View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Final explanation how the case was solved (checking the LNB type) reads at the end of the page.

Hello,

LinHES R6.01.00 does not recognise Satelco EasyWatch PCI DVB-S card (with CI connector). That PCI device has been supported by v4l-dvb since may 2007, and is not flagged as incompatible according to LinuxTV wiki. It has PCI ID 1131:7146:1894:001b.

'lspci -vnn' output:
Code:
00:0e.0 Multimedia controller [0480]: Philips Semiconductors SAA7146 [1131:7146] (rev 01)
   Subsystem: KNC One Device [1894:001b]
   Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 17
   Memory at e0800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512]
   Kernel driver in use: Emagic Audiowerk 2
   Kernel modules: budget-av, snd-aw2
I wonder what Emagic Audiowerk 2 sound card has to do with Satelco DVB-S budget card ?

As usual, symptoms are (dmesg output):
Code:
saa7146: register extension 'budget_av'.
cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared

    PCI bridge SAA7146 (Philips Semiconductors chipset) is registered at boot, demodulator is not ;
    no 'adapter0/frontend0' device created under '/dev/dvb/' ;
    cx2388x dvb driver is loading, even if there is no Conexant chipset in my system.
I tried to install fresh version of v4l-dvb modules, as a possible work around:
Code:
pacman -Si v4l-dvb

Wrong move, they were already installed:
Code:
Proceed with installation? [Y/n] Y
:: Retrieving packages from core...
 v4l-dvb-1-12-i686          2.4M   99.2K/s 00:00:25 [#####################] 100%
checking package integrity...
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                   [#####################] 100%
error: could not prepare transaction
error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
v4l-dvb: /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/common/ir-common.ko exists in filesystem
[SNIP]
v4l-dvb: /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/video/zr364xx.ko exists in filesystem
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

Thanks to this post, blacklisting snd-aw2 by adding the following line to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
Code:
blacklist snd-aw2
looks more efficient, as budget_av module gets into the place after a reboot.

'lspci -vnn' output:
Code:
00:0e.0 Multimedia controller [0480]: Philips Semiconductors SAA7146 [1131:7146] (rev 01)
   Subsystem: KNC One Device [1894:001b]
   Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 17
   Memory at e0800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512]
   Kernel driver in use: budget_av
   Kernel modules: budget-av, snd-aw2

dmesg output:
Code:
Linux video capture interface: v2.00
cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared
saa7146: register extension 'budget_av'.
budget_av 0000:00:0e.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
saa7146: found saa7146 @ mem dec06000 (revision 1, irq 17) (0x1894,0x001b).
saa7146 (0): dma buffer size 192512
DVB: registering new adapter (Satelco EasyWatch DVB-S)
adapter failed MAC signature check
encoded MAC from EEPROM was ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (ST STV0299 DVB-S)...
budget-av: ci interface initialised.

Nevertheless snd-aw2 is labelled as a possible driver for the card, and cx2388x dvb driver is still loading. Why ? What Conexant has to do with Philips Semiconductors ?

Thanks to people who could give further explanations.


Last edited by Golffies on Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Redmine ticket #697
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 2:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
That issue has been reported through Redmine, under ticket #697. Seems to be related to similar troubles with Technotrend Budget S-1500 DVB-S and Terratec Cynergy 1200C DVB-C PCI cards, reported in ticket #404.

All these DVB PCI cards have in common Philips SAA7146 chipset as PCI bridge.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: LinHES-system 1.0-74
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 4:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Hi,

Under LinHES-system 1.0-74 and LinHES-config 2.1-25 (R6.02.00 fresh install + last packages update), the DVB-S card is now detected out of the box. Sounds good, but does not mean it works actually.


'lspci -vnn' output:
Code:
00:0e.0 Multimedia controller [0480]: Philips Semiconductors SAA7146 [1131:7146] (rev 01)
   Subsystem: KNC One Device [1894:001b]
   Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 17
   Memory at e0800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512]
   Kernel driver in use: budget_av
   Kernel modules: snd-aw2, budget-av


'dmesg' output:
Code:
saa7146: register extension 'budget_av'.
budget_av 0000:00:0e.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
saa7146: found saa7146 @ mem deca8000 (revision 1, irq 17) (0x1894,0x001b).
saa7146 (0): dma buffer size 192512
DVB: registering new adapter (Satelco EasyWatch DVB-S)
adapter failed MAC signature check
encoded MAC from EEPROM was ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
KNC1-0: MAC addr = 00:09:d6:65:b5:20
DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (ST STV0299 DVB-S)...
budget-av: ci interface initialised.


But unfortunately, module for Conexant chipset is loading still, without known reason ('dmesg' output):
Code:
cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared


Further, scan of Hotbird 13E channels provides quite deceptive results (scan performed with linuxtv-dvb-apps) :
Code:
scan -f /dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0 /usr/share/dvb-utils/scan/dvb-s/Hotbird-13.0E


Actually, scan seems unable to jump to the next transponder, and cannot see more than the initial one, at 12.54 Ghz:
Code:
scanning /usr/share/dvb-utils/scan/dvb-s/Hotbird-13.0E
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
initial transponder 12539000 H 27500000 3
>>> tune to: 12539:h:0:27500
Network Name 'EUTELSAT 13EAST'
0x0000 0x22b0: pmt_pid 0x140c EUTELSAT  -- DIRECT 8 (running)
0x0000 0x22ad: pmt_pid 0x1403 EUTELSAT  -- DIRECT 8 (running)
0x0000 0x2261: pmt_pid 0x1000 EUTELSAT -- SKYPLEX TXP91 (running)
0x0000 0x227a: pmt_pid 0x1202 Skylogic -- SkygateTDA (???)
0x0000 0x2269: pmt_pid 0x1153 SkyMux -- skygateTDA (running)
0x0000 0x226a: pmt_pid 0x1154 TDA -- Canal Algerie (running)
0x0000 0x226b: pmt_pid 0x1157 TDA -- A3 (running)
0x0000 0x226c: pmt_pid 0x115a TDA -- Chaine 1 (running)
0x0000 0x226d: pmt_pid 0x115c TDA -- Chaine 2 (running)
0x0000 0x226e: pmt_pid 0x115e SkyGate -- Chaine 3 (running)
0x0000 0x2315: pmt_pid 0x049a SkyMux -- SKYGATE ERTU (running)
0x0000 0x2316: pmt_pid 0x049b ERTU -- Nile TV International (running)
0x0000 0x2317: pmt_pid 0x049f ERTU -- Nile News (running)
0x0000 0x2318: pmt_pid 0x04a3 ERTU -- El Shark El Awsat (running)
0x0000 0x2319: pmt_pid 0x04a5 ERTU -- Al moagehat (running)
0x0000 0x231f: pmt_pid 0x04a7 ERTU -- feed (running)
0x0000 0x22ac: pmt_pid 0x1402 Eutelsat -- Skyplex RMB (???)
0x0000 0x231a: pmt_pid 0x0468 SkyMux -- SKY MEDIO (running)
0x0000 0x231c: pmt_pid 0x046d OpenMux IP Gateway -- Network (running)
0x0000 0x231b: pmt_pid 0x046a Scopus -- MEDIOLANUM (running)
0x0000 0x22ae: pmt_pid 0x1404 EUTELSAT -- TV8 Mt Blanc (running)
0x0000 0x22c5: pmt_pid 0x1503 SkyMux -- Skyplex 10.1 (running)
0x0000 0x22c8: pmt_pid 0x1502 OpenMux IP Gateway -- HitCast Data 1 (running)
0x0000 0x22cb: pmt_pid 0x150c OpenMux IP Gateway -- Data_02 (running)
0x0000 0x22ca: pmt_pid 0x150a OpenMux IP Gateway -- Data_01 (running)
0x0000 0x2379: pmt_pid 0x1b02 SkyMux -- skygate24 (running)
0x0000 0x237a: pmt_pid 0x1b03 ADMINISTRA.IT -- ADMINISTRA.IT (running)
0x0000 0x227b: pmt_pid 0x1203 Scopus Network Technologies -- TVA Vicenza (running)
0x0000 0x227d: pmt_pid 0x1209 MultiProgram -- GENIUS TV (running)
0x0000 0x227e: pmt_pid 0x120c Scopus Network Technologies -- EOS NETWORK (running)
0x0000 0x227c: pmt_pid 0x1206 MultiProgram -- CARPE DIEM (running)
0x0000 0x2280: pmt_pid 0x1212 MULTIPROGRAM -- PEOPLE TV-RETE7 (running)
dumping lists (32 services)
SKYPLEX TXP91:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8801
SKY MEDIO:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8986
Network:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8988
MEDIOLANUM:12539:h:0:27500:1131:1132:8987
skygateTDA:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8809
Canal Algerie:12539:h:0:27500:4437:4438:8810
A3:12539:h:0:27500:4440:4441:8811
Chaine 1:12539:h:0:27500:0:4443:8812
Chaine 2:12539:h:0:27500:0:4445:8813
Chaine 3:12539:h:0:27500:0:4447:8814
SKYGATE ERTU:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8981
Nile TV International:12539:h:0:27500:1181:1182:8982
Nile News:12539:h:0:27500:1185:1186:8983
El Shark El Awsat:12539:h:0:27500:0:1188:8984
Al moagehat:12539:h:0:27500:0:1190:8985
feed:12539:h:0:27500:1192:1194:8991
skygate24:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:9081
ADMINISTRA.IT:12539:h:0:27500:6916:6917:9082
Skyplex 10.1:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8901
HitCast Data 1:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8904
Data_02:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8907
Data_01:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8906
DIRECT 8:12539:h:0:27500:5129:5130:8880
TV8 Mt Blanc:12539:h:0:27500:5126:5127:8878
DIRECT 8:12539:h:0:27500:5129:5130:8877
Skyplex RMB:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8876
PEOPLE TV-RETE7:12539:h:0:27500:4627:4628:8832
TVA Vicenza:12539:h:0:27500:4612:4613:8827
GENIUS TV:12539:h:0:27500:4618:4619:8829
EOS NETWORK:12539:h:0:27500:4621:4622:8830
CARPE DIEM:12539:h:0:27500:4615:4616:8828
SkygateTDA:12539:h:0:27500:0:0:8826
Done.


I got earlier a full scan through all Hotbird's transponders, using the same DVB-S card and dvb-apps under another Linux distro. I don't see what is wrong here ; I am going to check if there is no additional option with dvb-apps I forgot to use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LinHES-system 1.0-74
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 4:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
Golffies wrote:
But unfortunately, module for Conexant chipset is loading still, without known reason ('dmesg' output):
Code:
cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared


You can try to blacklist the module in /etc/rc.conf that you don't want loaded.

Code:
MODULES=(... !cx2388x !cx8802 ...)

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LinHES-system 1.0-74
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 2:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Hi mihanson, thank you for the answer.

mihanson wrote:
You can try to blacklist the module in /etc/rc.conf that you don't want loaded.

Code:
MODULES=(... !cx2388x !cx8802 ...)


Well, as I wrote in ticket #404, I tuned /etc/rc.conf as suggested, with no success. For instance, adding the line :
Code:
MODULES=($MOD_BLACKLIST_ !cx8802 !cx88-vp3054-i2c !tuner_xc2028 !s5h1409 !or51132 !cx24116 !nxt200x !stb6000 !tda9887 !tuner_simple !zl10353 !cx24123 !lgdt330x !cx22702 !mt352 !xc5000 !s5h1411 !isl6421 !stv0288 !tda10021 !tda10023)

...has just no effect. As Cecil wrote once that "R6 uses runit!", perhaps runit supersedes entirely /etc/rc.conf. I have no light there.

At the moment, I remove the whole bunch of useless modules (many frontends here) to get rid of them:
Code:
sudo modprobe -vr cx8802 cx88-vp3054-i2c tuner_xc2028 s5h1409 or51132 cx24116 nxt200x stb6000 tda9887 tuner_simple zl10353 cx24123 lgdt330x cx22702 mt352 xc5000 s5h1411 isl6421 stv0288


Well, you know what ? It does not help at all. :lol: I get the same kind of channels scan truncated result (first transponder and no more).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Zombie process
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 2:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
There is a trailing zombie process on my mythbox, even after rebooting.
    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    4408 root 20 0 0 0 0 Z 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 run <defunct>

I don't know if it has something to do with the present problem. Just in case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LinHES-system 1.0-74
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 1:42 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:28 am
Posts: 700
Location: Germany
Golffies wrote:
Well, as I wrote in ticket #404, I tuned /etc/rc.conf as suggested, with no success. For instance, adding the line :
Code:
MODULES=($MOD_BLACKLIST_ !cx8802 !cx88-vp3054-i2c !tuner_xc2028 !s5h1409 !or51132 !cx24116 !nxt200x !stb6000 !tda9887 !tuner_simple !zl10353 !cx24123 !lgdt330x !cx22702 !mt352 !xc5000 !s5h1411 !isl6421 !stv0288 !tda10021 !tda10023)

...has just no effect. As Cecil wrote once that "R6 uses runit!", perhaps runit supersedes entirely /etc/rc.conf. I have no light there.
I tried rc.conf, but could not get the $MOD_BLACKLIST to work. I eventually just put "blacklist snd_aw2" in /etc/modprobe.d.

_________________
ASUS AT3N7A-I (Atom 330)
TBS 8922 PCI (DVB-S2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: /etc/modprobe.d/
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Thank you, alien.

alien wrote:
I tried rc.conf, but could not get the $MOD_BLACKLIST to work. I eventually just put "blacklist snd_aw2" in /etc/modprobe.d.

Well, it was my very first move : I created a file in /etc/modprobe.d/ (btw, this is a directory under LinHES, not a single file anymore) which I populated with those modules I wanted to get rid of.

Code:
cat /etc/modprobe.d/SAA7146_blacklist
blacklist snd_aw2
blacklist cx8802
blacklist cx88xx
blacklist v4l2_common
blacklist ir_common
blacklist tveeprom
blacklist ir_core
blacklist btcx_risc

Does not help so much. Now, snd_aw2 does not load at boot (good), but all others blacklisted modules do load still (too bad). Actually, I should learn how init/runit processes work under LinHES; it diverges from ArchLinux. For the moment, I went through the roughest method to get rid of these unwanted modules:

Code:
sudo mv /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/video/cx88 /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/video/cx88_BLACKLISTED

sudo mv /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/video/btcx-risc.ko /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/video/btcx-risc_BLACKLISTED.ko

sudo mv /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/video/tveeprom.ko /lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/media/video/tveeprom_BLACKLISTED.ko

I guess such an ugly hack won't resist to the next LinHES upgrade. I would have preferred to go the regular way.

That being said, prevent cx8802 & Co from loading was only an intermediate goal. Beyond that, I am far more interested in getting a fully working scan of those Hotbird transponders with my DVB capture card. Actually, this is my concern. After unwanted modules got blacklisted, the capture card completed a scan of the second transponder as well (10,85Ghz), but nothing more. As a side note, I see no zombie process anymore (cf. previous post).

Even adding options to 'scan' does not help:
    -x 0: FTA only
    -t 1: TV only
    -l: LNB type
    -n: Activates reading Network Information Table while scanning
Code:
scan -n -x 0 -t 1 -l UNIVERSAL -a 0 -f 0 /usr/share/dvb-utils/scan/dvb-s/Hotbird-13.0E


A quite old message (2002) on linux-dvb mailing-list states that:
Code:
The NITs on hotbird are broken, they only transmit the NIT entry for the
current transponder. This does not makes much sense since you know these
parameters anyway.

But this is so old that it could be not relevant nowadays.

Perhaps there are some parameters to be passed to the DVB card at boot. :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Philips SAA7146 bugs
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:15 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Hi,
Additional explanations came from a parallel thread : Mystique DVB-C CabiX-2 HDTV Tuner Card not working in LinHes / Philips SAA7146 bugs

:arrow:
Golffies wrote:
Hello,
brfransen wrote:
Being a clone of the KNC1 TV-Station DVB-C it has the Philips SAA7146. There are 2 bugs currently on the bugtracker relating problems with the Philips SAA7146 in LinHES.
You are right.

That problem seems to be closely related to what I faced and described here: Satelco EasyWatch PCI DVB-S 1131:7146:1894:001b (SAA7146, snd_aw2, scan, and so on).

I wonder how you did later manage to import your channels.conf file with myth-setup ("input connections" menu). I cannot bypass the following error: "Failed to find any channels". Here is my channels.conf, for FTA channels on Hotbird-13.0E : http://mythtv.pastebin.com/raw.php?i=Pwumm5iJ . May you post yours ?


:arrow:
wulf wrote:
Golffies wrote:
I wonder how you did later manage to import your channels.conf file with myth-setup ("input connections" menu). I cannot bypass the following error: "Failed to find any channels". Here is my channels.conf, for FTA channels on Hotbird-13.0E : http://mythtv.pastebin.com/raw.php?i=Pwumm5iJ . May you post yours ?


Yes thats right. That wasnt possible.
But if you have the exact Transponder ID of one of your transponders, than you can make a tuned scan.

My channels.conf from the w_scan tool looks like this:

Code:
Das Erste;ARD:113000:M64:C:6900:101:102=deu,103=2ch;106:104:0:28106:1:1101:0
Bayerisches FS Süd;ARD:113000:M64:C:6900:201:202=deu,203=2ch;206:204:0:28107:1:1101:0
hr-fernsehen;ARD:113000:M64:C:6900:301:302=deu,303=2ch:304:0:28108:1:1101:0
Bayerisches FS Nord;ARD:113000:M64:C:6900:201:202=deu,203=2ch;206:204:0:28110:1:1101:0
WDR Köln;ARD:113000:M64:C:6900:601:602=deu,603=2ch:604:0:28111:1:1101:0
BR-alpha*;ARD:113000:M64:C:6900:701:702=deu:704:0:28112:1:1101:0
SWR Fernsehen BW;ARD:113000:M64:C:6900:801:802=deu,803=2ch:804:0:28113:1:1101:0


But more interesting is the File called
Quote:
initial-tuning-data.txt

This file looks like this:

Code:
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# file automatically generated by w_scan
# (http://wirbel.htpc-forum.de/w_scan/index2.html)
#! <w_scan> 20091230 1 0 QAM DE </w_scan>
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# location and provider: DE Hannover Kabel Deutschland
# date (yyyy-mm-dd)    : 2010-06-09
# provided by (opt)    : mr.gosh
#
# C[2] <freq> <sr> <fec> <mod> [# comment]
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C 113000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 426000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 410000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 346000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 330000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 498000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 530000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 538000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 434000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 402000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 450000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 121000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 458000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 466000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 338000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 370000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 362000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 378000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 386000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 354000000 6900000 NONE    QAM64
C 522000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 626000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 442000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 394000000 6900000 NONE   QAM256
C 610000000 6900000 AUTO    QAM64


And these Informations are needed for the tuned scan which will result in a lucky scan. :wink:


:arrow:
alien wrote:
Golffies wrote:
I wonder how you did later manage to import your channels.conf file with myth-setup ("input connections" menu). I cannot bypass the following error: "Failed to find any channels". Here is my channels.conf, for FTA channels on Hotbird-13.0E : http://mythtv.pastebin.com/raw.php?i=Pwumm5iJ . May you post yours ?
I had trouble importing a channels.conf too. I found the .conf file for my satellite (astra) in /usr/share/dvb/dvb-s. There is one for hotbird in there too. Then I did a tuned scan using one of the transponders in this file. It then found all the channels.

Oh yeah, don't forget to add an LNB to the capture card in the setup (under DiSEqC)


:!:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: channels.conf syntax
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Hi wulf, thanks for the answers.

wulf wrote:
My channels.conf from the w_scan tool looks like this:

I may be wrong, but such an output looks terribly like a VDR 1.3's channels.conf, not a MythTv's one. To make it confusing for the non-experts, developers from both platforms (VDR and MythTV) based their work on different and evolving specifications for channels files; nevertheless, they kept naming these files channels.conf, whatever would be inside.

I guess you could not import a channels.conf of such a syntax with myth-setup ("input connections" menu), could you ?


wulf wrote:
But more interesting is the File called initial-tuning-data.txt

Well, I understand from the headers of the file that it was automatically generated by w_scan, right ? So, its not a pre-existing file, listing all the transponders, and required for the scan to be effective, but rather an output produced from a successful scan, correct ?


alien wrote:
I had trouble importing a channels.conf too. I found the .conf file for my satellite (astra) in /usr/share/dvb/dvb-s. There is one for hotbird in there too. Then I did a tuned scan using one of the transponders in this file. It then found all the channels.

This is where you are lucky, and I am not. Similarly, I used /usr/share/dvb-utils/scan/dvb-s/Hotbird-13.0E as an initial scanning data file, but from that point, I have been unable to get a scan beyond the very first transponder, the one explicitly present in this file. Later, I tuned the dvb-s/Hotbird-13.0E file, padding it with other well known transponders. scan suddenly flooded me with hundreds of channels. Such a workaround does work, but gives not guaranty that it actually scanned all existing transponders and channels. Also, it demonstrates there is something broken with Hotbird channels scan (I don't know if the NIT on Hotbird should be incriminated, as they wrote so long ago on linux-dvb mailing-list, or this is resulting from flaw in the software we use).

After a lot of parsing through the raw channels scan output, I achieved to build my own channels.conf file with a few FTA channels for testing purposes (see http://mythtv.pastebin.com/raw.php?i=Pwumm5iJ). As I wrote in June, I cannot import that channels.conf with myth-setup ("input connections" menu). Just get back error message: "Failed to find any channels". Raging.


alien wrote:
Oh yeah, don't forget to add an LNB to the capture card in the setup (under DiSEqC)

I should investigate here, as I was denied possibility to create an LNB under DiSEqC setup screen. Perhaps this is the reason of the problems ? But my hardware is quite simple (one dish, one LNB), so as far as I understand, no DiSEqC should be involved, should be ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: channels.conf syntax
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 5:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:28 am
Posts: 700
Location: Germany
Golffies wrote:
alien wrote:
I had trouble importing a channels.conf too. I found the .conf file for my satellite (astra) in /usr/share/dvb/dvb-s. There is one for hotbird in there too. Then I did a tuned scan using one of the transponders in this file. It then found all the channels.

This is where you are lucky, and I am not. Similarly, I used /usr/share/dvb-utils/scan/dvb-s/Hotbird-13.0E as an initial scanning data file, but from that point, I have been unable to get a scan beyond the very first transponder, the one explicitly present in this file.
Just to clarify. I was never able to get mythtv to read a channels.conf file. I took the first transponder from the file and entered it manually into the scan window.
Golffies wrote:
alien wrote:
Oh yeah, don't forget to add an LNB to the capture card in the setup (under DiSEqC)

I should investigate here, as I was denied possibility to create an LNB under DiSEqC setup screen. Perhaps this is the reason of the problems ? But my hardware is quite simple (one dish, one LNB), so as far as I understand, no DiSEqC should be involved, should be ?
Mine didn't work without the LNB added in the setup and I don't have a switch. I think mythtv needs to know how to control H/V. I seem to remember when I first entered DISeqC, it was a blank window. I had to hit a key to add the LNB. I think it might have been M, but not sure. I then set it to universal (europe).

