View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: Anyone using 0.22 yet?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:10 am 
I'm thinking of doing a pacman -Syu this weekend and one of the items listed in the packages is "mythtv-svn: Bumped to 0.22-fixes svn 22494"

I was curious if anyone is running mythtv 0.22 yet and what their experiences have been. Is it fairly stable? Since the upgrade to R6 we've had some issues with the mythfrontend locking up or hanging more often and I don't want to make it worse...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:54 am 
I've been running it for a few months. The reason was because I wanted to get some HD-PVR encoders so I could finally record HD from DirecTV. Before upgrading I could only record 480i. I had been running 20.1-fixes so I figured upgrading to 0.22 was better than upgrading to 0.21.

Things are running very well. I have run into 3 problems:

1) LiveTV is hit or miss with the HD-PVR. We don't do much LiveTV in our home so it hasn't been much of an issue. With Mr. Harris' last build of svn I did have some success with LiveTV but again it failed last Sunday. I'm almost certain LiveTV with other encoders is fine, or at least that is what I have read.

2) I tried using storage groups for MythVideo, a new feature.. But using storage groups for MythVideo REQUIRES the use of the Internal player. I had been using mplayer on 0.22 with great success. But liking the idea of storage groups I switched over. I found out the Internal player had issues with playing bluray rips with DTS audio encoding. The AC3 files played fine.

3) Sometimes playing a recording would result in no video, just audio. This problem has not occurred since the last update. One could "fix" it by hitting 'W', the key that cycles through the video display modes (stretch, full, etc).