gallery           -rw,hard,intr,noatime,async 192.168.1.200:/pictures
/myth/video             -rw,hard,intr,noatime,async 192.168.1.200:/videos
/myth/music             -rw,hard,intr,noatime,async 192.168.1.200:/music


after setting up the config files, restart autofs:
Code:
sudo sv restart autofs


Again, this only masks the bigger problem of the nfs clients hanging. The mounts will still hang occasionally, just not as often as before. I'm still looking for information on what is causing the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 77
From what I can gather reading bug reports and message board postings, it looks like the problem is in the kernel and might be fixed in 2.6.30 (linhes currently runs 2.6.28 )
Relevent posts are here: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11061
and here: http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.6/snapshots/patch-2.6.29-rc8-git1.log

I don't know how to update the kernel on my mythtv box to find out if this fixes the problem. Could someone explain to me how I can do that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 6:57 pm
Posts: 90
I am experiencing this problem also. I used to be able to setup nfs and forget it, but now I cannot rely on it to start and stay up.

I try to restart nfslock and netfs and sometimes that works and sometimes it doesn't.

Anyone have any ideas how to make this service more reliable?


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu