View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 6:39 pm 
This is an old computer I had sitting around collecting dust. I didn't think I would ever have any use for it again but then I found Knoppmyth and my old puter found life again! Here are the specs:

PII-400Mhz
384 MB ram
BCM QS440BX motherboard
MSI Nvidia Geforce4 MX4000 video card
PVR-250 (a must for my system, not enough CPU power)
Netgear WG311T wireless nic
10GB + 32GB HD drives (used LVM to add secondary hd)

With a lot of help from the Knoppmyth forums, Wiki, and IRC chat I was able to get this system up an running. I am a linux newbie so it took a awhile for me to get it going.

I used Knoppmyth R4V5 and used autoinstall to get things installed. Everything went great and installed fine.

1. The first edit I made was to install the nvidia driver. This allowed me to Watch TV. Make sure you install XvMC too otherwise video will be choppy.
2. Then I installed the DCT2000 channel changing script so i can change channels on my cable set top box. I use a serial cable to do so.
3. I noticed that the system hung when I changed channels. This is due to the OSD. I had to edit osd.xml to make sure that fade was set to 0.
4. Then I had to update the IVTV driver since I could not hear any sound. I used the latest release at the time.
5. Getting the wireless nic card to work was the trickiest thing. I downloaded and used the madwifi driver. Then i had to untar the 2.4.25-chw source to compile the madwifi driver. There are various how-tos on how to do this. Then i configured the card based on the how-tos
6. The last edit was to setup XF86Config-4 to be tv out for my nvidia graphics card