_________________
ASUS AT3N7A-I (Atom 330)
TBS 8922 PCI (DVB-S2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DISeqC
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Hello alien,

alien wrote:
Mine didn't work without the LNB added in the setup and I don't have a switch. I think mythtv needs to know how to control H/V. I seem to remember when I first entered DISeqC, it was a blank window. I had to hit a key to add the LNB. I think it might have been M, but not sure. I then set it to universal (europe).

You solved the case. :idea:

Thanks to your advice, I finally paid attention to the settings behind DISeqC screen (into Capture Card Setup), even if I do not use DISeqC at all (no switch, no rotor). After some rumbling bubbling, I got a 474 FTA channels long list ; full scan tuned remains broken, exactly as I described earlier, but help to find two transports (12.54 and 10,85Ghz) at least ; going through scan of all existing transports and checking option search new transports, I got the full 474 channels list.

So, you got it, alien. Of course, it does not solve all the issues disclosed above, especially regarding the cx8802 family modules, which load at boot whatever I do to discard them (renomming/deleting offending modules being the only effective workaround at that time, but does not persist after a LinHES rolling release). However, it makes my MythBox works the way it should : I get the channels I want to tune into.

I am frustrated that DISeqC settings appear only as something optional into mythtv-setup, although declaring there LNB type is compulsory for the DVB-S card to be effectively managed.

Thanks so much, alien !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:28 am
Posts: 700
Location: Germany
Congratulations!

Now you have the fun of deleting 400 useless channels. It's unbelievable what they waste bandwidth on.... Does anyone watch those 24h SMS Chat ad channels?

As for the tuned scan, you need to enter a valid channel to get it to start. That took me a long time to get right the first time. That said, I ended up finding more channels doing a scan of all transports afterwords.

As for the blacklist problem, I have no idea. However, you could try changing them to "install <modname> /bin/true". That should really kill them (it replaces them with /bin/true which does nothing)

Allen

_________________
ASUS AT3N7A-I (Atom 330)
TBS 8922 PCI (DVB-S2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Full scan (tuned)
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Hello,
alien wrote:
As for the tuned scan, you need to enter a valid channel to get it to start.

Once again you are right.

Browsing today through Mythtv official wiki, I discovered that the so called full scan (tuned) actually performs a partial scan limited to the very transponder whom frequency is known. This is not a bug, this is a feature. :roll:

Quote:
8. MythTV will default to the "Tuned Scan."

You will need the transponder frequencies, polarities, and symbol rates for each transponder you wish to scan. A good source is Lyngsat.

Note: Lyngsat transponders and symbol rates are in Megahertz, and Myth expects them to be in KiloHertz. Multiple each value by 1000. A Transponder on Lyngsat listed as "11715 R" and "SR 20000" would be a frequency of 11715000, Right Circular Polarity, and Symbol Rate of 20000000. Leave FEC and Inversion on auto and press next.

Myth will attempt to scan given the setup you have created. If the scan fails, check your dish pointing and/or settings and try again. When the transponder has finished scanning, you can press "Back," and attempt a "Full Scan of Existing Transports" scan type. With any luck, this full scan will pick up all the information for the other transponders on this satellite and you will end up with all available channels. Otherwise, you will have to manually input each transponder and scan it.

Source: http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/DVB-S

So, the behaviour, even if not user-friendly, has nothing to do with question marks regarding the v4l-dvb modules. Definitely, I should read more docs before turning to the wrong hypothesis.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu